GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Alien: Isolation

The game is set in 2137, 15 years after the events of Alien and 42 years before the events of Aliens. It focuses on Ellen Ripley's daughter Amanda who, while investigating her mother's disappearance, is ordered to go to the space station Sevastopol to recover data that could help locate her mother, unaware that an Alien has already infested the station.
Average Customer Rating:
7.621
7.6
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
7
8 stars
6
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
20 out of 2969%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alien: Isolation
Review 1 for Alien: Isolation
Great but you will be stressed
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/14
Location: E. KY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wow what a game. I have to admit i would of never bought this game after not caring much about Outlast but im a huge ALIEN fan. Im old enough to remember the original ALIEN movie and how terrified i was at 8 years old. For some reason my parents took me to all the great ones: JAWS, THE SHINNING, FRIDAY THE 13th, HALLOWEEN, etc. etc. Anyhow i couldnt pass and thank goodnes. They have captured the feel and atmosphere of the original movie perfectly. The sounds are great and the effectiveness, which is most important, are wonderful. Without this the supurb graphics are worthless. The sound allows you to feel the depression and angst you're living while safetly sitting in your couch..plus being able to hide and sneak effectively. I was so worried this was going to be hours of hiding and meaningless tasks but it felt as if i always had a good purpose for doing my present mission. I still cant believe what a great job the developers did. Theres very few times in the game i was able to "unclinch". During gameplay i would suddenly come back to my couch and realize what the game has been doing to me for the past couple hours. I would be tense all over, sittin on the edge of my chair jaws and teeth clinched. I'd take a few minutes to stretch, pop my knuckles and shake it off. So the graphics are great and nostalgic, sound superb, the AI is sharp and difficult to predict, enemies....sometimes it was difficult to tell if an android or human was going to attack or help. The NPCs change up their outfits which makes things difficut also (dont want to spoil anything). The game is LONG in a good way. I feel like i got my moneys worth. Im very happy with this game and highly reccomend it to anyone especialky ALIEN(S) fans. No real complaints except occasional glitches here and there but nothing major yet. Sorry for spelling, did this on my ipad.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alien: Isolation
I Expected FAR Better
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/14
Location: Portland, OR
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game got old really quick. As a fan of Alien, I was prepared for something blockbuster - this is lackluster. It delivers on nostalgia, but that can't carry a game. The cutscene animation is HORRIBLE! I've seen animatronics do a better job of mouthing their lines. The voice acting is weak & dry in the emotion department. Ambient effects were fantastic though. Crafting components provided are rarely what's needed to make anything. (And you have to make almost EVERYTHING.) You eventually get weapons... which is pointless since nothing you can attack is capable of even being incapacitated with the exception of maybe 4 opponents. It's all just run, hide, avoid detection, and hope The Alien doesn't randomly pop up in front of you (even when the motion tracker shows it leave the area.) It was fun for a lark the first few hours, but became irritating and old. (Imagine playing Hide & Seek for several hours, to really grasp it.) I might try this again when PSN gets around to offering it for free. I wouldn't pay for this.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 3 for Alien: Isolation
They missed the point
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/15
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The potential behind this game was massive. Instead of a shooter Alien game, how about a horror survival Alien? Sounds perfect, and it would have been had they not missed the element of horror. What's scary? The Alien? The other people? The androids? No, it’s the anticipation, the unknown. They had that going at first, and then they blew it.
At first, there is no alien as you orient yourself to the environment and other threats that exist. Then it finally comes and you have sneak around it or hide until it passes by. After that it was terrifying; always expecting it to pop out of the celling or wander into the room. At this point I was ready to crown this game the best horror game of this generation; but then it happened. Eventually, the alien is never more than 20 ft. away from you, always 1 room away, right down the hall, or in the very room that you occupy. You will literally spend more time hiding than doing anything else in the game. You will die countless times before progressing to another area of the ship. It eventually becomes a system of trial-and-error, the alien does the exact thing every time, and nothing changes. Sound fun to you? The worst part is, by now the game isn’t even scary, there is no anticipating the alien, because it is ALWAYS there. They literally killed the fear factor by having the alien follow you around for the rest of the game. If you unlock a new room or hallway, the alien doesn’t stay where it is, it follows you into the new section (even though it doesn’t know where you are) because it is just always there.
