GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

PS4 Core Remote

Average Customer Rating:
1.133
1.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
13
0 out of 150%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS4 Core Remote
Review 1 for PS4 Core Remote
Disappointed, Had High Hopes But It Failed...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/14
Godfather4
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was really looking forward to this so I can finally control my PS4 smoothly...and not kill my ps4 dual shock battery...Well this IS NOT the solution ..First it is very uncomfortable to hold, being wide and very sharp pointed...But i could put up with that if the other bigger problems didn't happen...Second, it DOES NOT power on or off the system, so you would still need to go to your dual shock to do those basic functions. Third, it only controls Netflix and BLU-RAY...ONLY...absolutely no control of any other apps, NOT WWE, NO AMAZON, NOT CRACKLE, NONE OF THEM... The Bottom line is I am very disappointed with this remote. The OEM authentic microsoft xbox one remote is so smooth and natural, it lights up, it controls every app and other function on the xbox one...This third party piece of loosely contracted plastic is a very bad product...i've been gaming my entire life, I own pretty much every console, and am an early adapter on most tech products...MY ADVICE, STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT !!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PS4 Core Remote
Do not waste your money!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/14
reybird81
Location: Lexington, KY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was stoked to see an actual "remote" come out for the PS4 considering the very practical and awesome PS3 media remote is not compatible with the PS4. The design of this remote is awkward, they tried too hard to make it look like the PS4, which in my opinion works for the console not this remote. The remote has almost razor sharp edges and once again an annoying light every time you press a button. We get it, lights are cool and all but just stop draining our battery life for no reason! The main issue with this remote is the fact that it works with blu-ray and Netflix and that is all. Actually, it barely works with Netflix as you cannot go back once you have started a movie or TV show. On the Dualshock 4 controller the circle button will let you go back, but not on this remote's circle button! This remote does not power on the PS4 either, so you have to have a controller handy to power on the console, operate Hulu plus and any other app you want to use and you have to use the controller to get back to the home screen and to exit out of a movie on Netflix! Essentially this remote is absolutely worthless and not worth the money. Oh and you have a nice USB dongle hanging out of the front of your console, taking up space for charging controllers, headsets, etc. DO NOT BUY! I will wait for an actual Sony remote which is rumored to be coming out in the near future according to my Gamestop.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PS4 Core Remote
Avoid at all costs
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/14
Dralen
Location: PA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I can say without a doubt this is the worst remote in recorded history.
I can echo all the other reviews.
-No PS button on remote. Must use controller to even turn your PS4 on.
-Poor Navigation. You just don't know what is going to work, or not esp inside of apps such as Netflix, amazon,etc.
You basically have to use this piece of junk along with the controller which defeats the purpose.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PS4 Core Remote
Nyko PS4 Media Remote
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/14
JonCPaul
Location: HB, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this for blu-ray playback, Amazon VOD, Vudu, and Netflix. I cannot turn on or off system with this remote. I cannot exit application I start, it is missing the PS button. I have to use the PS4 controller to handle these functions. So I am returning it same day I purchased it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PS4 Core Remote
I wish I had read the reviews before I bought this
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/14
vsteel
Location: Idaho
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Most of the rest of the reviews are spot on. It will "sort of work" with Blu-Ray disks. Pretty much useless for the other things I am using it on. It is hit or miss if it will work and since I have to grab the controller to turn on the PS4 and sign in with it, I really don't see the value of this remote. I can only think that this was a scam for a product, it is so horrid in its function I don't see how anyone could release such a terrible product. Who could make the call to ship it when it doesn't really function. Do not buy this product especially if you have used the PS3 remote. I am still amazed that they didn't have the PS3 media remote work with the PS4.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PS4 Core Remote
Totally useless remote
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/14
Katatoned
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After using PS3 remote for years I was eager to get remote for PS4, and made a horrible mistake of buying this Nyko PS4 remote controller.
The first problem that you'll run into is that there's no power button. So you'll need to use the console power button or power the console on using dualshock controller.
The lack of power button could still be lived with, but when in most situations some or most of the buttons doesn't even work, it makes this remote useless. I don't remember if it was DVD or BD movie that I was watching and I think only the menu button worked.
So all in all this remote is totally useless. Better use for your 20 dollar bill is to burn it ;-)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for PS4 Core Remote
JUNK
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/14
Anonymous
Location: Bloomsburg pa
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Biggest piece of junk made for the PS4. Only worked half of the time. Can't turn system on or off. Can't navigate through hardly any of the apps. Absolutely poor thought development gone into making this junk. Renders itself useless when you still need the ps4 controller to navigate through 90% of what the remote is incapable of doing. Save your money and frustrations and do not buy this product!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PS4 Core Remote
Absolute Garbage - DO NOT BUY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/14
petiedog
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The quality of the device is pretty poor but I guess for $19.99 what do you expect. The biggest complain is it is completely worthless!! It allows you to navigate the main menu but you cannot back out of Netfix or anything else for that matter, the device has no PS button. All in all a complete waste of money. FYI, also requires you plug in a usb receiver in order to use it. The only good thing I can say about this device is it is super easy to setup, even though it is completely worthless!!!!! DO NOT BUY!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 9 for PS4 Core Remote
I'm joining the choir...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/14
Razzmatazz
Location: Santa Monca, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just bought this today and like everybody else, who wrote reviews, I had high expectations...
It doesn't turn the system on or off - It is unable to close/exit an app like Net Flix..Quite frankly it is useless.. I'm returning it tomorrow..
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PS4 Core Remote
Don't waste your time or your money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/14
andre3105
Location: Tacoma, WA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The only good thing I can say about the remote that it isn't expensive. Now for the downside. First, it's doesn't have the capability to exit applications once you've started them. Meaning if your planning to watch movies or T.V. using this remote, plan on grabbing your PS4 controller because that is the only way to back out of choices. Personally I have no qualms with the physical design but performance wise I really wish I had never purchased this device. Also the top three don't work so their basically just there for aesthetics. total waste of money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for PS4 Core Remote
Don't bother
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/14
crimsondrake83
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My family uses my ps4 for Netflix so I was glad when a remote came out so they dont have to use the controller. Well the remote doesn't pause or stop playback. You can't "go back" even though there's a O button just like the remote. I took it back an hour after I opened it. Honestly if it weren't for the fact that you needed the controller to make this work I would have kept it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 12 for PS4 Core Remote
KYKO PS4 Media Remote
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/14
Relicminer
Location: KY
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Can not perform all functions with streaming media! I will return!! have to use the controller to control functions.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PS4 Core Remote
good idea poor performance
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/14
gritman
Location: Cleveland ohio
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
maybe its just mine but when using netflix the only thing you can do is play/pause, and scroll and select. cant search, back button doesnt do anything and if you have a universal remote for your tv when you hold down certain buttons youll just raise and lower your tv volume. hopefully an update will make it work but i dont see that happening anytime soon.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for PS4 Core Remote
Not worth the purchase
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/14
pangarang
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Was excited to see a ps4 remote on the market and purchased it immediately. Unfortunately it seems there is no ability to close applications or return the the home screen. Would not recommend this product to anyone
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 15 for PS4 Core Remote
Not for Netflix
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/14
cj10489
Location: Marrero, LA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you like watching Netflix this remote is not for you,because the back button didn't work plus a volume button would have been nice
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tuchaka
 
Please wait while more information about tuchaka is loaded.
Additional information about tuchaka could not be loaded.
don't buy
Posted 4/17/14
awful remote do not buy
Comments (1)
Comment (1)