GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Murdered: Soul Suspect

Most people think that death is the end, but for Ronan O'Connor, a Salem police detective with a chequered past, it is just the beginning. When Ronan is caught in a violent burglary, his life is brought to an untimely and brutal end. Shocked to find himself in the afterlife, his only escape from the limbo world of Dusk' is to hunt down his killer using new-found supernatural abilities.
Average Customer Rating:
6.143
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 out of 771%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Review 1 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Interesting Mix of the Supernatural and Mystery
Posted on:4/9/14
PS3game222
Location: St. John, IN
Murdered: Soul Suspect look like it will be a game worth buying on its June release date. You step into the shoes of an officer named Ronan trying to solve a case on a cold blooded killer. Unfortunately for him he crossed paths with this man and has a one-sided bout that ends with him being chucked out of a window and plunges to his death. But the real story for this detective occurs after his life has come to its end. Now as a ghost he can do things that he couldn't as a human. He can possess people to figure out more clues in this murder mystery, walk through walls and view past events pertaining to his investigation. Murdered: Soul Suspect looks like it'll be a a pretty good game once it hits the shelves. It has an interesting story that i hope will have me gripped the whole way through until the hooded figure is unmasked. The ideas brought forth also make this look like a game worth playing. I'm ready for Ronan's story to unfold how about you? if you agree with my review then hit that like button if not then there is always that thumbs down button. If you'd like give me some thoughts in the comments section about the game and add me on PSN (miguelyorkes222 or ZeGamerBoy). Thanks.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Dont Believe the 2
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/14
Bound0ne
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm only writing this review to correct the guy before me. Murdered: Soul Suspect is not an action game, if that's all you play this isn't for you. If you like crime solving games or even the thought of getting to play a ghost then I recommend giving this a try. I would also like to point out that this game is not as buggy as its being reviewed, the people walking through walls are ghost walls, remnant of the past and aren't there for the living which is pointed out in the game if you pay attention. All and all I found it a nice little game agreed not worth the price but kept my attention through the entire thing. Now for the bad. The very few action type sequences this game has are quite repetitive, I think its more a time filler because this is indeed a short game. Also there is really no replayablility you can go back and collect items to get ghost stories or help people solve their death but you can do that in your first run through (again time filler) All and all its a nice little game with a different type of concept compared to most games they throw out these days and I would recommend giving it a try but at the same time it feels more like a game you should rent, not buy.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
addicting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/14
christine
Location: las vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you blast thru games shooting you probably won't care for this but if you like great storyline and characters and really getting into the game this is fun and addicting.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Great game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/14
SideshowSin
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off, let me say its not for everyone. If you like mystery adventure games like Still Life, this game is perfect for you. There is not a lot of action, but this game isn't made to focus on it. Its about searching for clues and solving murders. There are plenty of twists and turns in the game. Its got some stealth elements in it, that are fairly easy. Plenty of collectibles that let you get to know the characters of the game. The sound is amazing. Extremely appropriate for the atmosphere that both the environment and game itself are trying to portray. If your looking for a game with a great story, chilling atmosphere, and an adventure without the hassle of a constant barrage of enemies, this is the game for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Dont waste your Time
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/14
iamhungrytoday
Location: new york, new york
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great concept TERRIBLE game.
The action, which is whenever the demons decide to show up (maybe about 5 times theyll appear throughout the game) and there is no real challenge in defeating them. If you can press two buttons at the same time you can defeat a demon.
The character
The main characters background story is underwhelming and is never explored properly.
You can help ghosts find peace by solving their murders or giving them information. This part of the game also wasnt utilized enough. Their were plenty of minor characters with interesting scenarios that you just brush off. The game gives you the option to help but.as you progress it suddenly isn't an option.
Side characters
Such as the teenage brat you help is the most annoying character ive
Ever had the displeasure of assisting. Her repetitive "I dont need your help" is almost as bad as collecting your dead girlfriends thoughts.
This character as about as much depth as a shallow grave of 2 inches deep.
The mystery
You can figure out yourself within an hour of gameplay.
The game had many holes.
Such as, how you were suddenly capable of exercising demons?
Why are some of the older ghosts not demons?
Why are there never enough obstacles?
How can you solve a legend by collecting the same shot gun or the same rock as evidence?
Powers
You never use your powers enough.
Walking through walls isnt all that impressive and is rarely used.
Exercising demons....
Revealing ghost structures a rare occurrence
Dissolving ghost structures pfft like maybe once did I have to
Possessing anyone is the same as talking to any non influential character in a game. Repetitive and unnecessary.
Dont waste your time on this game. I lost 10 hours of my life (thats with collecting every ghost story and julias ridiculous thoughts).
