GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Witcher III: Wild Hunt

Become a witcher, one of the last monster slayers for hire. Track down the child of prophecy, a living weapon capable of untold destruction. Journey through war-torn kingdoms and slay legendary creatures. Explore towns rife with corruption and sail to untamed isles, home to clans of seafaring warriors. In a world descending into turmoil, your actions shape history.
Average Customer Rating:
7.778
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
Review 1 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
1st Time Witcher!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/15
YoFughedaboudit
Location: Austin, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So this is my review based off my experience so far. I have never played a game from the Witcher series but I figured I gotta start somewhere, and I only have an xbox 1 so the others aren't on my list anytime soon. I will be perfectly frank about this, if you do not have patience and don't enjoy running quests or sleighing awesomely dangerous monsters then this game is not for you. I bought this game the day of release without pre-ordering it... haven't put it down since. I can now say I'm officially a fan of the series. The gameplay is fun, the graphics are great (despite the random visual glitches from time to time, but that's expected till the first couple of updates are released), the story line is interesting even for first time players, the amount of time invested in this game could be well over 100 hours if you're serious about doing all the quests. Overall, for $60 I have to say, it was money well spent. This will definitely hold me over till Elder Scrolls Unlimited finally drops!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
Disappointed...to say the least
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/15
SeanAdam
I was excited to play this game, picked it up at launch and brought it home, installed it while I did some housework. Later in the evening I sat down to enjoy it, but was disheartened when I saw the graphics. It looked like I was playing on an xbox 360. All this talk about next-gen is finally here, I was at least expecting GTA V graphic level detail, but instead I get horrible draw distances with the trees looking like bland oil paintings, along with the textures being just par for old gen with somewhat flat appearances with not much shading effects. The realism to the environment is just not there much at all. I get they were trying to keep with the style and art of the prequels, but this is a disgrace trying to call it next-gen. To sum it up, the new consoles are more than able to handle the detail displayed in the title screen of this game, but instead of the developers striving for that, I get an xbox 360 (at its launch) level of graphics that just poisons the immersive factor for me, I just can't get into it, I need more realism when it comes to the graphics.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
5 Stars At Best
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/15
TurdofFrodo
Location: Houston
I sat through 20 hours of in-game play. I also played all the beginning in-game tutorials and read all the literature provided with the game prior to writing this review. My pros and cons are listed as follows...
Pros:
1) Sound is great
2) Plot is great
Cons:
1) Graphics are horrible
2) Jump off tiny ledge and 1/5 of health is gone.
3) Combat Mechanics are garbage
4) Developers stated "Newcomers will have easy time learning and fitting into Witcher three regardless of previous experience." I've Never played Witcher one or two and I'm lost while trying to find tips, tricks, and guides from various websites.
5) Had to glue face to screen to read small text on menu.
4) Load screen after every death is worse than initial online GTA V load screen.
5) The quest are too long
6) Rewards for quest do not equate to the work you have to put forth in order to receive the reward.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
loremaster12
lincoln ne
 
