GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Super Smash Bros.

Super Smash Bros. for Nintendo 3DS is the first portable entry in the renowned series, in which game worlds collide. Up to four players battle each other locally or online using some of Nintendo's most well-known and iconic characters across beautifully designed stages inspired by classic portable Nintendo games. It's a genuine, massive Super Sma sh Bros. experience that's available to play on the go, anytime, anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
8.683
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
13
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
36 out of 4188%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Smash Bros.
Review 1 for Super Smash Bros.
Release Date
Posted on:6/16/14
trexdrew
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Umm the release date for the 3DS version has been confirmed by Nintendo last week at E3 and it is 10/3/2014 I have taken an image from the official website and a video announcing it. Please update the website soon
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Release Date Revealed
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MXS835
 
Please wait while more information about MXS835 is loaded.
Additional information about MXS835 could not be loaded.
A Must By Game!
Posted 9/8/14
From the looks at the E3 Trailers i can say this is gonna be the best SSB game til this date. i played all 3 of the Prevous Versions on the N64,Gamecube and Wii. Im really excited for this game on 3DS and WiiU i will be buying Both of these games this Year.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Super Smash Bros.
Portable Brawling coming your way
Posted on:9/12/14
WiiStation4U
Location: Russellville, AR
For the first time ever, Super Smash Bros is heading to handhelds! Not only will you get all of the characters from the Wii U edition, but the 3DS version comes with exclusive game modes like Smash Run, something very similar to Melee's Adventure Mode and Brawl's Subspace Emissary. with a whopping roster of 51 characters, including those that haven't been announced yet, this will definitely be one of the best Super Smash Bros games to date. The only one that can even compare will be the Wii U edition. And if you also own a Wii U, I highly recommend buying both versions. If you register both games on Club Nintendo, you get the soundtrack for free!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Super Smash Bros.
THIS GAME LOOKS AMAZING!!!
Posted on:7/26/14
samurai16
Location: Oklohoma,OK
I am a huge fan of the ssb series, and this game looks like the best installment of the series!! (other than Super Smash Bros. For Wii U) I am so EXCITED for this game! \(^_^)/
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super Smash Bros.
MORE Fire Emblem?!
Posted on:7/19/14
Ephixia
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Words cannot express how excited I am about these characters! Fire Emblem has been an extravagant series thus far, and to think they're STILL implementing the characters into SSB! I'M SO ECSTATIC! Please... TAKE ALL MY MONEY.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Super Smash Bros.
Must get
Posted on:9/18/14
Miimaster1
Location: NY
I have the demo it is awesome preordered it cant wait for it just 15 more days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super Smash Bros.
A Smashing Success
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/14
GAMEmaster9
Location: Kingwood, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the very first portable iteration of the Super Smash Bros. Series, and it is awesome. You get the core gameplay that the series is known for, combined with a host of new features. With so much to do, this game has been keeping me occupied ever since launch. You are doing yourself a hugs disservice if you don't have this game yet, go get this game now!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
A match with a crazy Sudden Death at the end!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Super Smash Bros.
Best 3DS Game
Posted on:9/29/14
Kyuu
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Must get! Glad Wario's back. Ah but the problem, I don't have enough to pre-order! I'll get it soon.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Super Smash Bros.
Ness in SSB4
Posted on:6/9/14
clawz161
Location: La Grange, NC
I believe that if they do not include Ness in super smash brothers four it will be a terrible idea, if you're like me then you've been playing smash brothers since melee days and Ness has always been my favorite character to play as and the joystick on the 3DS and WiiU is PERFECT for his skillset, i will be VERY UPSET if this does not become a thing, but life will go on. Another good point to bring up is that Ness has been in almost every smash brothers game until now, he's a good strategic fighter and that's why i like him, most people hate him because of the complicated way he has to fly back onto the stage if he gets knocked off but i'm perfectly fine with that it's easy after a couple times. Up til now Ness has not been confirmed and that has made me uneasy, i have already pre-ordered the game, and no doubt i will enjoy it, but my inner child will like it much more if my favorite brawler is in it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Super Smash Bros.
E3 Best of Show!
Posted on:9/4/14
ARCADEO
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Having had the chance to play this extensively at E3 both the 3DS and Wii U versions, I have to say it holds up very well. The 3DS in particular maintains that same level of frenetic action, and having the outlines on your characters are a big help especially if you're still using the classic 3DS model. Smash Run is a fun side quest adventure when you're not feeling like jumping into a match right away, and the speed is pretty consistent throughout. I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to owning it on it's release day!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Super Smash Bros.
3DS Bundle?
Posted on:7/31/14
smashfan101
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I need to get his game being a fan of smash. My question is will there be a smash bros bundle for the 3DS. I already have a 3DS but I want a 3DS XL. A 3DS XL smash bros themed would be awesome.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Super Smash Bros.
Smash Bros. Goes to the Next Level
Posted on:5/18/14
NintendoBoy1208
This game looks great for the 3ds and has some good quality in its graphics too. I program video games in my spare time and this one looks like it has a lot to offer. I played Super Smash Bros. Brawl and LOVED it and I am definitely buying this when it comes out. I do have to admit thought that I'm disappointed the director of this game said there would be no one player adventure mode like the Subspace Emissary, but this still looks like a great game.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
SSB4 first trailer
Review 12 for Super Smash Bros.
CANT WAIT!
Posted on:4/16/14
Polo16
Location: Gautier,MS
AHH...Super Smash Bros,i cant wait!!!!this is going to be so awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I played this game on the wii Super smash bros brawl.loved playing with Ike and Capton Falcon.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Best game ever!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Super Smash Bros.
Amazing!
Posted on:9/13/14
sarkasmus
Location: San Antonio, TX
Club Nintendo emailed me codes for early access to the demo and it's amazing! I've played all the available characters (Mario, Link, Pikachu, Mega Man, and Villager) and enjoyed each thoroughly. There was only one stage and a limited amount of items/assist trophies but the demo played well. The controls are great imo. My husband hasn't played much SSB before and was hesitant to fight a veteran, but after he learned what's what, he fell in love with the game. I can't wait for the release!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
34 of 38 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
captxena31
usa
 