You find a gun, a stun baton, and some other weapons. Do you know why you have these? Neither do I, because they don’t do anything. Not only does the Alien take zero damage from anything you use, but the androids are also immune to everything.
I loved the idea of sneaking around an alien and constantly trying to avoid it. But when it is circling around you 100% of the time, the game just ruins itself. Try dead space or last of us for a better horror experience.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Alien: Isolation
Expect the Unexpected!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/14
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To all the people who like horror movies, Alien 1 or 2, and want a game that will not get repetitive, challenge you and give a few unexpected twists along with the best graphics in a horror game, this is it! I don't normally do reviews, but beating the game on hard and looking online for other reviews I discovered this game is hated on probably because of companies not getting paid to give a good review. The Alien AI is the smartest and most dynamic in any game available and If that isn't enough, the survival tactics lead you to search for components, build them and that is what gives you options throughout the game. Amazing space walking and the end will keep you wanting more. For all the haters I would enjoy to watch you play as you probably got murdered 1000's of times by Alien. HeHe.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alien: Isolation
The best Alien game, but still flawed.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/14
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alien: Isolation does many things right. There is no doubt that the developers at The Creative Assembly are huge fans of the film, and set out with an absolute respect for the source material. The problem is that the game just isn't fun to play, and is extremely difficult. Survival horror is one thing, but an unbalanced game is something else entirely. If they wanted to go with this level of difficulty, they should have made it a third-person game--that would have gone a long way to helping the player achieve the stealth necessary to play the game. In first person, it quickly becomes tedious and frustrating. I also found the game has a few bugs, even with the day-one patch installed. In short, if you're a casual gamer, consider yourself warned. If you're a die-hard Alien fan, and want to play the game, I'd advise renting it first.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alien: Isolation
Responding to Sarge's "buzz"...
Posted on:9/29/14
Sarge is incorrect, despite his enthusiasm. This game is NOT developed by Sega. It's developed by Creative Assembly & published by Sega. Aliens: Colonial Marines was NOT developed by Gearbox. It was SUPPOSED to have been, but they were busy with Borderlands 2 & handed the project over to Timegate. Timegate did the terrible work on that title. Gearbox funneled money from Aliens: CM over to Borderlands 2 & once ACM came out & Sega found out what had happened, they sued Gearbox.
As for Alien: Isolation, I've waited 35 years for a game like this. A TRUE Alien game...based on my favorite movie of all time. I saw the first trailer & it took me back to my childhood, sitting in the theater the summer of 1979 when I saw Alien for the first time. I can't wait to play it!!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alien: Isolation
A Near Perfect Game for the Perfect Organism
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/15
Location: Heath, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Alien franchise has had quite a rough history. After the first two classic films, the series never really seemed to be able to pick itself back up, despite the last two sequels being helmed by Oscar-nominated directors (David Fincher, you deserved better). What’s worse is that Aliens, despite being a brilliant sci-fi action film in its own right, has inspired countless bland, unoriginal games, including last year’s cringeworthy “Aliens: Colonial Marines.” I was extremely hesitant to pick this one up, especially on a preorder. However, I am glad to say that my fears were all for naught, and that this sequel brings the Alien franchise back where it belongs, despite having a few noticeable hitches along the way.
Our story begins with you playing as Amanda Ripley, daughter of the heroine of the Alien films, Ellen Ripley. (If you have seen the Special Edition of “Aliens,” you may have spotted her photo in an early scene in the film.) She embarks on a mission with a crew that is employed by the nefarious Weyland-Yutani Corporation to investigate the mysterious Sevastopol Station, which was carrying the flight recorder from the Nostromo, the ship that Ellen Ripley was aboard during the events of the original Alien. Once she is aboard, however, she learns that a much darker secret lies aboard the station, and a strategic cat-and-mouse game begins with the Xenomorph.
