GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Kart 8

Feel the rush as your kart rockets across the ceiling! Race upside-down and along walls on anti-gravity tracks in the most action-fueled Mario Kart game yet! Take on racers across the globe and share videos of your greatest moments via Mario Kart TV.
Average Customer Rating:
9.2
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
10 stars
29
9 stars
11
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
43 out of 4596%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Kart 8
Review 1 for Mario Kart 8
Awesome and the best Mario kart game ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/14
LadyMarioBrosFan
Location: Rumford, ME
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The most Best Mario kart game ever!! beautiful Graphics, Awesome design on tracks, Hi-Def game play, customizing you're karts, new characters to play, the bring back with older Mario kart game courses that you enjoyed before on the older versions, new power up's, slow down replay so you can watch you're self beat up others or watch you're self pull off tricks to be in complete awe. The music is so pretty and memorable you just want to hear it again and again. I love this game and i am glad its out now. I was dying for this game to come out and now its out!! This is worth the money i am serious!! It is a MUST!!! BUY!! with the Wii U. You feel you have got you're money's worth. So i really do recommend this game for anyone Mario Bros fan and even Mario kart Fans. This is just my Opinion on this game i adore this game so much and the Luigi death stare is a new hit meme!! So get out there and start racing!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Mario Kart 8
The Best Mario Kart?
Posted on:1/27/14
Camx60
Location: Aurora IL
Yes this is Nintendo's 8th installment of Mario's go kart game If you are not counting the two arcade Mario Karts. Just like Mario Kart 7 Mario Kart 8 has hang gliding and under water parts of the track but now the game has anti-gravity parts that put you upside down or side ways. This is why I like to call the game Mario Kart Zero. As far as we know the game will consist with 4 cups with all new tracks and 4 cups with retro tracks just like priviest games. Mario Kart 8 will run at 60 frames per second even during 2 player mode and will support online play. It's unknown if you can customize your kart again but I think it will return. Is Mario Kart 8 the best Mario Kart well we will have to see this Spring. Enjoy Nintendo's latest video for Mario Kart 8.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AssassinsCreedFan132
 
Please wait while more information about AssassinsCreedFan132 is loaded.
Additional information about AssassinsCreedFan132 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/13/14
this needs a pre-order bonus
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mario Kart 8
Racing goes in air, underwater, and upside down!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/14
gallowayja
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Mario Kart 8 brings a wild, new racing adventure that defies the laws of physics. This game brings some big improvements to the Mario Kart series, but there are a few aspects in the game I felt like Nintendo could have done better with. Gameplay: The racing itself is almost perfected upon in Mario Kart 8. The new anti-gravity feature really ties in with and completes gliding in the air and the racing underwater features from Mario Kart 7. Another thing that the anti-gravity allows for is wild course design. Now courses can have you racing on walls and going upside down, so naturally this lets Nintendo be creative with course design. Speaking of courses, the retro courses are beautifully redone and feel brand new. For the first time, I don't mind racing a retro course rather than the new ones. Also the new items are really great and I think they add a really strategic game play. Other than just racing itself, battle mode is an important aspect I feel worth mentioning. This time there is only one type of battle mode: Balloon battle. And there are no battle mode courses this time. Nintendo just decided to use the courses you race on as battle mode courses. This is definitely a flaw that needs to be fixed in the nest game. Other than that I really wish Nintendo would go back to using the good old elimination style of balloon battle. This time its based on time and you try to get the most points, but its nice that elimination can still happen. Music: Music is absolutely gorgeous for this game. Nintendo decided to have the music orchestrated with a big band which sounds great for Mario Kart surprisingly. Graphics: The graphics are just as impressive as the music. Mario Kart 8 is the first Mario Kart to be in HD, and the graphics are smooth. Lasting Appeal: Mario Kart 8 is great because its one of those games you can always go back to and play with friends or play online. The online features are well done in this game and are, for the most part, smooth. Mario Kart 8 is truly one of the best games in the Mario Kart series that even defies gravity.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario Kart 8
Almost Perfect!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/14
TylerS175
Location: Richmond, VA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Finally get Mario Kart for Wii U and its awesome although has few downfalls, its still great game. I will start with the pros, the graphics and soundtrack is great, its looks wonderful in HD and the music is outstanding. The anti-gravity is fun and very easy to get ahold on if its your first time playing. New items work out just well. There is only few problems I have with the game, one main problem is character roster they could have done better and add characters like Birdo, King Boo, dry bones, and many more instead of replacing them with babies and metal characters, but rumors are going around saying DLC is coming soon so hopefully that will change it. They also took away wheelies and automatic drift from the Wii version. But other than the game is awesome and I would recommend getting for you, family and friends.
