GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Murdered: Soul Suspect

Most people think that death is the end, but for Ronan O'Connor, a Salem police detective with a chequered past, it is just the beginning. When Ronan is caught in a violent burglary, his life is brought to an untimely and brutal end. Shocked to find himself in the afterlife, his only escape from the limbo world of Dusk' is to hunt down his killer using new-found supernatural abilities.
Average Customer Rating:
6
6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 850%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Review 1 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Incredibly Underrated!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/14
Jojo29755456
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The amount of negative reviews about this game is crazy to me. I loved this game due to the open-world roaming, the immense amount of clues and loot you're able to pick up, the historical context of being in Salem Massachusetts and the tying of the story line to the Salem Witch Trials, the likability of the main characters, and the twist at the end of the story. Disregard any negative reviews pertaining to this game -- it's GREAT!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Great game, to bad it was so short.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/14
warfarefan210
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Murdered Soul Suspect is a great game. Its a strategy and adventure game. You are Ronan, a cop with a dark background. After being murdered by the bell killer in Solem. The bell killer is a serial killer with un-human like strengeth. In order for Ronan to move onto heaven, he must solve his own murder with a medium girl named Joy. Throughout the story, you will have to hide from demons, solve some of the hardest questions about your murder by finding items, and watch as the story can change with one cutsceen. The entire game is great. The thought of demons for enemies is good, and possessing people to find out about your murder is really different. The only thing I don't like is that the game is short. I finished it in under 2 days, and there is not much to do after the story. Overall the story is good, and I would suggest you should buy it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Such an under-rated game!
Posted on:5/18/14
Skyrim11
Location: Michigan
From what I've read and watched about this game, it is going to be great! There haven't been many games that I've had my eye on for as long as I have, other then Watch_Dogs, and this! This will definitely be a one of a kind game! Truly, how many games do you have to discover YOUR murderer? I think once it comes out, it will expand into something a lot bigger then what it is now!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
An Awesome Crime Thriller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/14
GamerHusky
Location: New Castle,Pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played this game and I was amazed, this game is fun, and keeps the thrillers going, the story is the based written. I recommend this game to anyone who likes Crime thriller games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Good Idea but no replay value and unfinished
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/14
orgevikingthor
Location: Aurora CO
Game had a ton of potential, the clues are a unique and the story line has even more potential however, it seems half done and rushed. I also has no replay value with the last boss fight resulting in no ability to return to what little open world interaction was available.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
If you're a hardcore gamer, don't waste your money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/14
Cayley007
Location: Cali
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The gameplay for xbox 360 was a major issue. At first, it wasn't too bad. As the game goes on, it gets painfully worse. The game is glitchy and acts like it's going to freeze when you move through objects or go to different sections of the map. It got so bad that I was wondering if the xbox 360 version was even tested. The game was also really short. It took less than 6 hours to get through even with finding collectibles. The upside is you get an obscene amount of gamerpoints for such a short game. The story line was ok if you can get past the super glitchy movement. I definitely regret buying this new!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/14
ShihTzuMom3
Location: Green Cove Springs, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Don't listen to any of those negative game critics! You can absolutely roam the open world in this game, picking up sidequests and loot, aka clues along the way. The game comes with a great digital map on their website where you can tap off the clues you've picked up. Works great on your IPad! I thought I'd probably like this game but ended up loving it. I highly recommend it. Get it today! :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
not really a good game.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/14
Jokertitanprime
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
it a good game it had a lot of cons to me the graphic were not that great. the game play was glitch froze a lot. the detective stuff was way to easy i thought a chimp could do it. you figure out who killed you before the game tells you. to me they should held on to it for a year or more to make it a good game. don't get me wrong good idea but they just failed short.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Square Enix's "epic fail"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/14
DoctorGangreene
Location: My house, USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you're a hardcore mystery/paranormal fan then you might have a little fun with it... just make sure you can get it CHEAP!! The bottom line here is that this game is only fun for about an hour. After that I started asking myself why I was still wasting my time with it. It's a neat idea to have a dead protagonist try to solve his own murder by talking to ghosts, possessing people, and collecting clues... but it is poorly executed in this case. This game left me feeling rather disappointed. Especially since Square Enix usually does much better work than this. If you want a murder mystery game, either go get "L.A. Noir" or else find one of those mystery game packs for the PC that only costs five bucks and has three or four games in the box.