The gameplay, for the most part, is fairly straightforward: Try to make as little noise as possible while evading the Alien. Hide when necessary, and use the flamethrower and ammo sparingly. One thing is certain in this game: You will die. A lot. The Alien’s movements are completely unpredictable, which is what makes the game so fun and fresh. There were a lot of moments when I was genuinely terrified and startled when I least expected to be.
There is no simple way to kill the Alien. It is immune to bullets, and melee attacks are obviously useless. The closest you can get to “killing” the Alien is to use the flamethrower. Even then, the creature will only be slightly annoyed, retreating into the vents to stalk you once more. You can see approximately where the Alien (and other NPCs) are by using the tracker, an exact digital replica of the one used in James Cameron’s “Aliens.” The beeping noise that the tracker makes doesn’t seem to attract the attention of anyone, however, and therefore is relatively simple to use while hiding. Also, when using the tracker, there is a blurring effect that only lets you focus on the tracker itself or what is in front of you. It’s smart, in theory, but I found it relatively simple to watch both at the same time.
There are a handful of other weapons scattered throughout the game that you will find useful, particularly against the androids that litter Sevastopol station, which I thought were actually much creepier than the Alien itself. They are extremely hard to kill, and even harder to melee, since they will grab you and try to choke you to death. Once again, the most useful weapon was the flamethrower. Not only does it make the Alien disappear for a short time, but it also is useful in weakening the androids as they are chasing you.
One of my biggest worries about this game was that it was going to be too short. The premise of an Alien hunting you and you simply running away and hiding just seemed like it wouldn’t be able to fill a very long time frame. However, the game turns out to be much more than a violent game of “hide ‘n’ seek,” and even manages to turn the story around a full 180 degrees almost halfway through the game. The main story itself ended up lasting at least 20(!) hours, and that’s not counting replays because of dying over and over again.
It is at this point, midway through the story, when things get a little boring. Whereas before, the Alien’s terrifying search for Amanda was the central focusing point, the plot takes a turn and becomes something completely different. It was nice to see a fresh look at an “Alien” storyline but sadly, this tends to hamper the full experience that this game could have provided. Although the androids are tough and disturbing, they don’t provide quite as much of an intellectual challenge as the Alien does. Fortunately, the story picks itself back up towards the end of the game, and although the ending itself proved to be a little cliché and certainly bait for a sequel (or even DLC), the game overall was an enjoyable experience, and I cannot wait to try it again on the hardest difficulty.
I wish I could tell you that this game is perfect, but that's not the case here. For one thing, it's littered with several glitches. The graphics themselves are gorgeous, better than anything I’ve seen in a long time, but there were several moments when the framerate stuttered, most notably whenever you are killed by the Alien. I also found myself frustrated a few times when I would be hiding in a closet from the Alien, and it would suddenly glitch through the closet without opening the door and kill me. Every time you open a door or get off a transit, the door would glitch, but still open normally. It’s not exactly game-breaking, but it is rather annoying.
In spite of the glitches and the disappointing middle act, this game is the one that “Alien” fans have been waiting for. The story is intriguing, the gameplay is great, and the Alien franchise is finally back in the genre where it belongs: survival horror. There is a special tension present whenever the Alien is around, and it gives the game an addictive nature. No matter how many times I died, I always found myself eventually coming back to the game, eager to try again. Any fan of survival horror should at least try this game. It’s well worth a look, especially for fans of the films.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Alien: Isolation
Alien: Isolation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/15
Location: Usa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is to hard to play, not a lot of " hints " throughout the game, the game to dark to see to play.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 9 for Alien: Isolation
Survival horror has truely returned!
Posted on:4/29/14
No weapons, no mp, no co-op. You and one Alien... hiding for survival and doing what you can to escape. I ignored this game at first, because the last two alien games (AVP and Colonial Marines) were mainly multiplayer focused and poorly developed, but this looks fantastic. A must play for me this year.