Please wait while more information about captxena31 is loaded.
Additional information about captxena31 could not be loaded.
love this game
Posted 10/6/14
I really like this game just got to get the hang of it and the controls
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Super Smash Bros.
Honest review! Great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/14
Jakeh
Location: Chattanooga, Tennessee
This game is perfect for: party gamers
First I'd like to say anyone giving this game less than a 6 is not giving the game an accurate review. This game plays extremely smooth, great graphics for 3ds, great sound, and plenty of characters. It's smash brothers, what more can be said. If you're on the fence about this game stop reading reviews now and go get it, you wit be disappointed. If you need to know more I'll give a few more details. My only complaints are 1. Yes the game does lag online but overall it works and is fun, maybe in te future some updates will fix this, but it's really not a reason to give the game a 1 rating. 2. When playing with 4 players the screen zooms out and sometimes it can be a little difficult to keep up with your character, once again not a reason to give the game a low rating, I mean you're playing it on a handheld system. 3. Sometimes the controls aren't perfect, I find myself doing a move I didn't intend to do. Last complaint and it's not necessarily a bad thing but all character unlocks are done by just playing the game. Not like the older smash games were you may have to beat the game on hard or with a certain character. These are the only real flaws of the game. But it is amazing to play a fresh smash brothers on a handheld. Playing with friends only increase the fun! If you are at all considering this game, take my word for it, it's worth the ful price and a ton of fun. Don't listen to the 1 and 2 star reviews. Don't go in expecting game of the year and yes smash on wii u will probably be better. But this will definitely hold you over till then!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super Smash Bros.
Fun with friends, but questionable at times...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/14
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I've always been a fan of Super Smash Bros for the most part except for Brawl, so when this came out I was really excited to see all the new characters and abilities. This game looks great on the 3DS especially for having so many details, so I'm in shock when I see complaints about it. The gameplay is like all Super Smash games, but this time around I've got to say that winning a match is questionable. They almost made it too easy for newcomers to win a game simply by getting items or using the maps to overcome they suck. Too many items are overpowered and give players an unfair advantage. Now we are all used to the Poke Balls and the Master Balls are so rare it doesn't make a difference, but this item of being able to summon a companion to me is such a unskillful way to win a match. I mean what happened to having skill to beat other players, they try to hard to put everyone on a level player field destroying any competition to get better. So I usually recommend setting up the items before a match. Other than that, the roster is huge and I'm glad they separated Shiek and Zelda because now both are epic instead of wasting a down B move. As far as the levels go, a lot have been re-mastered which is good, but some are just plain ridiculous like I said, you'll die from the map before someone hits you off. The sound is great with music from the games and the replay value is there as a good time waster or something fun to play with friends. I enjoy customizing my characters (which helps with the skill level a bit) from powerhouses to high speed ones. I wouldn't say this is the best in the franchise, but I will say its defiantly worth buying and playing with your friends because you can play others Online, but keep in mind there is no download play so everyone you play with needs to have it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super Smash Bros.
Great but not perfect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/14
Iliusive
Location: The break room
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I like my reviews to be precise and straight to the point and that's what this will be. Graphics 9/10 because some backgrounds are basic wallpapers and looks very lazy in SOME stages. Other than that most stages are gorgeous! Controls take about 1-3 hours to get use too and is fully customizable. Tons of content to unlock (characters, stages, challenges). The game modes are heavily influence on local play rather than online. (ex: smash run, multi-man brawl). Sometimes the camera will zoom far out and all characters on screen will be very small. it's a bit annoying. I've played this on regular 3ds and XL and XL by far feels more comfortable in your hands since this is a very chaotic game not to mention the big beautiful screen. Other than all that it feels like this game is missing something or feels incomplete and i'm not quite sure what it is yet.The online lag is not bad as people claim it to be. If you have a good internet provider you will be fine but if your opponent doesn't then it's another story. Nonetheless this is a very fun game to play with friends local and online.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Super Smash Bros.
A lot of fun with many hours of playtime for all
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/14
Prizeofspades
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What I think of this game is that this game is one of the best on the 3ds. The graphics are amazing as always and it always stays at 60 frames per second (unless ur in multiplayer then the lag will change that). The roster overall is great all the character are usefull in some way. Some of the old character have been buff or nerfed. Bowser link and jiggly puff are all buffed while metaknight and Olimar are nerfed (if metaknight is not nerd tell me bc I think he is).all the new character are good and have special perks for each like little macs ko punch and the villagers pocket ( the villager is one of the most annoying character because of it) The modes are all fun but a little boring after a while except smash run (do it on Radom character is so fun) the only bad things are the online multiplayer which will lag on some match all the time or on some u get none. The size of the 3ds and screen depending on which 3ds u have can be bad but I have the normal size and it's perfect for me. If u have a friend this game is even better the if ur alone. Also the smash run should be online but that's just a nit pick for me.Overall this Is i game u should get just if u have a 3ds or if u don't u should anyways.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super Smash Bros.
It's a portable smash game and it's not the Wii U
Posted on:4/13/14
Electoblaze
Location: Seattle, WA
First of all, I have to say that I was never interested in getting a Wii U. My gaming console is a PS4, and, due to the Wii U's weaker hardware and delayed games and weird controller, it just can't compete. With the announcement of "Super Smash Bros 4" I was a little sad because I knew that if it came out just for Wii U, I would be skipping this generation of smash brothers. Well, I also have to mention that I have a 3DS XL. I've always been into Pokemon, and I bought my 3DS XL nearly just for Pokemon. (Btw, Pokemon has never come out on a Nintendo TV console, so again, no need to buy a Wii U.) So when I found out that Super Smash Bros. is coming out for Nintendo 3DS, AND EARLIER THAN THE WII U VERSION (this Summer 2014) it seemed like a no brainer to get this. It's the very first portable smash brothers, which I think is awesome, since you can pull out your 3DS faster than setting up the console and cords and controller cords. GET THIS GAME if you have a 3DS and aren't interested in Wii U.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 37 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Rockymaster
 