The graphics are not quite awful, but they are not good, either. Faces of NPC's are just plain UGLY. The background is totally static, with brick/wood walls defining the play area. They effectively trap you within a small neighborhood in Salem, MA and that's all you ever see: houses and fences, with the occasional gas station or cemetery to use as a landmark. And it is ALWAYS dark so most of the "clues" you have to collect are difficult to see because they are tiny and they blend in with the environment. Also, many of them are not completely visible at first so you have to use a special "reveal" ability or something similar to make the clue more visible.
The sound is ok but the music (when there is any) is not very appealing. Nor is it suspenseful or mysterious to fit the mood of the game. In a few instances, the game asks you to select the clue you need based on some sound you are supposed to hear (i.e. church bells mean you need to choose the picture that has the church in the background) but it is very difficult to tell what sound you are supposed to pay attention to, and the visual cue that is supposed to connect to the sound is far from obvious. Also, on the very rare occasion that you can listen to an NPC's conversation, you always have three or four of them all trying to talk over each other so you can hardly understand the dialogue. It is never anything that is important to the story, but I think if Square wanted to take the time to record the dialogue and program it into the game, then it would have been nice to set it up in a way that you can actually make out what the characters are trying to say.
The story is somewhat original and the plot wants to be interesting. But the gameplay is so slow and clunky that it ruins anything good this game might have had going for it. The game gets choppy whenever it tries to load a new area, which is every fifteen seconds or so. You need to have nearly perfect aim with the left and right thumb-sticks to be able to interact with clues and other objects, so it is very easy to THINK you looked at a suspicious thing and it turned out to be nothing when really it is supposed to be a clue that you can read or manipulate, and the game just didn't recognize that you were trying to aim at it. When it comes to actually solving cases, you are typically locked in a room and you just have to click on every tiny object and posses every person in the room to find all the clues. Then you are supposed to solve it by putting the right combination of clues into the proper order to answer some questions. The process is slow and monotonous, really.
There are some side-quests that have NOTHING to do with the main story, but they operate in the same way. You either have to find and click on a certain number of suspicious-looking objects (indicated with a tiny gold sparkle) or you have to help another ghost remember how they died so they can "move on." There are some collectible clues you can find that also have nothing to do with the story and are totally optional, but they provide some background info about your character or your killer. It gets a little boring trying to find these things (some of which are hidden with NO INDICATION that you can expose them until you are literally standing right on it) since there is no reward for doing so.
The game is very linear I think this is not a problem as long as you understand that it's a MURDER MYSTERY and all you are expected to do is follow the trail of clues. You will face some enemies, but they are few and far between. They are also incredibly easy to kill. The demons are supposed to be able to devour a ghost's soul, but then all you have to do is sneak up behind them and rip them to pieces. Kind of lame as enemies go. But then, you are supposed to be focusing on the story and the clues, not the combat. So this also is not necessarily a bad thing... just something you should be aware of before you buy the game.
My advice: only get this game if it's under $10, and even at that you can find better games on which to spend your hard-earned money. I hate to sound like a "negative nancy" because I usually appreciate even the less popular games, but this one really just isn't very well made. I think the Square Enix team probably wishes they could go back in time and stop this one from being released... maybe polish it up a little in terms of graphics, area-loading times, and music at least.
Hope that helps you make up your mind about this game. Happy gaming.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Looks good, not original
Posted on:3/6/14
thomato
Location: royal oak, MI
When I saw this game, the first thing that came to my head was: ghost trick. If anyone doesn't know what ghost trick is, it was a DS game, later ported to iOS (and android maybe?), in which you play as a spirit, working with other spirits, to uncover the mystery of your death. The plot was really good and well thought out; its probably my favorite game ever. Whoever is saying that this game's plot is original is wrong-- ghost trick did it first. This fact doesn't take away from the quality of this game, but I cannot see how any game can live up to ghost trick's awesomeness.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 6 found this review helpful.