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KnightTime
Chicago,IL
 
Please wait while more information about KnightTime is loaded.
Additional information about KnightTime could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Survival Horror was never gone??
Posted 9/5/14
never gone...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Alien: Isolation
Looks Amazing!!!
Posted on:8/15/14
Location: Auburn, Maine
Unlike the previous Aliens games, This one is Actually made by SEGA, AVP was Developed by Rebellion and Published by SEGA.. Aliens: Colonial Marines was Developed by Gearbox and Published by SEGA.. This game is a return to True Survival Horror.. I will definitely pick this up Day One!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LucidDelusions
 
Please wait while more information about LucidDelusions is loaded.
Additional information about LucidDelusions could not be loaded.
Fingers crossed
Posted 8/20/14
Let's hope sega doesn't botch this game, I have seen some gameplay and it did look promising but than again so did colonial marines. How many games could they possibly screw up before they make a decent game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Alien: Isolation
A spectacular, but flawed game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/14
Location: You don't need to know....
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To start off I would like to say that I'm not a hardcore Alien fan, so this review won't be biased towards loving it. I would also like to say that I wasn't expecting a whole lot from this game after the massive disappointment that was Colonial Marines. Now, Isolation is a survival horror game, which already makes it different from CM. In Isolation, you'll be hiding, running, and fighting for survival in the space station the Sevastopol as Amanda Ripley, the daughter of Ellen Ripley. This game will get your heart racing and forcing you to use new strategies each time you play thanks to the adaptive Alien AI which I must say is very impressive. So I'll start with the gameplay.
GAMEPLAY: The gameplay in Isolation is simple. As mentioned, you'll be hiding, running, and fighting for survival against the Alien, synthetics, and other human survivors. You're equipped with various gadgets such as noisemakers, molotov cocktails, security hacking tools, and more. You're given guns, but it's mostly wise to not use them, as they attract lots of unwanted attention. The Alien has an adaptive AI meaning that he will adapt to your tactics, and will find you, and well, kill you if you use the same tactic repeatedly. Which is impressive, but can be frustrating and stressful in certain situations. Throughout Isolation you'll mostly be relying on stealth to slip by your enemies and the stealth is done very well. You can hide under beds, in lockers, lean, peek, and stay as quiet as possible to avoid detection. Stealth is most definitely the way to go. But I must say, in order to be stealthy, you have to be patient. This game requires patience, which I view as a positive, but some may disagree. The game also features a crafting system. Which I am pleased to say is done well. You find components to craft various items (noisemakers, medkits, etc) among the station and off of dead bodies. The only complaint I have with the crafting system is the UI, which quite frankly, is terrible. The game also has a lot of backtracking, which some may see as a positive, and some may see as a negative. Positive because it adds to the immersion, it highlights how big the station really is, and gives you the opportunity to explore. Negative because it can become quite tedious, and rather boring at times. I would also like to bring up the games saving mechanics. To save your game, you must approach a save console, and save manually. There are no auto-saves. Which as you may imagine, can become very frustrating and tedious. Especially when you can be killed as you're saving. I feel like there should be more save consoles, or an auto-saving mechanic should be implicated, because nobody likes playing the same part over and over again after a death. The combat is a bit clunky at times, but it does the job. I should mention that it's also very smooth, the game runs well with minimal problems.
GRAPHICS: Oh... my... God. The graphics in this game are incredible! The amount of detail that's put into this game is unreal. The lighting, the character models, the Alien, the smoke, everything looks amazing. The only thing I thought was a little off with the graphics was the lip-syncing on the humans. to be honest, it's awful. Also the animations are a bit stiff on the humans. But that can be overlooked, and it's forgiven with the rest of the game. The game just immerses you in the Sevastopol. That immersion is almost never broken, and that's really something I admire.
