GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox One Media Remote

Your favorite entertainment is at your fingertips with the Xbox One Media Remote. You're in control of Blu-ray movies, streaming video, apps, TV power, and volume. Featuring backlit keys that light up automatically, and direct access to the OneGuide, this simple, powerful remote is designed to help you watch and switch instantly.*
Average Customer Rating:
7.111
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
4
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox One Media Remote
Review 1 for Xbox One Media Remote
YES
Posted on:2/27/14
ejihnen
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Yessssss thank you Based Microsoft for this product. Kinect is great and all for pausing and playing with your voice and occasionally rewinding or fast forwarding, Smartglass can be useful but it's annoying to need to unlock my device and open the app every time I want to do something, and the controller isn't intuitive for nongamer girlfriends and grandparents / parents for media controlling, so this remote is great in numerous ways. Buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Xbox One Media Remote
Good, could be better.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/14
BigMac88
Location: Central California
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is only about $25, with that being said it should have several more function buttons like a TV power button and a button to change the INPUT channel. It's not bad...but not great...I consider just using my phone since that battery that it uses is rechargeable...and for that I would not recommend to a friend.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for Xbox One Media Remote
Small,needs direct route
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/14
xFLATLINERxx
Location: Imperial, CA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Control a bit to small. Does not work through the kinect so you will need to almost point it directly at the Xbox for it to work. Nice try Microsoft...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 4 for Xbox One Media Remote
Great device
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/14
Spineless
Location: California
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This little media control device is really useful! I love how it connects o my television and how I'm able to adjust the volume without having to use the control from the actual tv itself. The case feels really luxurious and when you walk up to it or touch it, it lights up from the motion and the lights turn down when your away, saving power. Its a great device and I highly recommend it to people who use their Xbox one for anything other than gaming.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Xbox One Media Remote
Good but could be better
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/14
Lemonjello1979
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Okay, I'm very happy to have this remote because I use my XBONE for everything so I'm not draining my controller battery constantly. The issues I have is that I wish they had done a larger remote with a number pad or possibly a keyboard to make YouTube easier. I know it would have made it more expensive but I think since XBONE is pushing the complete multimedia thing maybe they should've made a remote to do that. I've got a wireless keyboard on my system but none of the shortcuts work. I'm sure this remote was done last minute but I look forward to something better in the future or perhaps a software update for better functionality with windows keyboards. Lastly the thing is slippery, really no joke whatever it's coated in is really slippery.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for Xbox One Media Remote
Good but in my opinion it's not perfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
holyBs
Location: Utah
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
1 - I would like a dedicated Last Channel button (on cable TV there are these things called "commercials", they've kind of taken over the TV. A Last Channel button is necessary for actually watching shows and not just commercials.).
2 - I would like a dedicated TV Power button (I know the Xbox One can turn off the TV for me when I turn the Xbox One off. However, I use more devices than just the Xbox One, especially while the Xbox One doesn't really support DLNA. I use the Xbox 360 and a 3D-Bluray player. If the Xbox One turns off my TV, I have to turn the TV back on to use those.).
3 - I would like the Channel UP and DOWN buttons to move through my Favorites channel list while I am currently in my Favorites (This is self explanatory. There are 1000's of channels on cable TV, I would not use the Xbox One for TV watching if it did not support a favorite channel list. That said, I ONLY use the Favorites channel list, and I would like to "surf" my channels with the Channel UP and DOWN buttons. PATCH THIS PLEASE MICROSOFT).
Other than those improvements this remote isn't bad. I really like the gyro sensor for the lights. When you pick this remote up the lights are already turned on for a few seconds so you can see what you're doing right from the start, way to innovate!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xbox One Media Remote
Does what it does, Not for me..tho
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/14
NghtHawk2k
Location: Saint John, IN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My TV is in my bedroom, TV stand below my bed frame. I have the kinect sensor on top of my TV via the TV mount. Thought the remote was going to go through the kinects sensor so it'd be fine, but no you have to point it directly at the console. I wanted something to use while watching netflix/hulu/video that didn't turn of when watching videos...It does that but since i Have to basically get line of sight on the console, i have to redesign my tv stand to accomplish this. Great features just not for me.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Xbox One Media Remote
Useful but flawed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/14
13kitsune
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The xbox one needs something other than voice commands and the game controller in order to use it's media functions well. This remote fills that void pretty well. It controls my tv's volume and my cable box's channel function, while also letting me use snap, oneguide, and the xbox dashboard features. My issue with the remote is that it activates every time you move it, which in turn wears the batteries down very quickly. It will continue to operate with low batteries, but the signal strength becomes noticeably reduced. It's nice to have, but make sure you have enough batteries to keep it working properly.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Xbox One Media Remote
Volume
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/14
12thMan
Location: Washington
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Easier than screaming at your X1 in the middle of the night like a crazy person. Everything works. It even changes the Channel now that we are watching TV via X1. But not the volume since I use headphones. More convenient than using the X1 controller. If you have an extra $30 and an X1 you might like this. But it is one more remote for the collection lol and more batteries. You'd think they would be rechargeable by now since you know, it's Next Gen.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Xbox One Media Remote
Awsomeness
Posted on:3/3/14
A3BigPanda
Location: Siler City, NC
Man, I always had a media remote on my Xbox 360 and when i had to sell it I hated i didn't have it. If this can really control my tv and blu ray discs with everything else on my reserved Xbox One, then I'll buy it before i have a One lol
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Xbox One Media Remote
good but missing text pad
Posted on:3/5/14
Sumgi
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
very smart idea of Microsoft but they could have added a text pad to make it the perfect remote but again something left out Microsoft needs to get it together
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
golephish
 
Please wait while more information about golephish is loaded.
Additional information about golephish could not be loaded.
Text Pad
Posted 3/8/14
They do have a text pad. Glass is the text pag. Why would you text from a remote?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Xbox One Media Remote
good remote
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
hpfan42
Location: austin tx
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i love it it is a great remote it is worth 25.00 bucks for sure i would get this if i was you it works great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10