GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Toukiden: The Age of Demons

An expansive fantasy world influenced by historical and traditional Japanese elements. This new franchise casts players in the role of the demon-fighting warrior, known as a Slayer. Starting from the Utakata Village headquarters where they will accept quests, players will venture out to battle monstrous and deadly Oni (demons) before they destroy all of humanity. Players can select party members from a supporting cast of characters, or join together with up to three other players through ad-hoc mode.
Average Customer Rating:
9.25
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
Review 1 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
Great game for anyone who likes monster hunters
Posted on:2/8/14
Sorata
Location: sulphur springs,tx
The game its self can not be better, the customization options only make it better, than it already is, I imported the Japanese version of the game I loved it, I cannot wait to play it in English so I can immerse myself even more in the storyline, anyone who owns or will own a vita must get this game, it is definitely worth every penny.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
Blackmombagoku
Location: Ishpeming MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game yesterday and i just can't seem to put it down. This is good cause i am usually very picky about games. This game is like Monster Hunter+ Onimusha+Ninja Gaiden=AWESOME!!!!!! do not buy this unless you have hours to kill because you probably wont be puttung it down any time soon. It makes sitting for 4 hours seem like 5 minutes. This game is awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
Must Have Fighting Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
FutureHunter
Location: Henderson, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alright I have been playing this game since I got it yesterday and it is AWESOME! If you have every played Monster Hunters it has a very similar set up, but is not exactly the same.
Toukiden takes place in an alternate pass Japan where Oni/Demons are overrunning the place, unlike Monster Hunters there abundance anywhere is not normal. It is your job as a Slayer to fight them and defend the village and its allies. As seen in the description of the game you have a choice of weapons, but like Monster Hunters you are allowed to switch so feel free to explore them all and you can buy and create new weapons and armor as well as upgrade both.
The major differences for Monster Hunter fans is the Mitama/spirits of fallen Heroes for extra moves, including healing, instead of items. Different Spirits have different moves so customize your character to your hearts content. The other difference is that your are not always doing solo missions. The game includes a cast of characters with their own weapons and abilities that will be either assigned with you to a mission or whom you can choose to join you.
All in all the game is amazing with its customization options and set up. The graphics are awesome and smooth and the controls are easy to use. Their is plenty to do so lasting appeal is high and as for replay, well you can redo missions, and you should, and there are so many spirits and weapons to work with that it will be a very long game especially when you take in the online play into account as well.
In conclusion it is Sony's new Monster Hunter since they went Nintendo and it is a must have fighting game for the PS Vita.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Drithe
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about Drithe is loaded.
Additional information about Drithe could not be loaded.
I love this game.
Posted 4/14/14
Fantastic game. The action was way more intense than Dynasty Warriors. And that is only fighting a boss. lol. Game isn't perfect, but it rocks.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
The Successor
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/14
Durendal
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I like the Monster Hunter games but I always felt like it was lacking something. Whatever it was, Toukiden has. Whether it was the people actually speaking a language, a story, other characters beside the player doing something, or a sense of urgency. Toukiden is a great game for fans of the MH series who need something new in the formula. Some would recommend Soul Sacrifice but I can't recommend any game that ignores the actions of the player despite the box asking "what would you sacrifice for ultimate power?" Toukiden has a strong story, strong characters that actually try to stay alive on the field (compared to Soul Sacrifice where your allies just run into the charging monster repeatedly and being killed every time), fun weapons, and it's visually appealing. Also, there's a sense of urgency with this game that makes you feel like you need to succeed or everyone will be killed. If there is one flaw with this game it's that it's too Japanese. Hear me out, I have a hard time seeing a direct sequel to this game when the music, weapons, armor, monsters and practically everything else is very Japanese. It they create a sequel it would have to be a spiritual sequel taking place somewhere else due to how limiting Toukiden is by only including that one culture.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
Demons!
Posted on:1/3/14
FutureHunter
Location: Henderson, NV
There are key words that will cause me to check out a game and demon is one of them. I have pre-order this game for several reasons. The most easy to spot is that it does in fact have a pre-order bonus which means if it is a good game I want to get in on the bonus to add to the fun. The more important reason is the customization that is mentioned. I love the ability to customize my character and choose between weapons which is something quite a few games sadly lack. I am really looking forward to this game and will do a post play review for those who do not want to take the risk of pre-ordering.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alucardheany
 
Please wait while more information about Alucardheany is loaded.
Additional information about Alucardheany could not be loaded.
Posted 1/10/14
I will also state that I am kind of interested into this game. Customization really is a good selling point as well as the pre-order bonus that is mentioned. Reviewing some of the Screenshots and Vids the game does peek my interest even more.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
great demo
Posted on:1/22/14
leeprime
Location: Opelika Alabama
I just tried the demo and this game is now on my got to get list and I cant wait to get this game for my vita
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
I play Toukiden almost everyday.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/14
Watcher753
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved Monster Hunter, but Nintendo paid out to Capcom and the Vita probably will not get another Monster hunter for a long time. Toukiden is really addictive, and actually has a few mechanics that add on to that formula that gives the series a lot of potential. The Mitama-system gives boosts and special abilities during missions, there are six different weapon classes, there are multiple special moves for each of those weapons, and d@mn it is nice to have a second analog stick. No more claw hand. This game is great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
Just like monster hunter
Posted on:1/13/14
Wrathalos
Location: Odessa, Texas
from what i have seen of this game it is almost exactly like monster hunter. Due to the fact that monster hunter has gone over to nintendo and the version of monster hunter coming to the vita is the "sucky Version" i am greatly looking forward to this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Zenshun
 
Please wait while more information about Zenshun is loaded.
Additional information about Zenshun could not be loaded.
Your sorely mistaken
Posted 2/4/14
The is no MH coming to the vita(not including the MMO MHFG which will hit Japanese vitas but is unclear if it will come over here). This game is one of the few games that follow MH type of game play. It does well in stay close to MH while at the same time making it feel like its not another clone.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
This is an awesome game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
Drithe
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Think of Monster Hunter, then add the fighting style of Dynasty Warriors and a much faster game experience. Add to it a fantastic weapon and armors system and you get Toukiden. You get your items from killing and finding stuff. You don't have to carry pick axes and climb everywhere to find your items to make stuff.
This is a great game and should have been on the PS3 as well.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/14
Chaz6901
Location: Antioch, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved monster hunter for my psp. This game is by far in my opinion a lot better. A must have for any Vita owner.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
To easy
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/14
RaigneMaker
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
hate trigger happy games... (dynasty worriers) should had known thats all they know how to make. games dosnt even start till you beat it but by than the monsters are so repetitive that.... well just wish there was more skill and less repetitiveness
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
reminds me of MH
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
BudKleric
Location: Los Angeles
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
monster hunter was my favorite psp I've played 7 hours in and i love it just as fast paced definitely will be playing this for hours, it was hard to find a copy of the game the gamestop i went to get only got 5 in stock
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Toukiden: The Age of Demons
Exploding balls of excitement
Posted on:1/14/14
Akurei
Location: Reno, NV
I'm so excited for t his game I cannot even tell you!!!!!!!!!!!!! My PS Vita will be in full use when this comes out.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.