9.5/10
Pros:
+Great Graphics and Music
+Fun alone or with multi-players
+Great Tracks with or without anti-gravity
+Awesome Online Play
Cons:
-Character Roster
-No Wheelies or automatic drift
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Mario Kart 8
3....2....1.....PREVIEW!
Posted on:12/19/13
NintendoHistory
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
It's everyone's favorite karting game. It's what you grew up with. It's what might've got you into gaming in general. It's the almighty Mario Kart. After the last 3ds hit, Mario Kart 7, we haven't seen a new game in a couple of years. The all brand new Mario kart 8 is almost here in Spring 2014 and it's gonna be a blast. Exclusively on the Wii U, Mario Kart 8 will feature brand new tracks, that look very good, Returning racers, and never before seen so far in a Mario Kart, HD graphics! Also there is a new anti-gravity feature that will allow you to drive upside down, side ways, and inside out(okay maybe not inside out)! I can't even describe how excited I feel about this game, other than it looks absolutely incredibly fun! This game might just be the reason you should buy a Wii U. I'm sorry if this preview isn't as good as they usually are. It's just their not much that can be said about the game since it's going to follow the path that made all of the other games in the series so great. Well until the game comes out and my review is up, stay karting everyone!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
32 of 46 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamemasterproducts
 
Please wait while more information about gamemasterproducts is loaded.
Additional information about gamemasterproducts could not be loaded.
a game that can save the wii u
Posted 1/26/14
I have already had an amazing wii u experience but this just makes it even better if youre not going to buy a wii u for anything else get it for this game. oh and almost forgot get it for this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mario Kart 8
Another Reason to Buy a Wii U!
Posted on:3/15/14
Jellyfish99
Location: Pollock Pines, CA
I have always loved the Mario Kart games. They are extremely fun, and they make excellent multiplayer games. Many of Nintendo's games are great for local multiplayer. The Wii U has had some excellent games come out for it so far, but I haven't felt the need to buy one until now. Now that Mario Kart 8 is coming out for the Wii U, I will have to buy a Wii U. To me, Nintendo games like Mario Kart 8 are the best multiplayer and party games out there. I always enjoy playing Nintendo games like Mario Kart and Super Smash Bros with friends and family, because they are games that everyone can enjoy playing together. This is why I now feel the need to buy a Wii U. I have a PlayStation 4, but there has been a lack of great local multiplayer games for it. The Wii U, however, like many Nintendo consoles in the past, has many fun multiplayer games, such as Mario Kart 8. This is why more people need to give the Wii U a chance. I will be buying a Wii U soon, because I know that Nintendo's games provide some of the best multiplayer experiences available. Mario Kart 8 will be amazing, It will have incredibly fun single and multiplayer modes, like other Mario Karts before it. I am very much looking forward to this game as well as other games from Nintendo that will come out for the Wii U, such as Super Smash Bros. For these reasons, I will buy a Wii U. I also hope that more people decide to give the Wii U a chance because of the fun games it has.
51 of 62 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mario Kart 8
Console Savior
Posted on:3/11/14
blman
Mario Kart 8 and Super Smash Bros 4 will come along to save the Wii U. It's going to be the best Mario Kart to date.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
69 of 81 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NowhereMan37
 
Please wait while more information about NowhereMan37 is loaded.
Additional information about NowhereMan37 could not be loaded.