Please wait while more information about Rockymaster is loaded.
Additional information about Rockymaster could not be loaded.
uhh pokemon HAS been on TV consoles
Posted 8/21/14
Pokemon Stadium 1&2- N64, Pokemon Coliseum 1&2- Gamecube, Pokemon Battle Revolution: Wii. Seriously.
Customer Avatar
Theface123456789
 
Please wait while more information about Theface123456789 is loaded.
Additional information about Theface123456789 could not be loaded.
AWESOME!!!!!
Posted 5/17/14
I can't wait it's going to be cool i played the other 3 I'm going to buy th wiiu wears ion and 3ds one too they both have different worlds and stuff and yes gamestop and Nintendo said the 3ds version and wii u version can play with each other
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 19 for Super Smash Bros.
Super Smash Bros
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/14
Robero
Location: Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the best portable game yet so pick it up the new stages look great and fell great i didnt like the smash run but the rest well do fine the roster is alot bigger and soon theyll annouce the return of metwo but classic mode is fun espically the master hand it brings good memories also yu can set new moves on a charcters u will have to find it at classic mode and the trophies also the cloths for miis i also i loge this game because u can customize Nd make yur own mii fighter for the first time but they improved multiplayer just a bit but its great gameplay if yu play with 2 players it also depends on the connection but they put on sondtracks from previous nintendo games it is very fun and its worth the cash!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Super Smash Bros.
Great Portable Smash
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/14
AtarasiiRei
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I heard Smash Bros was going to be on the 3DS and the Wii U, I was pretty sure I would pass on the 3DS version. Didn't think it would translate well to the small handheld world very well, and didn't have a 3DS. I found myself with a 15 hour car ride in front of me right after launch, so I went ahead and bought a 3DS and Smash Bros. It has actually been an incredibly fun game, and Smash has worked out very well as a portable game. I thought Smash Run was going to be very gimmicky, but it turned out to be a great game mode, especially if you are busy with work or other commitments. It's a ton of fun to pick up, play a couple rounds, and put back down. Somehow, Nintendo pulled it off again with this series!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>