GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed Unity

Paris, 1789 - The French Revolution turns a once-magnificent city into a place of terror and chaos. Its cobblestone streets run red with the blood of commoners who dared to rise up against the oppressive aristocracy.As the nation tears itself apart, a young man named Arno will embark on an extraordinary journey to expose the true powers behind the Revolution. His pursuit will throw him into the middle of a ruthless struggle for the fate of a nation, and transform him into a true Master Assassin.
Average Customer Rating:
6.51
6.5
(160 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (160 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
16
8 stars
15
7 stars
15
6 stars
4
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
11
62 out of 10062%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed Unity
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/15
Location: Connecticut
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Overall, ac unity is a great game. Sure there is bugs here and there, but all games have them. The story confused me a little. SPOILERS AHEAD. when did arno get excepted into the brotherhood after his exhile? I mean he required his Master Assassins Robe at the end, so he must be part of the assassins again, right? I don't know, but this doesn't ruin the game for me. I think what bothers me the most is if your chasing someone and you decide to climb a roof or cut through a building, I always get stuck on objects like chairs. Arno will leap up on a chair, hesitate to come down and when you finally get him down, the slight movement of the controls makes him hop up again. Then, you fail the mission for letting your persuor get away. This has happaned to me numerous times, and not just with that stupid chair. That really ticks me off and just makes me wants to punch a hole in my wall.(not really, just an expresion) but all in all ac unity is a great game and deserves to be known as another great Assassins Creed title.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Absolutely horrid. Avoid at all costs!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/14
This game has HUGE problems across all platforms. FPS drops below 10, horrible aliasing and NPC popin.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Cons are *superseded* by pros
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/14
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was very eager to wade into this water, with AC3 being disappointing, but AC4 changing back the tide, and as I found out, AC4 did a fine job of warming up the franchise for the true, next-generation Assassins Creed game. Okay, let's get down to business now. When you first put the disc into your console, and start up the game, you think, "La-de-da-do...nothing special yet...la-dum-de-do-.........holy cra* look at that". The camera starts to slow-pan, and you see an eagle. You are astounded by the graphics, as the YouTube videos you watched about Assassins Creed: Unity did not fully capture the breathtaking graphics, views, sounds, chills, and overall euphoric feeling that you get when you first see the game. The storyline doesn't take long to kick-off, and right away you see our buddy Arno. Arno is very Ezio-like, his attitude and persona. However, he is not as naive as Ezio was at that age. He is a pretty interesting character, and you will see other sides of him that the trailers don't reveal. That's all I will say, as ai don't want to spoil the story for you before you even get your hands on the game. Okay, I covered the graphics, story, but what about the improvements that Ubisoft boasted about. Drumroll please....finally no more eavesdropping missions, however I do recall one, just one, tailing mission, and it was a *side mission.* The real reason you should get the game is the ultra-realistic free-running part of the game. There are so many new options Ubisoft has given us, due to the updated, innovated, genius new climbing system. You can also explore inside buildings, which was not possible in previous AC games. Last, and definitely not least, is the customizabiliy of this game, which I don't want to spoil, because there sure are some amazing possibilities you have with this game. That is all for my review. I hope you enjoyed it. Don't base your purchase on the concrete characteristics, but rather on *how much fun this game is*, as I will tell you. ***********If you aren't satisfied, you can always return it, but trust my review, this game beats the past 3 additions to the franchise, so don't base your decision on those past games, take a "leap of faith".
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Here
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Unity Looks Pretty Fresh
Posted on:5/2/14
Location: New York,USA
AC UNITY is coming and it looks pretty new.Great Graphics (If anyone saw the trailer in HD).And if rumors are true,it will feature horizontal wall running like the POP FRANCHISE which is awesome.Even the setting itself incredible with all it's events and BLOOD.Ubisoft said that they have been working on it for 3 years. I just hope they learned from AC3's Mistakes and not repeat them EVER AGAIN (I LOVED AC3 and Enjoyed every AC Game).