Other good games for Wii U
Posted 4/16/14
Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze is also pretty good. And the Wii U has the best version of Batman: Arkham Origins.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mario Kart 8
Mario Kart still remains a favorite.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/14
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I have always been a fan of Mario Kart since the original. This game, while some might not say is any different, has a lot to offer. Between the maps being beautiful, the kart customization and the amount of characters to choose from there is no lack of content. Like always this game is fun to play by yourself, but even more fun with a group of friends. Now the only complaint I have besides some of the maps truly requiring drifting, is that the item randomizer in this game is lacking. While it has great tools (except for the coins) it doesn't seem to randomize well. You can be in last place and still only get 3 mushrooms, which in all honestly don't help all that much unless your pacing someone, but you feel like you don't get what you need as often like red shells, stars, blue shell, green shells, bullet bill, or pretty much anything to help you advance up. If there is once thing I learned is that if you fall behind you usually stay behind until you either catch a break or something. Don't let that discourage you from playing, its nice that in Grand Prix when you play with friends all the other NPCs are there too unlike the N64 Version and such making you feel better because you're beating someone. So get your friends and enjoy a night of Mario Kart 8!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Mario Kart 8
Buy This Game NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/14
wolv3rine88
Location: Christiansburg, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a tremendous value as of the time of this review if you have a free nintendo club account and buy Mario Kart 8 and register the game on club nintendo(which you should be doing anyway to get cool freebies) you can get an additional free download game to your wii u. You can get either pikmin 3, or wii party u, or new super mario bros u, or the legend of zelda windwaker hd. I chose zelda as my free game also a stunning game so to kick off this review this is basically like getting 2 games for the price of one now as far as Mario Kart 8 goes it is worth every penny alone so even after the deadline to get the additional free game so after 7/31/14 this game alone is still worth the asking price it is a beautiful game graphics are stunning the gameplay mechanics are the same as mario kart wii there are plenty of classic and new tracks that the whole family will surely enjoy. I simply cannot say enough good about this game it is non stop fun period go out and buy this game you will not regret it if you have ever played any mario kart game you will love this one lets hope after this release the next mario title hopefully mario party(fingers crossed) will be every bit as good as this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Mario Kart 8
This Game Is Awesome! One of the Best Games Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/14
kinggamer41
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing, the graphics are insanely good and run at 60fps! When the slow motion in the instant replays takes effect, it still runs at 60fps. So the game must actually double that frame rate. It must be around 120fps. That's insane for a game of this graphical quality! The Gameplay is the best on the Wii U Gamepad, the gamepad makes it a whole lot easier to control the kart, bike or atv your driving. The choices of karts are awesome. There are three basic types of vehicle, standard karts, bikes and atvs. But you can unlock special ones the more coins you collect while racing. Every hundred coins or so you unlock another vehicle or upgrade. You can choose tires and sails as well (for flying!). The single player is epic with 32 different tracks to choose from! 16 classic and 16 new! The tracks are expertly designed and really make the game more fun. Also there are different modes like time attack and balloon battle. You can customize those even further as well. If you complete all of the grand prix modes than you unlock mirror mode, which I haven't tried out yet. It's a real challenge as the game gets harder the more you play! But it is still great for beginners because it's sectioned off into three main game modes. 50cc (the slowest). 100cc (medium), 150cc (the fastest). In every mode you start out with the regular characters that appeared in the previous Mario Kart games. You unlock more by doing well on each grand prix cup. The new koopalings are very fun to play as and I enjoy playing as Lemmy the most.
The Multiplayer is also epic. You get all the upgrades and characters you've unlocked in single player in Multiplayer as well. You can vote for the tracks you want in a lobby and then when the race track is chosen it begins. There is no lag at all when I was playing online, and I have my Wii U connected wirelessly through a router three rooms away with walls in the middle. You can play worldwide, regional, with friends or in a tournament. The tournaments are like a grand prix single player race but scored.
Mario Kart TV is a great feature that lets you share your videos of your races with the world. The game automatically captures highlight videos of your races while you race in single player. You can then edit your video the way you want it and post it to Youtube. It's really simple and viewing video is really easy as well.
The gameplay is great, there are many different items that you can collect to win the race. There are coins that you can collect to increase your speed, and there are powerups like the star that makes you invincible and when you bump into people they will crash while you just keep on going. These powerups can turn the tide in a race, which is why there is never any time where you are sure you are going to win or lose. Sometime when you think you're going to win, you are kicked back all the way to sixth place. But other times the opposite takes effect, I was in ninth place when all of a sudden I picked up a golden mushroom that let me burst into the lead and I took the win. It is these moments that you'll remember forever! Playing this game was rediscovering what it means to play Nintendo games.
The game is super fun and exciting and I've been playing it all week. It's one of the best games I have ever played.
Can't wait until Zelda and Smash Bros Wii U Come out they are going to be awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Kart 8
FINALLY!!
Posted on:2/22/14
Jakethehuman
Location: Murrieta, CA
This and Smash Bros were the main reasons I bought a wii u. Bringing in the best of the old and adding in the awesome new antigravity feature, Mario Kart 8 is definitely going to be a must have. Especially with all of the new Koopalings being added, not to mention the 100% HD graphics!! Now all they need to do is add in the double driver mechanic from Double Dash and I'll die a happy man. Already got this one preordered.