SOUND: The sound in Isolation is once again, incredible. From the heart stopping sound of the Aliens footsteps and growls, to the sound of the Sevastopol falling apart, everything is beautiful. Now I will say that Amanda's voice acting sounds a bit weird sometimes, but once again I can overlook it and forgive it. I do highly recommend a good pair of headphones while playing this game.
OVERALL: Overall Isolation is a great game, even with it's flaws. I'd say for a hardcore Alien fan, this game is easily a 9 or a 10. But for just a casual horror fan, it's an 8. If the game had a better save mechanic, a little more attention to the animations, and less backtracking, this game would be an easy 10 across. Maybe some of that can be corrected in future patches and the mechanics that are already there may be improved upon. But the game is great, and it is a good horror game. Alien fan or not, you will enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
isthislongenoughgamestop
Annoyedville
 
Please wait while more information about isthislongenoughgamestop is loaded.
Additional information about isthislongenoughgamestop could not be loaded.
Never again...
Posted 11/7/14
The game looks great & it's like being immersed in that world I saw on screen 35 years ago in the theater.
As for Gamestop & their preorder nonsense...never, ever....NEVER again will I preorder ANYTHING from them (or likely anyone else) for supposed exclusive content. I expected the bonus stuff to be made available to the general public eventually, just not less than a week later. I thought by getting the game now (rather than when I'd originally planned to) the price difference wouldn't be great enough to bother (since I was planning on getting the DLC anyway). While it's a welcome sight to see DLC being offered substantially lower than many game DLC in the past, I never thought for one second the DLC for which I was preordering the game would be made available within a week of the game's release date AND be less than $5.
With previous games & preordering from Amazon, I've never seen that happen. The DLC would be available, but there would be a time delay giving preorderers a little exclusivity time. This from Gamestop was a blatant attempt to boost sales (I know preorder bonuses are anyway, but this time was very different).
No way, no how will I ever fall for it again.
Customer Avatar
MonitorTheMusic
Pensacola, FL
 
Please wait while more information about MonitorTheMusic is loaded.
Additional information about MonitorTheMusic could not be loaded.
Mission 16 does not work
Posted 11/3/14
Mission 16 does not work
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for Alien: Isolation
Very good game, just wish it was more shoot em' up
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/14
Location: Tampa, Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Very good game, sound is ridiculous good! Graphics are great. The game can be slow at times and there is barely any firefights. Let's just say it's an extremely realistic survival horror. You barely have any equipment and you have to find everything and put stuff together to use. I've been playing the game for hours and have yet to come across a firearm of any kind. So the realism factor is definitely there. If you like that this game is for you. If you like call of duty style campaign just with aliens this is not for you. (this game is nothing like colonial marines) but I'm not downing the game at all, great great game!! Just takes some getting use to..
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alien: Isolation
So Creepy Its Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/15
Location: Superior, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game definitely had the feel of the original movie just like the game developers were going for. The entire time I was playing it I kept constantly checking my radar for movement because even in the late game you have this sense of "helplessness" constantly hovering over your shoulders. Sure there were plenty of helpful things to get you through situations but there were plenty of times where I wanted to be anywhere in the game but where I was. I'd be a little less vague but I hate spoilers :P
From the moment you first encounter the Alien, the entire game gets a creepy feeling to it due to the fact that it's constantly hunting you and there's nothing you can do to stop it (or is there?). I jumped at my own shadow more than once while playing this, and as a true Alien fan, I was very satisfied.
The only thing i didn't really care for with this game was the fact that some of the lighting wasn't quite accurate in the sense that there were no shadows. I tested this by standing in front of a large lamp that had fallen on the floor, and my character did not cast a shadow on the opposing walls. This killed the experience a little bit as it detracted from the scare factor, but overall the game still pulled it off beautifully. I will definitely be playing this game again in the future :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Alien: Isolation
Exceeded expectations, worth the buy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/14
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is nothing like that mess colonial marines. I have to say though, it is not a shoot em up. It delivers on its promise: a solid scifi survival horror game and does not disappoint. Anyone who has played this game and criticizes it on not delivering REALLY needs to examine their criticism. This is definitely worth the buy if you are looking for a good horror or survival game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MonitorTheMusic
Pensacola, FL
 
Please wait while more information about MonitorTheMusic is loaded.
