GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomb Raider Definitive Edition

The cinematic action-adventure that forced Lara Croft to grow from an inexperienced young woman into a hardened survivor has been re-built for Xbox One and PS4, featuring an obsessively detailed Lara and a stunning lifelike world. To survive her first adventure and uncover the island's deadly secret, Lara must endure high-octane combat, customize her weapons and gear, and overcome grueling environments.
Average Customer Rating:
8.763
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
10
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 out of 3892%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Review 1 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Is it worth it? Yes and No
Posted on:1/18/14
Amaihana12
It's worth the 60 bucks if this is your first time getting this Tomb Raider reboot cause ya waited for next gen. Or ya kinda heard it from friends and wonder if its worth the hype. And if you love the game from current and want it next gen go for it, its your money no one is gonna shoot you down if ya do.
It's not worth it when ya say "60 bucks your crazy?! I played this on current gen. All its different that is prettier tho its the same gameplay? why 60 just why?!." Or ya don't wanna spend 60 bucks on a game that was IN current gen systems already and waiting for REAL next gen games like Infamous second son, Titanfall, and Destiny.
So in my opinion it can be awesome to some and a eyesore to others especially with the pre-order bonus tell me if I'm wrong but their soooo milking this game to get ppl who are under the not worth it to waste their cold hard 60 just for the art book. In all honestly I put down the reasons if you should or ya shouldn't but its all up to the consumer.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
One Of The Greatest adventures Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/14
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
This game is amazing One of the best games ever! I love the way they went with this making it rated M really bought out the dramatic side of this game, the graphics obviously look amazing it is actually better than KilllZone Shadow Fall which up until now was the best graphical game on a next gen system. You really can not go wrong with buying this game it is simply amazon, it can really compete with The Uncharted series, The only downfall of this game is the side characters are not interesting as well as the villains the story is great though and it is really worth it. Voice acting and character design is really great for Laura although the other characters not so much but that does not ruin anything. I had mixed feelings about this game because it is the same game that came out the year before on ps3/360 but on next gen it feels so much better like it was made for this system, truly amazing and the best game you can buy on your ps4 or xbox one it really is a master piece! It is truly 10 out of 10 EXCELLENT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Add this game to your new PS4 collection.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/14
Brovodo
Location: Phi, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game provides many possible hours of great gameplay, a decent story line, and amazing graphics. I would highly recommend purchasing this game and adding it to your PS4 collection. Cons for this game would include an okay storyline (due to minimal character development and a dissatisfying, prompt ending) and the nearly invulnerable super powers of Lara Croft. However, despite my opinionated problems with the story, the pros easily outweigh the cons, one of which includes the non-repetitive gameplay as the player is introduced to new weapons and abilities throughout the span of the game. I am excited for the next installment in this rebooted series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Re-mixed feelings
Posted on:12/12/13
ArickB77
Location: Pittsburg, KS.
Although I liked the original game and I have no qualms over playing the game again. But, that's just it, we are getting the same game, just re-skinned to look better... and paying premium price for it. I already paid top dollar, plus the original premium for the extra content the first time around for the lack luster multiplayer. Now if they were to announce that they did some work on fixing the multiplayer or something along those lines, or added a few more tombs to explore that doesn't really interrupt the story, but adds to the over all game, at least its something extra. But, $60 for the same game, I wouldn't pay $25,000 for the same car I just bought a year ago because it was re-painted. Now... here is where my trouble lies... I want to support this game, I want to see a sequel, so in the end I will probably pick it up, but it will only be because I have gift cards from Christmas, e-rewards, and some points from my PlayStation purchase on my PowerUp Rewards. Final verdict, if you haven't played the game, pick it up, its definitely worth the play though, and the multiplayer isn't terrible, especially if they did any additional work on it. If you've already bought the game last gen, and you want to spend your money... go ahead (I can't and wont tell you how to spend your money), but if I didn't have gift cards and didn't care about supporting this game, I'd of waited till a price drop to just go on this adventure again. Thanks for reading.
71 of 89 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
KenF
NJ
 
Please wait while more information about KenF is loaded.
Additional information about KenF could not be loaded.
Wrong metaphor
Posted 1/27/14
If you owned a 2003 Nissan Sentra (Sticking into that 25k price range), you wouldn't buy a 2013 Sentra? It's essentially the same car, it's only been retooled and reskinned. This is a fan service release for people who liked the 1996 original and have followed the series into its current form, for people who like the game but sold their stuff to upgrade to the PS4 platform, and for people (like myself) who haven't owned a system in a while and would like to play a fan and critic acclaimed take a game I grew up playing.
Customer Avatar
Amaihana12
 
