GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Strategy Guides or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dark Souls II Collector's Edition Guide

From the same team that created the critically acclaimed Dark Souls guide comes the most anticipated strategy guide for the most unforgiving game of the year.
Average Customer Rating:
8.667
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (5 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 367%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Souls II Collector's Edition Guide
Review 1 for Dark Souls II Collector's Edition Guide
Different
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/14
Hermanamer
Location: Illinois
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The game had many hard challenges, as to be expected of a Dark Souls game, but it seemed to be lacking in storyline. One of the great qualities of the first Dark Souls was that it had many unique characters with their own past. Dark Souls 2 seems to still carry unique characters, but doesn't delve as deep into their past with side quests and dialog. On the other hand, the second Dark Souls had more variation when it came to weapons, spells, and had more differences between human and hollowed form. The graphics were outstanding, and the bosses were very unique. They all varied in how to fight them. Almost all of them required the player to think about how to beat these bosses. Even the mobs had their variances. A major problem that was also present in the first Dark Souls is online gaming. There are too many times in which the fights become more about luck than skill; the connection is so bad that a lot of people resort to throwing everything everywhere.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dark Souls II Collector's Edition Guide
Deepening the Experience
Posted on:1/21/14
MAZE1
Location: San Francisco, Ca.
I am a veteran of Demon's Souls and Dark Souls and for me, both of the guides were an essential part of the experience. This is a series that relishes in breaking down your will to progress and having a guide is like having a rough map to peer at as you make your way through the fog. If you're opposed to having any help or are afraid that it will spoil surprises for you then only use it after you've beaten the game once. Lastly, the guides for this series become extremely rare after they stop printing them so it is recommended to pick this baby up before inflation hits.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
20 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dark Souls II Collector's Edition Guide
not need for every step of the game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Detail: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Accuracy: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/14
bigboy0522
Location: Boulder City, NV
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i started playing when Dark Souls became available for xbox 360 and i must say it was a little aggravating but probably the most fun i have had dying... the second installment has been pretty crazy in its self with me dying like 12 time in a matter of 3 hrs where sometimes i died 3 times back to back. overall i really do enjoy the second one and it seems like their online play has grown tremendously always seeing white soap signs down. anyways with the guide i feel like its something i would get but not to follow every step of the way because if you do that they it defeats the purpose of playing the game.. and the same goes with people that like to mod and hack the game.. what is seriously the fun of running through bosses with out a problem.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Detail: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Accuracy: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dark Souls II Collector's Edition Guide
How about no.
Posted on:1/17/14
Esan
Location: Pennsylvania
A guide for Dark Souls 2? Enemy analysis? Lore index? What made Dark Souls so fun and challenging was the fact that we had to explore and discover everything. We had to fight enemies to learn about them. We had to collect each and every object to read just a fragment of the lore and put it all together. They shouldn't be giving hand-outs in Dark Souls 2, it defeats the purpose of the game and really goes against what the first two games stood for.
30 of 133 found this review helpful.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
X3nochr1st
sacramento
 
Please wait while more information about X3nochr1st is loaded.
Additional information about X3nochr1st could not be loaded.
Why not
Posted 3/9/14
Dark Souls had a guide so why not the second? Anything to keep me from wasting 4 hours just going the wrong way!
Customer Avatar
Masstaden
 
Please wait while more information about Masstaden is loaded.
Additional information about Masstaden could not be loaded.
Posted 2/21/14
I wouldn't consider $34.99 a handout...
This is more of a collectors item than the usual strategy guide, hence "Collector's Edition." Besides, a couple weeks after the game comes out there will plenty of guides online to help.
Customer Avatar
Chillymundox
 
Please wait while more information about Chillymundox is loaded.
Additional information about Chillymundox could not be loaded.
Posted 1/23/14
Seriously the guides are not just about finding an easy way through the game because the whole reason it says collector's edition is because people collect them. I know I am going to buy this because i have the first one and i love it because of all of the artwork within them and adds more to the story and builds on the backgrounds of the games.
Customer Avatar
Uhno
 
Please wait while more information about Uhno is loaded.
Additional information about Uhno could not be loaded.
Posted 1/21/14
Actually EpicNameBro himself is working on the guide, it's likely he's working on the lore part as well since he has plenty of videos on the first game's.
Customer Avatar
Tyrann
 
Please wait while more information about Tyrann is loaded.
Additional information about Tyrann could not be loaded.
Posted 1/20/14
Geeeeet over yourself and let people play the game how they want. I don't even use the guide aside for the extra art. I like to collect Souls series stuff. Having a guide after my first playthrough is fun. If it went against what the series stands for, I'm sure the creators wouldn't allow the guide to be published as an official product. I swear, this series has some of the worst fans.
Customer Avatar
Karl19028475938
United States
 
Please wait while more information about Karl19028475938 is loaded.
Additional information about Karl19028475938 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
???
Posted 1/19/14
they made guides for all the dark souls games this really is needed for this game what are u talking about lol and it will probably be rare like the first one this is really needed the other ones had one too horrible preview
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Review 5 for Dark Souls II Collector's Edition Guide
Dark Souls 2 Strategy Book
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/14
Wreckedcodeman
Location: Bloomington,MN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this strategy book to help me get pass a boss fight and it seems to be doing me wonders in the game. So I would highly suggest this book to people getting stuck in the game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10