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Ubisoft takes A.C. to the French Revolution Era
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/15
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The French Revolution Era concept was solid. Ubisoft continues to keep the 'A.C. world' and characters fairly fresh. On a side note, gamers can sometimes be annoying. They like game sagas, yet they complain when there is some repetitiveness in the gameplay. I don't know what they expect. Personally, I enjoyed the main plot for the most part. As for the side missions, I thought the Helix rift missions were cool. The only major weakness to the side missions were the Companion missions. They were extremely simplistic and short.
You can download a free DLC from the PS Store, (Sequence 13 - 'Dead Kings). I was excited for this additional content until I started it. It was very annoying trying to maneuver through this city, because there were Templar soldiers everywhere you turned. It was nearly impossible to avoid confrontation while playing this sequence.
As always, I remain an avid A.C. fan and look forward to yet another installment this fall with 'A.C. Syndicate'.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Had a lot of fun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/15
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing! I find myself playing it for hours on end. The co-op missions and heists allow you to coordinate with your friends for currency and gear. I hope the customization is similar in games to come because the different weapon styles suits every kind of player. The skill menu allows you to spend sync points towards the path you wanna go down for the rest of the game. The new weapon, the phantom blade, I feel helps with stealth more in case you are detected and need a quick kill. The phantom blade won't attract much attention unless other enemies are nearby. My only problem with the game is that it's a little fast paced. So be ready for anything
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Missed the mark
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/14
I have played all of the AC franchise games and while it has evolved it seems they took a step back from black flag. The multiplayer is awesome except you have to pay for it so it's only so good. There really isn't a whole lot of depth to it either. You can play around 10 multiplayer missions. After thos are done there is really no reward for going back and doing them. The guild challenge is ok but its not meant to be the primary focus of the game and you can tell. The main story line is what really misses the mark. There is no need to do any of the millions of side quests to help you out witht eh main quest. They have just thrown more side quests into this one that are all rinse and repeat type quests. They all feel the same. The plot is good but it is incredibly short!!! You can complete the main storyline in no time at all. So the so the replay value stacks up to all the other assassins creed games which is relatively low. It's wayyyyy shorter than the other stories. Hope this helps.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Don't Fall For The Critics' Reviews
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/15
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I honestly don't know why this game got critically panned, but I like it. Unity got a lot better when the recent patch was issued. It made it so that you didn't need the companion app to get certain things, and frame rate drops and other glitches were also fixed. The gameplay in Unity is very smooth, featuring a new "free-run down" mechanic. This allows you to get down from a building without using a haystack or doing that annoying drop and grab routine. The combat is a bit harder, but then again, I always found AC combat a bit easy. You can't block, but other fun mechanics make up for it. The story isn't as strong as the other games in the series, but it isn't terrible. I don't want to spoil anything, so I'll keep this part short. There are fun parts called "time anomalies." This is where the Animus goes a bit haywire for reasons that will stay unknown because I don't want to spoil anything. I think that AC Unity is a must-have for fans of the series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Try this game out
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/14
Location: Plano, Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me clear the major problem people have been complaining about in this game, the glitches/bugs. The game was patched in the first few days and I personally have not been experiencing any more glitches. So I would like to start of by saying, the combat system has totally been revamped and the gameplay (especially parkour) has started to feel a lot smoother than in any other Assassin's Creed game. If you liked the older system, you might not like this newer one because it does add more challenge to the game that was not present in other AC games. The story is great, one of the better stories in the series, feels a lot more cinematic and personal than other AC games because the first three sequences Arno is not an assassin but a kid that has gone through a tragedy in his life and tries to cover his extreme emotional feelings with his love for his extremely powerful counterpart, Eliese. Eliese is a well developed character, like most characters in the game, it's just your taste in characters that makes you mind about her. Anyway, the story takes place in the background of the French Revolution which throughout the game has given certain political undertones and subtle nuances to how your placement in the social ladder is affects your stance on the government, but the greatest difference between older AC games and this one is that this one is more of a real Assassin experience than what we are used to at this point. In this game, you have been given freedom to chose how to execute different assassinations, and the amount of customization available also differentiates this game from other AC games. At the end, the game is more an actual assassin's experience than rather a guy that runs around in a hoodie with certain set of rules that you have to follow or you lose.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
26 of 29 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mikazuki
Bartlett, TN
 
Please wait while more information about Mikazuki is loaded.