Square Enix how could you?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
not worth it
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/14
darkandsinful
Location: reno, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So i picked this game up today and honestly wish i hadn't. This game had great promise but failed miserably. it's basically a run around point and click game. collecting evidence so solve crimes. you don't even have to put any effort to figure out what's going on since you can keep clicking until you get the right answers. The game has quite a few bugs in it. humans walking through walls, evidence not showing up having to find awkward camera angles to get evidence to pop up. I really wanted to like this game but for 50 bucks it's not worth it at all. it's a 20 dollar game at best and i honestly can't see any replay value at all.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Good story but too short
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/14
kimberdoodle
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The overall story was interesting but the game is beatable in a few short hours. I played the game through over a couple days due to a busy schedule, but after I beat the game, I went back and did a second play-through to finish the collectibles and completed the game in 4 hours. There's no post-game play so if you finish the game but missed something you wanted to do you have to start all over again. The game itself wasn't very challenging. A little problem-solving skill will get you through in a breeze. It's definitely worth a red box rental to play but I wouldn't recommend purchasing the game. You won't get your money's worth.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 8 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Interesting Game
Posted on:3/8/14
GameSeeker14
Location: Requiem
So yeah, I just saw this game on Gamestop's homepage. The whole afterlife storyline seems to be original so I am expecting this game to be innovative and creative. Ronan's ghost/spirit is trying to find ut who killed him and why, that leaves room for many possible plot twists. Overall, the game looks interesting and I will definitely rent this game to test it out. If I like it, I will do a full review about it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Great Story, With A Great Twist
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/14
GaylordFarquaad
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Murdered : Soul Suspect is a great game, for a small audience. Murdered : Soul Suspect has no shooting, no driving and is not fast paced. So you GTA Call of Duty-ers may not get so much into this. I would consider this more of a adult game, not because of the subject matter, but because of the speed. Any age can pick up the controller, with it's easy to use visuals and commands.
The story is superb. I kept wanting to play the game not because of the graphics or the things I could do with my character, but because the storyline always has me in. I want to solve the mystery of who murdered me. I want to solve the mystery of the witness girl's mom. Or the drowned girl's death. As soon as you think the story slows down, it introduces something new for you to solve.
Now though, it is an easy game with a great story, but sometimes, a bit too easy. Evidence is easily found. Solving cases seems more like putting together a 24-piece puzzle than a 100 or more piece puzzle. The constant use of cut scenes make it seem more like a movie than a game, and if I wanted to watch a movie, I would have watched a movie.
And while other reviews I have found mention glitches like people walking through walls, it's okay. Like many games, they set up a set path for "Pedestrian A" to walk, but it does seem a bit lazy to just have them walk in a square, including walking through one wall on the south side of a building and reappear walking out of the east side of the same building. With that said, sometimes it does feel like the game was rushed. Some areas you want to know more about it's inhabitants and you're left with the one goal of getting Ronan from point A to point B. It does seem faulty sometimes.
And above all, the reason this game is getting some bad reviews is because of it's great, but short story. I was able to complete the game in less than 12 hours, while games similar to this like Telltale's The Walking Dead took me days to complete. And that 12 hours includes all the extra side cases of other ghosts lost on Earth and not on the other side.
Though I have spent most of this review taking apart the game, in all, I enjoyed it. The story is fantastic with some twists and turns. The demons give you the perfect adrenaline rush and puzzle solving. And you want to finish the game, not play it for sometime and then leave it because it's too long.
I give this game 8 stars, but something that would have helped it is premiere at a lower cost, or even be digital only like Telltale games, which this game SO wants to be. Thank you to Square Enix for another good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Murdered: Soul Suspect Thoughts
Posted on:1/24/14
GamerGirl1990
Location: Batavia, OH
I thought the preview for this game looked incredible! I'm super excited for its release and to be able to play this. Everything about it looks interesting and fun! I enjoy games that have puzzles and crimes to solve that makes you think that also involve a story line. Interactive, open world gameplay definitely appeals to me and I love the idea of solving the character's own murder. The supernatural also creeps me out which makes for better gameplay! Ready to take on Ronan's murder case and his freaky strong killer! Needs to release sooner than December!!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Murdered: Soul Suspect
Looks good, not original
Posted on:3/6/14
thomato
Location: royal oak, MI
When I saw this game, the first thing that came to my head was: ghost trick. If anyone doesn't know what ghost trick is, it was a DS game, later ported to iOS (and android maybe?), in which you play as a spirit, working with other spirits, to uncover the mystery of your death. The plot was really good and well thought out; its probably my favorite game ever. Whoever is saying that this game's plot is original is wrong-- ghost trick did it first. This fact doesn't take away from the quality of this game, but I cannot see how any game can live up to ghost trick's awesomeness.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 8 found this review helpful.