Please wait while more information about Amaihana12 is loaded.
Additional information about Amaihana12 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/18/14
Agree 100% with what you said :)
Customer Avatar
Zerv
 
Please wait while more information about Zerv is loaded.
Additional information about Zerv could not be loaded.
Posted 1/17/14
That is exactly how I feel about it sir, brilliant game, but nothing new about it, other than it being prettier, and cleaner. I want the game, because it will be a great addition to my ps4, but i only just recently played it on my ps3.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 5 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Great game if..
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
Dagonicus
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me start this by saying that as a reboot of a classic series this game was fantastic. The soundtrack really added to the cinematic feel as well as all the explosions and camera angles. The game has some good twists and turns in plot, albeit pretty typical of Indiana Jones style games. If you haven't already played this and beaten it on a previous console or computer this game is fantastic and looks substantially better than before. But, if you have already beaten it, it adds nothing new. You won't be in for any surprises so don't expect any. This game is definitely worth buying if you have not previously beaten it. Loads of fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Same game slightly better visuals...another 60$?
Posted on:1/14/14
Psxsage1981
Location: MA
If you watch any of the 1080P comparisons to the PS3 version of this game versus the upcoming PS4 version...their is a definite visual difference...but 60$? Different? For the same gameplay? Not really. If you never played the first version alright sure...but if you have? Total waste of 60$. I didn't invest in a PS4 to play slightly improved visual versions of games...i want new actual Next gen games. This might have been a justifiable purchase at 29.99-39.99$ but 60$ for a Facelift? Heck no
18 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Truly Definitive
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/14
Casimir
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I will start by saying the price is controversial ONLY if you played and paid full price for the version on the previous consoles. Square / Crystal Dynamics should've allowed you to upgrade your previous version for $10.00 more. However, that being said, I paid full price (for both versions) & I feel it was justified. This is NOT just a face-lift. In addition to much more BEAUTIFUL graphics and improved gameplay, there are also additional tombs, collectibles, challenges, salvage, etc. You ALSO get ALL the DLC associated with the game - all of Lara's beautiful outfits, multiplayer characters / weapons, etc. The graphics are truly definitive, I compared and contrasted between the 360 and PS4 and I was truly amazed. My vision allowed me to see more detail is just about EVERYTHING. (Screenshots to prove, add me Lord_Casimir). I just beat the game again and not once did I feel tired of the game, I looked forward to getting on and playing after work / school. Do I recommend it to ALL gamers, including the ones who played on the previous console? Simply answer, YES. This is the one of the only 'TRUE' 9.0+ next-gen game I feel is worthy of playing in it's entirety with some replay value.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Can't wait!
Posted on:12/22/13
HopingAgainstHope
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
I am so excited to get this! Back when I first heard it was coming out on the PS3, Xbox 360, and PC I really wanted to get it but I didn't have a PS3 or Xbox 360 and my PC sucked so I couldn't get it on that either. I was going to buy a PS3 but then I heard they were coming out with the PS4 so I decided to wait and buy that instead (because I only had enough money to buy one) and hope that they would remaster it for the PS4... And they did! I really hope they keep remastering more PS3 games for the PS4 because for everyone who didn't have a PS3 and decided (like me) to wait and get a PS4, it's a great thing! I can't wait to own and play this game, it's going to be amazing!
12 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Why spend so much for the same game!?
Posted on:1/24/14
RKillcrazy
Location: PA
I loved this game on PS3; it was really, really well done. However, why are they charging full price for the same game with polished graphics? At the least, I feel they should give you a deeper discount if you trade in your PS3 version since you're clearly a loyal fan. Ideally, they'd charge $40 for it when it gets released. When they made the HD versions of the old Splinter Cell and the old Metal Gear Solid games, they didn't charge $60 at the time of their release; they charged $40! Furthermore, with those games, you got 3 games per disk! What makes this game so special that they can release an "HD-er" version of it and charge full price for a single game? Like several others, I'm reluctant to pay full price for this game. We all thought it looked stunning on PS3 and I'm sure we'll be wowed again on the PS4. However, no matter how stunning it may look on the PS4, I don't think it'll be $60-stunning!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sithlord65
rochester NY
 