33 of 40 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Kart 8
It's a fun date with Mario Kart 8
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/14
RebelReviews
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Mario Kart 8 is the game the Wii U needs to branch out its sales and it couldn't have come out at a better time. Mario Kart 8 looks beautiful in HD. The new tracks look gorgeous and are fun as well as the re-mastered tracks. The character selection is pretty good with the addition of the Koopalings but characters like Pink Gold Peach feel unnecessary. It is also nice to have Baby Luigi as a starter character because he was a pain to unlock in Mario Kart Wii. The kart customization in Mario Kart 7 was a fresh new feature that felt uncompleted but Mario Kart 8 approves upon it. With the addition of ATVs and the return of bikes from Mario Kart Wii there is loads to customize. The only negative things about Mario Kart 8 are that battle mode is now on race tracks instead of battlefields which makes it not very fun and some characters didn't get the return they deserved like Dry Bones or Dry Bowser. With DLC rumored we may get some characters we want but that's a rumor. Overall Mario Kart 8 has never been so good or looked so good it may not be as big as a risk as Double Dash but it's the best in the series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Mario Kart 8
Console seller!
Posted on:5/2/14
NickMulder
Location: Oregon
This will be a must-buy for the Wii U! Games like Mario Kart are exactly why I bought a Wii U and it's almost out now! I'll be purchasing it on release day and I hope to see you all online!
14 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mario Kart 8
Racing at its Best
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/14
PlanetM
Location: Ludowici, Georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mario Kart. It's one of the most well known games of all times and for good reason. In this 8th lap of this series you get what you expect in this game and more. Cast of characters and customization, Check. Race tracks to be fun and also a pain in the stars, Check. And of course battle mode, Check..with an asterisk. With this game the battle mode is a bit...iffy. Otherwise it's not bad. The extras basket has online play (results may vary so check your internet connection) and being able to upload to youtube some of your wildest stuff (up to 60s) then you got quite a gain. If you want your races to be a party,, get your hands on this game. See you at the finish line!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Mario Kart 8
Finally!! Mario Kart in HD!!!
Posted on:4/9/14
GamerBoy80
Location: Livingston Manor, NY
Man, am I looking forward to this Game! It's the first high definition Mario Kart! I have been a huge fan of this series ever since I first played it on the SNES. I was never a big fan of racing games, but I absolutely love Mario Kart! Using items to take out your opponents makes for a fun experience and also levels the playing field for gamers of all skill levels. I have been playing Mario Kart Wii a lot lately in anticipation of this game. Love that Wii Wheel control scheme! I am so glad we will be able to use them with the new game! There will be little to no learning curve which is great. The new Wii Wheel they're making for 8 looks real cool! I'll definitely be buying one! I hope they make the limited edition Mario Kart 8 available here in the United States. I'd love to have that blue shell statue on my game shelf! May 30th is just around the corner. Hope to see you all racing online! I know that's where I'll be!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 16 for Mario Kart 8
Good part game !!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/14
TekJreview
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Fun game. Not quite as great as I was amazing from the reviews. But no regrets getting it. Still a most have for Wii U. I beat it in about 8 hours. Still some character & vehicle unlocks to do. But you can see the credits roll in about 8 to 10 hours. But you have multiplay online with your friends.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Mario Kart 8
Don't buy this trash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/14
MarioKartLover
Location: California
This game is a steaming pile of garbage. Don't waste even a penny on this horrible game. How could they ruin such a good series.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mario Kart 8
Good, not Great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/14
snafu999
Location: Coeur D' Alene, ID
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
While the racing is quite addicting at 50cc and 100cc class. Both the online racing and the 150cc in the campaign suffer from imbalance and the game becomes more about luck based progression than skill based. Still addicting nonetheless, but after so many years of Mario Kart, I'd hoped they'd polished it out.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Kart 8
Gr8test in the series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/14
Mariofan97
