GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS4 Intercooler

Reduces ambient air temperature by pushing hot air away from the console using the PlayStation 4 Intercooler from Nyko.
Average Customer Rating:
6.333
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 1258%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS4 Intercooler
Review 1 for PS4 Intercooler
Works as advertised, suprisingly
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
SvperXero1
Location: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Works as advertised! I was surprised this thing was quiet, like really quiet when operating. I had bought a Nyko intercooler for my PS3 Fatty and that was very noisy. But it worked and prolonged my PS3 for 6 years so I put up with it until my fatty eventually died. I don't know why other ppl are saying this is noisy, maybe they need to return theirs and exchange it for a new one. But the one I got ran quiet with a barely noticeable hum, turned on when the system got hot and the design fits the PS4 like a glove. I would definitely recommend this product and if you got a noisy one, return it and get one that works!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for PS4 Intercooler
Clarification
Posted on:8/18/14
B1NGA
Location: VA
Like many of you, i'm interested in this product to hopefully help extend the life of my PS4, especially since I bought mine on day one. I've been following this product since it was announced and the delays are ridiculous. I believe it has been pushed back 6 or 7 times at this point. To be fair, we want the product to fit well and work as advertised, but the delays are frustrating. I actually emailed NYKO, and here was their response (on July 3rd)..."Nyko takes pride in releasing products that match our customers’ expectations of a Nyko product, and our expectations. Since the Intercooler connects directly to the back of the PS4 we take great care to make sure the fit is as seamless as possible, requiring us to make millimeter level changes to our design for the best fit and look. In addition, we test all of our Intercooler products internally and externally, to ensure we are achieving the desired cooling results. These things sometimes take a little longer than we originally anticipate, hence the delays in releasing the product."
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PS4 Intercooler
Noise? what Noise?...works perfectly!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/14
chrno9
Location: Houston, Tx
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Honestly, I'm surprised by how many people have complained about the "noise" of the fans. Got mine yesterday, and was very impressed with the seamless fit, and it really looks, like it was always meant to be part of the PS4. After, reading some of these reviews; I was preparing myself for a very noisy experience. Once I powered on the system....I barely heard anything! yes, there is a audible noise of fans running, BUT nothing like described by some the other reviewers. I'm starting to think that anyone who is having noise issues with the intercooler...must be placing their unit inside an entertainment unit. The purpose of this add-on was to keep your unit cool, especially when the PS4 is placed into a enclosed space. Anyone, who has done that knows how noisy that can be. My PS4 stands vertically next to my HDTV, and is not at all distracting when the fans are running. Maybe there are a few BAD intercoolers, but it does what it advertises...keeps my unit cool. Very happy I ignored the negative reviews, and bought the intercooler.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for PS4 Intercooler
Yet agean
Posted on:8/15/14
Strever
Location: Nc
I paid for this back in may when i preordered a game that was to be released after it. Now its mid August and that game ive done beat and sold. At this rate I hope its compatible with the ps5.
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PS4 Intercooler
Loud but efficient
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/14
BigBenya
Location: Long Island
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I finally received the ps4 intercooler a couple of days ago (9/1) after many delays. So I figured I'd use it for a few days to give it a fair review. The intercooler itself looks cool and it fits snug to the ps4 without adding too much bulk but it's pretty noisy when up an running. I guess that's what's going to happen when you add additional fans but I'm kinda disappointed at how loud they are. It's not a big deal once you have your games or netflix going, but it's still kinda annoying that I have to turn up the volume on my tv to compensate for the noise of the fans. That being said, these fans do a good job at sucking out the hot air from the ps4. You can really feel the hot air blowing out the back. So I know this intercooler was designed for systems that were to be housed in a cabinet where heat build up can be a problem, and if this is your intention then maybe the noise wont be much of an issue but if you plan on having it placed on the tv stand, out in the open, in front of your bed, you may want to pass on this accessory.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for PS4 Intercooler
what with the hold up
Posted on:6/3/14
gaiaxzero
Location: new york
i own this product for ps3 and it has extended my ps3 for over 7 yrs keeping it cool when it on and removing the exhausted hot air after its turn off, but for some reason every time i try to buy this for ps4 the date continues to be push back. Its becoming very tiring.
27 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Timberland
nc
 