Please wait while more information about sithlord65 is loaded.
Additional information about sithlord65 could not be loaded.
1080p
Posted 2/3/14
i want to know why, the ps4 version it say 1080p, but the Xbox one version don't say anything?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Great PS3 Game but PS4?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/14
Alexisloki
Location: Florida, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sure this port is great for those who didn't got to play it on the PS3. But this game didn't change that much, the only thing that changed is Lara. Everything else is the same, The Story is really good, and you get all of the maps for the multiplayer mode. Now, again, the graphics are not up to the power of the PlayStation 4, and there's some sound errors.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Lol
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/14
JonZ
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you're a big tomb raider fan then I get why you purchased this game. If you're not... Don't buy it... This game is just a worse and more basic type of game as Assassins Creed: Black Flag, Thief, and Infamous: Second Son. It's not all that fun, the graphics were nothing special, there's really nothing else other then the repetitive campaign.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Beautiful, just beautiful.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
ShiningSparrow
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game I was skeptical about at first and I found that it was one of the remarkable games I have played on my PS4 thus far. I only wish they would've made 'The Last Of Us' as well. Tomb Raider is the first shooter I have played all the way through and I can confidently say this game will always remain in my home. :) The graphic, story, and all are just to die for.Love it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Amazing but...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/14
Gamingraider
The next-gen version of Tomb Raider is great but the only thing I don't like is how they changed Lara's face. That was one big reason Camilla was working with Tomb Raider (rather than the voice) I liked Lara's face on Xbox 360 and PS3. Rather than that great game!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Not like the old days
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
PSok
Location: Jupiter, Fl
I just came back to Sony when I purchased my PS4. When I saw a new Tomb Raider I bought it ASAP. The game play changed. TR used to be much more puzzles and traps and WAY less fighting. This new game had me excited to find hidden tombs but exhausted each and every time i had to defend myself against hoards of oncoming goons. Don't get me started on how far and how accurate someone can throw a Molotov Cocktail.Great game but bring back the searching for treasures and less fighting. If I want to kill things I will play Ghost Recon
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 15 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
huh.....
Posted on:12/13/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
I really hope they don't keep on making old ps3 games remaster for ps4 there is only very few I'd like to see, I rather just have a backwards compatible update that disables online play but all other features work for your old ps3 disc. Lets see a new Tomb Raider!
11 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Ruined the franchise
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
mtnbiker1185
Location: Virignia Beach, VA
They have effectively ruined the franchise. The took the title of a good game and combined it with the play style of a good game (UnCharted) and make a bad game. The story line isn't even the same as the original Tomb Raider. If your going to sell a game as a remake of the original, at least keep the story line the same. Ideally it would have the same storyline and same levels with update graphics and controls....thats it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 17 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Sick game on ps3 cant wait for next gen
Posted on:12/10/13
TRUOG
Location: Katy, TX
One of my most beloved games on my playstation 3 is finally going to be coming out on the next generation. It is a must buy for me, i cant wait to see how gorgeous the environment and lara look on next gen.!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DAMOSUPREME123
PITTSBURGH
 
Please wait while more information about DAMOSUPREME123 is loaded.
Additional information about DAMOSUPREME123 could not be loaded.
Same old, same old
Posted 12/11/13
It's just a remake of the PS3 version. Not to intriguing. I'd pass on that.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Amazzzing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
ThePerfectPepper
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game had everything that I was looking for. Action, adventure, and a good plot. When I first started playing the game I was amazed by how well the graphics were. I strongly recommend this game to any one that wants a new game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Decent
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/14
Xanza89
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played through this game on PS3 when it first released and really loved it, as a long time Tomb Raider fan I thought they did a fantastic job for the most part. There are a few things I wish they would have done a little different or better but for the most part this is a very enjoyable game and the story line is pretty solid. As for the PS4 version, I just picked it up today. It's the same game, just better graphics and runs 1080p at 60 fps and it does look a lot better than when I played through on PS3. I almost didn't buy it because I have already beat it but I decided since there is not a whole lot of games out right now for the PS4 that I would pick it up and play through it again. First thing I noticed right off the bat is it seems like they changed the way Laras face looks, it's horrid compared to the original and I didn't care for it all. The voice controls on the PS4 are pretty cool though, I like being able to use voice commands to open up the map and other things, changes things up a bit. Bottom line is, if you haven't played this title before you should definitely pick it up. If you have played this title before and loved it on PS3 it might be worth it to pick it up for the PS4 and play through it again.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tomb Raider Definitive Edition
Good Game, But Short
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/14
TestsofGaia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great game, fun rpg aspects for a shooter. pretty short story line and not much to do after the main story line. but it had great graphics and was a good overall experience.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>