Additional information about Mikazuki could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 11/21/14
It is a great game. I believe that, because of the glitches that were mostly fixed with the Day 1 patch, it's getting a really bad rep.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed Unity
the bad and the good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/14
Location: new jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is a very fun game probably one of the best games I played but what I am disappointed about is that there's too many bad changes like you cant steal from citizens anymore, its way too annoying having to go to the menu and change your weapons and most of all NO HUNTING but the better upgrades are you can change your cloths, you can go into peoples houses and it shows the level of your assassin and your opponents if you liked my review give me a thumbs up {therealgamer12}
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
29 of 39 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Purely, simply, bluntly AWEFUL.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/14
Location: Sao Paulo, BRA
Ubisoft pulls out the shamelessness on this one.
Despite being one of the probably best ever scenarios and time periods to create a game around, that's all there is to it.
An unbelievably huge potential game, it seems as if they've forgotten about the core understanding of any given videogame, which is, of course, the gaming experience.
There was such a tremendous hype growing around the release of AC: Unity, however that was before people actually got to experience it.
The game play is extremely sluggish, slow and boring.
There's absolutely nothing new in regards to gameplay.
It was an extremely boring experience and a huge dissappointment playing it for the first time, reaching a point of exhaustion to which i decided to relocate my attention towards the ubisoft's forum; were i was apparently banned after claiming the game was so bad that I'd like a refund.
To put it bluntly it pure and simply just: sucks!
Terrible.
Do NOT buy.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Viva la Revolution!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/14
Location: Bartlett, TN
Okay, so I'm probably about halfway through the story because I've been doing a LOT of the extra stuff, like the Paris stories and co-op, but I LOVE THIS GAME! Understandably, there are people who are having problems with glitches, frame rate, and everything else, and I am rating this game solely on my experience. I didn't have any problems with co-op, glitches, bugs, or anything. This game ran very smoothly. The frame rate did dip a bit when there is a lot going on on-screen with the NPCs, but nowhere near enough for me to stop playing! The graphics are crisps, even at 900p, and the city of Paris is gorgeous and ripe with activity. It's the reason why I haven't finished the game yet. The story is very intriguing, and I'm not giving away any spoilers or anything, but it really does make you think harder about the conflict between Templars and Assassins, as I'm sure AC Rogue is doing as well. The parkour is a much needed update. Not that it was bad before, but it is more fluid. You don't have to jump off a building and pray you have enough health to survive the fall, nor do you have to search for a haystack. For once, I enjoy moving from building to building. The gameplay is harder. It makes you rethink your decision to storm a building or cathedral until you have the necessary abilities/equipment. I found myself to be stealthier than before, which isn't a bad thing. The co-op isn't bad, either. The first and only time I played co-op was on Black Flag and I quickly stopped doing that because I got tired of dying quickly. On Unity, I greatly enjoy it, and there are missions that better to tackle on with a friend or two.
I know how Ubisoft is taking a huge hit because of no female assassins (ever heard of Liberation?), resolution (900p isn't bad), frame rate (30fps isn't all that bad if it can be steady), and probably more because some just don't like them. The game ran smoothly for me and that's why I'm giving it a 10. If you're wary of the bugs/glitches, or SO CONSCIOUS about frame rate, then it might be best that you wait until Ubisoft has patched up all the patches possible. As for me, I'm going to keep playing it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed Unity
One-trick-pony: Recycling at its Best
Posted on:3/26/14
Good premise but I'm getting a bit tired with the old themes. It was awesome to play the Ezio series (specifically AC2 and Brotherhood) but after that everything seems to be carbon copies with a slightly different landscape. I was skeptical about Black Flag but Ultimately that was way more fun than the last two games because it was so drastically diferent (vibrant and fun). I want a newer experience. It would be cool to play during one of the World Wars or during the Cold War or (one of my favorite premises) during the Edo/Meiji period of Japan. I think it would be AMAZING to play as a spy or samurai or ninja or something. I just want to be taken somewhere new and great. A change of pace, scenery, and style is well overdue with this series.