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played all but 2 Mario Kart games (Super Mario Kart for SNES and Super Circuit for GBA) and I love all of them. Double Dash has always been my favorite in the series, until now. Yes, Mario Kart 8 is my favorite in the series. Yeah, the battle mode sucks (Get to that later) and they could have a better character selection, and a few other complaints, but the race tracks and music are some of the best in the series. Most of the things in the game were in Mario Kart 7 (customizable karts, Coins on the track that boost your car slighty when collected, the ability to drive underwater, and glide in the air) with the addition of new items (The tonuki, or however you spell it tail from Mario Kart 7 did not make it in this one, but the fire flower did) and for the first time, gravity based racing. There's 3 new items, they include the boomerang, the Piranha Plant, and Super Horn. (the coin power up from Super Mario Kart makes an appearence again as well, and it's the most annoying power up to get cause it just gives you a single coin, and no defense, and you get it a LOT especially if your in first, making it harder to dodge the shells so it adds on to the frustration slightly) The Boomerang is hard to aim but you have 3 throws (2 throws come back to you, the third throw continues straight) and it spins out anyone it hits and if your skilled enough, you can combo one or more people) The Piranha Plant boosts you everytime you press the item button, but it also can eat racers, obstacles on the road, and coins as well and it'll also give you a speed boost. The Super Horn is your best friend when your in first. it shoots out a sound wave circle and anyone or anything in the circle is doomed. This can stop shells, destroy bananas, but best of all, it's the only item that can stop the dreaded blue shell from messing you up. (However, the blue shell doesn't appear as much as the others games, and you can go a whole grand Prix without seeing one sometimes) The new gravity feature allows you to race on walls and upside down and an added bonus is that when your in gravity mode, you can bump into players and bumpers to get a speed boost, but there's also strategy involved cause bumping into players gives them a speed boost as well. The tracks are amazing but I still think Mario Kart DS has the best tracks. This one has the second best. There's 16 new tracks and 16 retro tracks. The new tracks are great and the retro tracks look so much better and a lot of the old tracks have been tweeked to add gravity, flying, or even underwater sections so it feels like there new tracks. Modes are the exact same as Mario Kart Wii (grand prix, time trial, versus, battle, and online) with a new feature that replaces Mario Kart Wii's Mario Kart Channel with something new called Mario Kart TV. At the end of every race there's highlight reels. These show the best parts of the race, and you can edit them and if you have a Youtube account, you can share yours to Youtube and Miivers. You can watch your highlights reels on Mario Kart TV as well as othes from around the world. While watching, you can hold b for epic slow mo, and fast-foward/rewind. This is definitely a nice addition to the series. Online is where you can race with your friends, create tournaments with your own custom rules (Just like Versus mode in Single player and multiplayer) Online racing works slightly different from Mario Kart Wii and 7 cause now it'll give you only 3 tracks to choose from (or random) that way, you don't race on the same track over and over again in a row. Other than that, it's basically the same, and has the same point system. You can't voice chat online or while racing with friends, but there's pre set sayings you can select like "Good Luck" but that's about it. I do get disconnected during races like I do in Wii and 7 when racing online, but I always blame our internet for that cause ours isn't the best, especially now that we moved. It's terrible now, so you may not have the disconnection problem. Also, haven't noticed any hackers online, yet. Hackers appered often online in Mario Kart Wii, at least for me they did but none in this game, then again I've only played online once so far. Battle Mode is different this time around, and it's different in a bad way. There's only Balloon Battle and instead of separate battle arenas, you battle on the race tracks, making battling boring cause there big tracks so there isn't much chaos. I tried to like Battle Mode, but I understand why everyone hates it. Other complaints that I hope eventually Nintendo will fix in an update is lack of a map on the TV screen, instead you have to look on the gamepad, even in multiplayer mode everyone would have to look at the gamepad. Second complaint I hope there'll be an update for is in multiplayer mode, I wish the gamepad racer would use the gamepad screen to race. What I mean is if 2 people are racing, one player couldn't use the gamepad as a separate screen, and the second player uses the TV. Instead the TV is splitscreen, and the gamepad shows splitscreen as well, and I hope they fix that. If they did, 5 players could race at once. I thought of a third complaint but I lost it, so if I remember, I'll comment it. A couple notes, one, there's a Crazy 8 power up that has 8 different items spinning around you (All 7 items from the Lucky 7 item in MK7 but with the 8th item being a coin) and you can only have one item at a time, unlike others in the series where you can technically have 2, this one, only one. This doesn't really bother me much, but it may to some. Also, coins unlock car parts, and gold trophies in the Grand Prix unlocks characters. This is definitely one amazing Kart Game, that any and every Mario Kart fan will love. Best looking Wii U game in my opinion so far, and this game has my favorite Mario Kart soundtrack in the series as well. Get this game if you haven't yet already. Plus if you have Club Nintendo, you can get a free Wii U game, but offer ends soon so hurry up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Mario Kart 8
Nearly Perfect Game!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/14
ToadTown64
Location: Selden, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Mario Kart 8 is a fantastic game! The graphics are top-notch and really show off what the Wii U can do! The controls for the game pad are great and work just fine, the motion controls are just as good as the Wii version except that when gliding it can get a little weird. The character roster is okay. There is no variety in the characters. Also this game has better track design than Mario Kart 7, there is just more personality. I think this game is AMAZING! If you haven't got a Wii U yet, this is the reason to get one!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>