Additional information about MonitorTheMusic could not be loaded.
BROKEN!
Posted 11/3/14
Mission 16 does not work
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Alien: Isolation
You need this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/15
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
By far the best looking, sounding, and all around best horror game I have played in years. No this cant be compared to outlast because this game needs its own scale. From the starting screen all the way to the ending cinematic this game pulls you in and keeps you tight with out ever losing its grip. There is no set path so this game can be played through as many time as you want. GET THIS GAME!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Alien: Isolation
Exceeded expectations+
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/14
Location: Los Angeles
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The right thumb-stick bothered me at first, because it was not smooth to the start, but I realize this is perfect for the horror genre. If you wear a surround sound headset with bass boost, it doesn't get better than that. I found myself checking my shoulder from sounds that were right next to me. The graphics feel so 1980s, which makes me so happy, because I am a huge fan of the Alien franchise, which was made in the '80s. Even though it takes place in 2137. I am currently playing it on HARD mode. I will definitely be playing it again on Easy/Normal soon after completing it on Hard. On Hard mode, the alien is constantly all over your general area (except for when it's not supposed to). I am curious as-to how the alien will act on easy or medium. -10/10 Thanks for reading ;)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alien: Isolation
Fun. Scary. Worth it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/15
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alien: Isolation could have easily been called Alien: Hunted. I have never been hunted before, however, this game has to come close to what it feels like. Excellent use of sound, lighting, and jump-scares create a tense atmosphere that will linger in your mind for days. The game developers cut no corners with Alien: Isolation. The sheer amount of detail aboard the Sevastopol create an immersion that few games achieve. Even backtracking through corridors felt new as there was much to see around every corner. Excellent graphics, responsive controls, and haunting sounds portray the horror that is Amanda's visit to the Sevastopol.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 18 for Alien: Isolation
Game is very unorthadox
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/14
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is very unorthadox meaning contrary to what is usual. I will not spoil the game but i will inform you for what you are going to be looking at in terms of gameplay. At the begining of the game you will be hunted down by a single alien with no possible way to kill it, so your only defense is to creep around and not be tracked down. You hide in cabinets and locker ect. if you are in a tight spot and have no where to go. This is pretty much most of the game and is very frighting and gives you a sense of survival. it will have you on the edge of your seat throughout the game. There are also other enemys that you can kill however so its not just running from the alien. You fight humans and androids also with guns, a wrench to melee with and items that you can craft with scraps you pick up along the way. This game takes patience because you will die alot by the hands of the alien for he is very hard to shake so you will eventually figure out a scheme to complete objectives while staying out of his sight. Some players find this type of gameplay frustrating and leave bad reviews BUT if you would like to experience the most realistic virtual experience of surving on a ship with the notorious alien hunting you down than you are in for a BLAST! i myself loved it even though i would get frustrated at times. Every game has its flaws but their aren't flaws that are big enough in this game that would ruin it and leave you regretting your decision for buying it. But if you are into games like call of duty where you go guns blazing through levels quickly then this game is NOT for you. This game is not for the faint of heart. you have to be brave, patient, and strategic to get out of this one alive!!! P.s. it also has alot of gameplay time that required to beat all 17 levels so you get your moneys worth which is an added bonus! i hate when i games are quick to beat leaving you lost in time wondering what happened
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alien: Isolation
It was okay, but could have been better.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/15
Location: NJ
I was expecting an absolutely amazing game. This game is really slow paced and boring. There are a lot better games out there that have this survival concept.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Alien: Isolation
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/15
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok definitely a fan of the original movie, but having said that, the game exceeded my expectations. I figured nothing could come close to the movie and the fear level, I was wrong. The graphics are superb, gameplay is fun (frustratingly hard at times, but I liked that it wasn't easy). Also can see replaying this several times. The main story lasts a long time also, which is nice for a change.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>