61 of 111 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CheezyWabbit
OK
 
Please wait while more information about CheezyWabbit is loaded.
Additional information about CheezyWabbit could not be loaded.
Posted 7/22/14
I am quite glad it won't happen. The last thing this series needs is to throw an assassin onto the Normandy beaches with an M1 Garand or anywhere in the world wars for that matter... yeah not exactly the kind of AC game I would want to play.
Customer Avatar
firebird6988
 
Please wait while more information about firebird6988 is loaded.
Additional information about firebird6988 could not be loaded.
not gonna happen
Posted 3/28/14
if you would have spent time in abstergo in black flag, you would know they already shot down any modern day games. they said in a report (a file from an abstergo computer) that they have a problem in the animus, they said the memories mess up when entering a vehicle. so any notion of an AC game with automobile's have been shot down by montreal
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed Unity
This game looks amazing
Posted on:3/22/14
Location: South Dakota, SD
I hope its alot like ezio auditores' story. I've played every single one of the Assassin's Creed franchise's games and I'm in love with them. I can't wait to see what they have in store for us this time!!! Hopefully they won't upset with a bad ending again though!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
45 of 62 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Korrak
Orlando, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Korrak is loaded.
Additional information about Korrak could not be loaded.
Wooot!
Posted 3/24/14
Can't wait for Unity! Looks amazing :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Do not buy .... YET!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/14
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game has potential, if they fix all the FPS problems and some control mechanics issues. Therefore, do not buy it just yet. Wait until people are saying they are much happier with it, or you just may experience a repeat of what happened with Watch_Dogs and how quickly it got old. The game is nice enough, however, if you're looking for an amazing story, look elsewhere. The story is decent, but not amazing. The framerate issues are the main thing killing this game. Releasing a game with these graphics, and having the game run at practically 20fps makes the project feel incomplete. Feels like another rushed release. The music is great. The voice acting is as good as in the past games. The controls sometimes fail and you will fall to your death a few times for no reason, but that's about it. Like I said, wait until it gets a few patches before buying it. Meaning... wait until Christmas time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Assassin's Creed Unity
On the verge of greatness, but... Lazy
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/14
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Assassin's Creed Unity is a beautiful game. Never before in an AC game has the setting been more lively, and populated. AC has done its usual magic and created a wonderfully interesting Parisian playground for me to stab people in. Sadly, this is the limit of my admiration, and in reality, this just hardens the blow. ACU is not a bad game, but it shows all the signs of being a rushed job of near DA2 proportions. This game created controversy from the start with a locked 30FPS, but that's not the real problem as you'll be hard pressed to reach 20 on the most powerful of gaming machines. Aside from the clearly poor optimization, I believe the excessive crowds are simply too large a power draw for the game to handle in its current state. BUGS, BUGS everywhere, throughout your play through you will fall thru the earth, Be discovered in haystacks, get stuck in haystacks, be unable to attack in the middle of combat, enemies will fail to spot you out in the open, Civilians will change their character model as you get closer, and in my case, Arno will engage the enemy with what I think was a cup from a previous cut scene. Unity, while completely deserving of its criticisms, deserves some praise, but only a little, it has a nice soundtrack and the voice acting and historical characters are fun as always. But back to critique, The story feels like a poor French Ezio reboot of conspiracy and revenge. The story isn't "bad" its simply predictable and painfully average. Arno while starting off a charming rogue, upon becoming an Assassin immediately becomes a vindictive stereotype, and the Templars... boring. The enemies, even the main villain have zero buildup and character and felt like an extended assassin contract. Side activities are PLENTIFUL, but suffer like Watchdogs in that they are quantity over quality. Of the plethora of things to do, you'll enjoy maybe 1/10th of them, the other you'll play once and ignore thereafter. Micro transactions: EVERYWHERE, you need Uplay points to open some in game chests, my verdict? UPLAY must die. I paid for your game, I have no desire to pay you more to open a box. Economy: Broken, do the theater missions and you'll be swimming in francs like a good homicidaly insane nobleman in no time. Combat: Counter's gone, finally. Too bad the enemies are as incompetent as ever before, but my my the animations are pretty. FINAL VERDICT: The bugs and poor design choices kill the game and distract you from whatever the game does right. Its hard to immerse yourself in a beautiful world when your constantly stressed about how at any moment you might fall thru the street to your untimely death, or when you become distracted by how truly lazy and poorly made the cover system is. The good news is, that a patch can fix these, the bad news? It can't fix a lax luster story, boring enemies, and the repetitiveness of an aging franchise.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Horrible Change in Game Production