Please wait while more information about loremaster12 is loaded.
Additional information about loremaster12 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
ps4 is the console for this game
Posted 5/21/15
if you want to play with flawed beauty and is more just for fun get xbone edition but its just lag ive seen on/ xbone
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
This game is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/15
MrKillaBoyz
Location: Saddle River NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Thi game is incredible, aside from the shaky graphics, there is so many things to do throughout the world and it has had be glued to my controller to keep playing since release.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
A game for anyone who appreciates depth
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/15
RpgFan28
Location: New Hampshire
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have only played for about 6 hours so far but I have been engrossed. I wish I had more free time each day. This is a game for those who truly appreciate depth and it is really difficult to play for short periods of time. I usually need a minimum of a couple hours or else I don't feel like I've accomplished anything. The game forces you to explore and do side quests or else you will find yourself under leveled and under geared. I found out the hard way and had to backtrack. The combat seems to be in near perfectly unison between having a variety of abilities at your disposal while not being overwhelming. A little advice, don't try and be Rambo. It pays to be prepared for a fight and it is also important to know when to do a quick dodge or a roll away just as much as when to attack. If you try to play this like a hack and slash you will find yourself die'ing frequently. Great story, although I did not play the previous installments which lead to some questions. Graphics are amazing, a few frame rate lag moments, but then again if your someone who judges a game by these measures then I have nothing to say to you. Overall an absolute buy for anyone who appreciates a well developed RPG!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
Better than I anticipated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/15
Johnamanawesome
Location: Kansas
Right off the bat I'll tell you this is my first Witcher game, so I don't have a frame of reference from within the series. That being said, I love this game. I've barely done any of the main quests and I've already sunk about 15-20 hrs. into the game. I love the depth of the game's stories. There are many side quests that I've gotten caught up in and I feel they are almost as deep as the main story. This is a game that I'll be playing until classes start up again. The only thing I don't like is that leveling up is a tad slow, but I can still defeat enemies that are higher levels so it's not that bad.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
This is a Next Gen Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/15
Malimo
Location: Texas
I have been playing this game for about 8 hours straight now and I feel as though I have barely scratched the surface. The soundtrack and combat system in my opinion are perfect. The only slight concern with the graphics is they may not be perfectly optimized for the xbox one yet. I get a little stagger as I pan my camera around sometimes. Other than that, this is what a true Next Gen game should be like. On another note, the company that made this game is awesome, they didn't charge anything extra for the 16 dlc's and they give you a map, the soundtrack and a thank you letter to let you know they appreciate you when you buy this game new.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
Game of the Year
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/15
Zahl
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Witcher III: Wild Hunt is bringing back hope for gamers. This is the best game in a long time to be released at $60 without any first day DLC. Heck, this is the first game in a long time that I can rate a 10/10 in all of the categories!
This game has over 200 hours of gameplay with a high replay value. This is going to be game of the year and a huge defining moment for RPGs to come.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
Dont waste your money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/15
wolf01923
Game has so many Bugs and Lock ups, until they get around to patching the heck out of this don't bother. What a waste and they had so much time to fix the bugs pre launch. This was a huge waste of money and time.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
Impressive looking sequel
Posted on:7/8/14
BUG11
Location: ohio
I played witcher 2 and it was a well written and a very enjoyable game. This game is looking to be right in order with the second game. If you did not play witcher 2 you should do yourself a favor and pick it up. It gave the console gaming community a lot of back story about the game since the first one was only released on pc. This game could be enjoyed by RPG or action fans. It is NOT a game for young people. It is written for mature gamers that is why it has a M rating and you should adhere to this rating.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
California
Super Stoked!
Posted 5/10/15
Been with Geralt since Kaer Morhen in the first Witcher unfolding all of the secrets, fighting Azar Javed and the Professor, and finding out who was behind it all #GrandMaster and will be when our "Hero" finally faces the secret ominous force, The Wild Hunt. I've played all of the Witchers, all of which were exemplary. I'm just counting the days until the third comes out. Making room on my key lanyard for that sweet Witcher key chain, too. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who can feel pleasure, for that is what you will receive from playing any of these games. Although, I would recommend holding off if you've not played one and two, because three would obviously not make very much sense, and... well, frankly because they're all freggin awesome! All in all, I'm soooo excited, Can't wait!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
A Very Mature, Game of the Year RPG
Posted on:12/14/14
YoJoe
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Having been introduced to the series via the sequel (and on sale via Xbox Live), this third and final entry looks to sweep everyone off of their feet. The second game (Witcher 2) blew me away. Witcher 3 looks grand in both scale and ambition. I look forward to something that Skyrim won't be able to compete with (as that game blew me away on the 360 and was the reason I got the Xbox 360). This game is the reason why I got a an Xbox One. With that said, this series has a dark and very mature tone that a player needs to be prepaid for. Not something I will be playing around the family. Beside that, this game will redefine the RPG genre and will not disappoint.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Joker1948
 
Please wait while more information about Joker1948 is loaded.
Additional information about Joker1948 could not be loaded.
Witcher not worth buying
Posted 5/19/15
The game is a complete flop waste of money. I would rather play skyrim instead of this garbage. I will never pre-order another game from this company again. The whole game is a joke buttons are delayed to his actions this game deserves a 1 out of 10. Worst game I have played on the new systems. If I was you I wouldn't waste my money....taking mine back asap...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
Will be the best looking game for the XONE
Posted on:1/28/14
apple101
Location: TeXas
This will be the best looking game for the XONE, it will even look better than Halo 5. This will be the start of the Next genertation in gaming from visuals to gameplay. When the Witcher Wild Hunt shows up people will know that the next gen is finally here!
16 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gamer4Life15xxxxx
 
Please wait while more information about Gamer4Life15xxxxx is loaded.
Additional information about Gamer4Life15xxxxx could not be loaded.
Posted 2/14/14
I know when tis comes out I'm going to be playing it constantly.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
Can't wait!!!
Posted on:8/20/14
R1cky
Location: NY
I can tell the developers have been working hard for the Xbox 1 version. I love RPG's so this is good for me. The story looks interesting the graphics look amazing. The game doesn't look easy you battle huge and challenging monsters. What is there to hate about it? I would get the collectors Edition but I'm not that interested in this game. But it's still very good just not worth $120 lol. My Xbox Live expires the same day this game comes out so I have to worry about that as well. But I'm pretty sure this game is mostly about campaign.
Review 14 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
An Amazing Looking Game
Posted on:3/6/14
FutureHunter
Location: Henderson, NV
I will start by saying that I have never played a game from this series but the description caught my attention and I will be pre-ordering and getting this game unless the reviews by those who get it early say it totally sucks. The fact it is open world is a big bonus for it since I love open worlds. Definitely a game to keep an eye on.
Review 15 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
Skyrim has Competition
Posted on:3/10/14
babybadger911
Location: the world
For starters, Witcher 3 is 20% bigger than Skyrim. It has great combat, and your decisions really affect the game. It will be the biggest RPG of the year. Other xbox one games that are worthwhile would be:destiny, wolfenstein, murdered soul suspect.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
ViSi0nx
 
Please wait while more information about ViSi0nx is loaded.
Additional information about ViSi0nx could not be loaded.
Posted 5/12/15
3 1/2 years old, and they have ESO, which is a way bigger and more in-depth than Skyrim.
Customer Avatar
Merica
Reading, Pennsylvania
 
Please wait while more information about Merica is loaded.
Additional information about Merica could not be loaded.
Naws Mans
Posted 4/4/15
I love both series, but by the time this will be out Skyrim will be 3 1/2 years old, and this is NG.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 16 for The Witcher III: Wild Hunt
Holy Moly!
Posted on:4/15/14
amazingchipmunk
Location: new york, ny
I seriously cannot wait to get this game! Definitely should be a contender for the GOTY (game of the year).