Please wait while more information about Timberland is loaded.
Additional information about Timberland could not be loaded.
Posted 6/12/14
Think about it , I'll say it messes the system up
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for PS4 Intercooler
intercooler results
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Klipsch
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i have been waiting a while for this product,had even cancelled my preorder,then purchased it at retail store.looks great on the console,snapped rite in,only complaint it is very noisy and can be aggravating after a while.the motors on the cooler sound cheap,they r not quit at all.i even think about pulling the cooler off the console after playing a while,its that noisy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PS4 Intercooler
Excellant aesthetics, but noisy
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/14
Tubesoc
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First off, if your game console is kept in an enclosed cabinet, this product will only accelerate the heat buildup. Otherwise, this intercooler WILL lower the operating temperature of the PS4, and in theory extend the life of the unit. However, the product is extremely noisy. I took the intercooler apart. It consists of two small fans and one medium fan. The noise seems to stem from the middle fan, which from what I can tell is identical to the other small fan, but seems to rotate much faster. The noise is from the vibration, not the air flow. I ended up returning mine. I was going to swap it out, but the noise seems to be trending in customer reviews.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 9 for PS4 Intercooler
Absolute Unneccessary Peripheral!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
Solvarion
Location: SoCal
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The PS4 was specifically designed to ensure there are no over-heating problems. If you keep it in a non-enclosed area, and dust it off once a month it will last you a lifetime (10+ years) easily. If you live in the hot-desert and don't ever dust, then sure - you will need it.
The product works as intended with the exception that the additional air it forces through the PS4 carries dust and other particles with will accumulate inside on the internals, thereby causing heat problems of their own over time.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PS4 Intercooler
Don't buy...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/14
Hops
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After 2 days of use (probably literally 10 hours play time) one of the fans began to grind horribly. This led me to believe the unit would fail, possibly damaging my PS4 when it does (if it shorted). I removed it from my PS4 and returned it for a refund. Maybe I got a dud, but I'm not willing to gamble a $400 system on a $25 accessory. Your mileage may vary, but I would not recommend this device to anyone! The only positive thing I could say about this device is that it does fit on the PS4 perfectly...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for PS4 Intercooler
Frankly
Posted on:7/3/14
medcsu
Location: Sausalito, CA
Frankly I find it ridiculous that the system(s) aren't shipped with these already at the cost we pay
14 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS4 Intercooler
Looks nice, runs, decent price
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/14
Junior236894
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So this fits extremely well on to the ps4 itself. The only people that would know its there are the people who own a ps4. It is simple to install and works great with the power feed coming from the usual power cord to the ps4. My only complaint so far is that you know its there by the noise level. You can clearly hear it, if you do not care to have increased air flow and heat reduction and increase the amount of noise it makes then by all means buy this. I personally find it a little bit annoying since I am used to the ps4 making minimal noise, since I have mine close to where I use it from. They did not design this to be quiet that is for sure. Other than that this product works just fine and is a decent price.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for PS4 Intercooler
not to happy but...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/14
MisterDoc33
Location: Brownsville,Texas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I like the fan n shape. Sadly to say my ps4 still gets hot. I think it gets hotter than before! Why ps4. Fell hot air coming out from back. System hot. Stored inside shelf of tv stand. Without fan it wouldnt get this hot. With fan it gets hotter! The 360 intercooler was much better. Of it was louder.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for PS4 Intercooler
Annoying
Posted on:6/16/14
junglistt
Location: Bel Air, MD
Release date literally gets pushed back each time. At first it was 6/2/2014 then it was supposed to be today 6/16/2014 and now it is pushed back even further... What is the deal?
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PS4 Intercooler
Not Impressed with release date.
Posted on:8/4/14
Cloudstriffe
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Had the PS4 since February been looking at getting the intercooler and uh it keeps on getting pushed back! Why? This is starting to feel like Destiny keeps getting pushed back further and further. Pathetic.
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cd2120
bronx ny
 
Please wait while more information about cd2120 is loaded.
Additional information about cd2120 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/15/14
I do not understand it suppose to come out today now it the 8. 20.2014 want the problem take it off your website gamestop
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for PS4 Intercooler
ps4 intercooler
Posted on:7/1/14
nizzle81
Location: detroit MI
Release date has been moved 5 times. Take this junk off your website. Nobody wants to wait 2 months after they purchase something. do not purchase.
10 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PS4 Intercooler
Why so long?
Posted on:6/23/14
SpotPlug
Location: Mississippi, MS
I don't get why put up the date and then not gonna release the item. It has been pushing back ever since 5/27/14 and few days ago said 6/23/14 but now it turns out to be Pre-order? what?
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PS4 Intercooler
I FIXED IT!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
ThaJester89
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Day one was great, Day two I turn my PS4 on and my neighbors could hear this thing. Okay maybe not that loud but it was pretty loud... after a little tinkering i found it was one of the smaller fans making the noise so after pushing them around with a tooth pick "WHILE THE FANS WERE RUNNING" the little bugger finally got quite!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 19 for PS4 Intercooler
Fits well but has some setbacks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/14
sledgehammer
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The intercooler works somewhat but for 20$+ I was expecting a lot better. The unit fits snugly on the back and basically piggy backs atop the power plug and vent slots. The problem is the fans are too small with this setup, they make a loud buzzing sound that drowns out even my air conditioner in the room. I really don't see the super small fans lasting for too long if their maxed out trying to keep up with pulling air. I would give it a 5/10, the sum of the 5 for fitment which is dead on but minus 5 for poor choice in fans.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for PS4 Intercooler
Build your own!
Posted on:7/12/14
Icehouse86
Location: San Antonio,Tx
Listen I read all the reviews and how much people are upset about this item. You understand you can build your own for little money at all. Go buy some PC fans and a power Usb cord slice the wires on the cord and do the same on the fans. Take the power wire from each and connect them...find creative ways to make a base on the back of your ps4. I have heavy card board holding mine with some double sides tape. works all the same spent 7 bucks total.......... took about 30 mins of my day.
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>