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/14
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
It's unfortunate to say but this was a very disappointing game. I wish I could finish the story, so I can stay caught up with the AC franchise but the game play was too complicated. Some complained about how easy it was to fall or how difficult it was to climb. I actually found it fun and helpful, once you get use to the 'finger management' of your control and the game play. In all the AC games before Unity, it was easy to upgrade your main character by buying weapons, crafting equipment, etc. In Unity, there were over 50 weapons to buy, which were made to seem impossible to buy without having to make a long commitment to smaller objectives. There were too many details in every aspect of the game. There were also too many smaller missions, which makes this game seem too complicated compared to the other AC games. I sure hope that their next game is much more similar to the games before Unity.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Assassin's Creed Unity
The most disappointing game played
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/15
I like assassins creed I absolutely loved black flag. I thought the use of a ship to traverse different areas was the most amazing inovavtion to the as asassains creed series. That aside black flags game play was very fluid. This is not only the largest area unity fails in its truly horrendous. I waited 9 months to buy this game because of the bugs reported in it hoping they had been fixed. As soon as the game started I was walking thru roofs not on them. I found the character at times has a mind of his own leaping to his death when no buttons were pressed. This is the best free running series to date which is why this game Unity needs to be slammed. The game play is clunky consistently killing enemies by stabbing air. The additional blood only made some of the fighting realistic until ur watching engines bleed when your finishing move has only jump stabbed the ground and not an opponent. I was disgusted and felt truly let down by the studio that brings us assassins creed. They should take note from the creators of black flag and add more open world innovations such as a main vehicle. If it's broke don't fix it. But don't make a game taking such giant leaps backwards. It's more about game play then graphics. Take note from your other studios who made far cry 4 with little to no bugs.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 19 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Probably the worst of the series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/14
Location: Kyle, Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Don't get me wrong, the story line was a good catch. But when it comes to actual gameplay and the fluidity of it, it's a total failure. I haven't seen any other games with so many bugs/glitches, aside from the UNFORGETTABLE launch Ubisoft made. Servers were down for almost a week, players reported game crashes worldwide, I myself had to RESTART my whole game due to corrupted files, not including the close call of my whole system being corrupted, I can now say this game was the ruining of the Assassin's Creed series. In my opinion, the first game would beat this one 9/10. The combat is terribly poor, so many aspects from the other games were not even introduced, the special armor is LITERALLY a black version of Altair's robe. I seriously can not talk up this game, Ubisoft dropped the ball BIG time. Overall and personally, I'm dissatisfied and could have spent my money else where.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 20 for Assassin's Creed Unity
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/14
Location: South Jersey
This is the best video game I have ever played. Period. Despite its glitches and occasional frame rate slow-down, it's still the most visually-impressive game I have EVER encountered. I've easily played 20 games now on PS4, and this is the only one that even comes close to feeling truly "next gen" in my opinion. Maybe the story is too educational for most gamers. The historical context is not only accurate and intriguing, but it's woven into the game seamlessly, in a manner even the best Hollywood screenwriters would be hard-pressed to achieve. The depth and realism of 1790's Paris is an accomplishment worthy of awards, accolades, and awe. I'm utterly shocked at all the negative press this game has received. As I mentioned, the game certainly had its flaws, especially at launch, but the jaw-dropping detail and epic scale of the city more than made up for them. Although similar to past incarnations of AC, the solo missions are interesting and fun to play, and the multiplayer missions are groundbreaking and unique. I can't say enough good things about this game, and I eagerly await the release of Dead Kings.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>