GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console

Wii U is the next great gaming console from Nintendo and it redefines how you will play next. With its innovative new Wii U GamePad controller, it will not only introduce entirely new ways to play games, it will also transform how you connect with friends and enjoy entertainment.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
Review 1 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
What An Amazing Deal!
Posted on:5/1/14
JAT527
Location: Battle Creek, MI
This is one heck of a deal! If I didn't already have a Nintendo Wii U, then I definitely snatch this bundle up. You'd save a lot of money. A deluxe edition Wii U costs $300, Mario Kart 8 (I believe the stand alone copy will come with a Wii Wheel) is $60, a Wii Remote Plus is $40. Plus, you can get a free digital game from Club Nintendo by registering Mario Kart 8 by July 1st (need an account, but it's completely free to become a member) You can choose one of four great Wii U games. New Super Mario Bros. U, Wii Party U, Zelda: Wind Waker HD, or Pikmin 3. All those games range from $50 to $60. Buying all this stuff separate would cost around $450, but you can save big time by getting this bundle for $330 (don't forget tax though. Mind blowing deal from Nintendo. If you want a Wii U or plan on getting one for a friend or family member, then grab this system. You won't regret it. The Wii U is a fun gaming system for everyone and is also even greater when playing with friends and family locally or online. Mario Kart 8 is also a great looking game as well. I can't wait for it to launch.
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
WOW
Posted on:4/30/14
noctou
Location: florida
What a great value you get Mario Kart 8 and and Mario Wii mote and a cool red Kart wheel for basically $30.00 and a great game at that. I have been looking at a Wii U and yes I am getting it.
25 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
Great Deal
Posted on:5/25/14
MairoFan
Location: New York
I cannot wait until May 30th. I preordered this bundle a few weeks ago. The wait is brutal but I am sure it will pay off. The graphics look Fantastic.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
Excellent value, great games for full family
Posted on:4/30/14
cusman
Location: Fort Worth, TX
This review is intended to inform, not persuade you.
The Wii U hardware is about 8 times more powerful than the PS3 or Xbox 360, and based on memory size difference about 4 times less powerful than the PS4 or Xbox One.
It is also currently $100-$200 cheaper than the PS4 and Xbox One respectively and comes with a Hybrid/Tablet controller, providing some unique functionality not found on competing consoles.
Ultimately a console choice is about which games you can play on it, and whether you like its controller and other services.
On Games:
For the hardcore gamers, the Nintendo Wii U is a tough choice because while it gets sufficient great exclusive 1st party games made by Nintendo, it also lacks 3rd party support from some notable game publishers like Take-Two (Grand Theft Auto, NBA2K, etc) or EA (Battlefield, Madden, etc). That said, it does get adequate 3rd party support from publishers like WB (Lego, Batman, etc), Ubisoft (Assassin's Creed, Watch_Dogs, Rayman, etc), and Activision (Skylanders, Call of Duty, etc). It also has strong library of support from Indie game developers who are able to self-publish to the Nintendo eShop.
For people looking for family friendly games, honestly I think Nintendo consoles are really the only valid choice. They are the only ones making really good quality games that are appropriate for up to 4 players in the same room, and still appropriate for wide range of ages.
On Controller:
The Nintendo Wii U comes with a Controller/Tablet hybrid controller which allows for some unique game designs. Additionally it allows the player to play the console games even without needing to occupy the TV. This is a great unique feature of the Wii U for times when the TV has to be shared, while you want to continue playing.
The Nintendo Wii U also supports other controllers like the Wii Motion+, Nunchuks, Pro Controllers, and even the Wii Fit boards. If you already have any of these from having owned a Wii, they will work on your new Wii U.
On Services:
Online on Nintendo Wii U is free. This means you do not need to pay for subscription services like Xbox Live Gold or PS+ to be able to play games online.
You also have access to popular media streaming applications like Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Instant Video, and YouTube. All of these can again be used without having to pay for additional online subscription like is required on Microsoft (but not Sony) consoles.
It includes a modern HTML5 compliant Internet Browser. You can use this to search the web, and with the Gamepad having a Touch-Screen, it is easy to use on-screen keyboard like you would on a Tablet device to type in search strings, or other uses of text.
The system comes with MiiVerse application which is like a Twitter for just Gamers. Players can post into game specific communities questions for help on parts of game, or just to share their impressions or ideas. Players are also able to share their drawings done on the Gamepad touchscreen with a stylus which others can then appreciate. Nintendo even holds specific drawing competitions in the Art Academy community so it is something that definitely adds a lot of community value.
...
Bundle specific value @ $30 additional cost
32 GB Wii U Deluxe with Digital Deluxe Promotion
- Whatever game(s) the $300 deluxe bundles currently include
+ Mario Kart 8 + Mario Wii MotionPlus Controller + Wheel Accessory
+ Free additional game offer if register Mario Kart 8 with Club Nintendo
Free additional game offer choices
New Super Mario Bros U
Pikmin 3
Legend of Zelda - Wind Waker HD
Wii Party U
Club Nintendo and Digital Deluxe Promotion are two different rewards programs sponsored by Nintendo for when you buy and/or register games with Nintendo. Both program rewards can stack, so if you buy something from eShop, it counts for both Digital Deluxe Reward (eShop $) and Club Nintendo points. Club Nintendo points can be redeemed for special Nintendo collectible items or digital games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
29 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
BEST NINTENDO CONSOLE EVER!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/14
JoeyBear
Location: Kansas City, KA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is by far my favorite Nintendo console of all time it's maybe even my favorite of any consoles of all time! The excellent use of the Wii U Gamepad allows for a futuristic version of play never before seen except for maybe on the Sega Dreamcast. This is the first ever system that I have found that has no MAJOR design flaws. It has a wide variety of games for any type of game lover and I would and have recommended it to all my friends. If you're thinking about getting this I would say hands down get it!!! It is definetely worth $300 maybe even more...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
If You Are Going to Get a Wii U, Get This Bundle!
Posted on:4/30/14
Jellyfish99
Location: Pollock Pines, CA
The Wii U is a fantastic console. It has many excellent games such as the upcoming Mario Kart 8. And many of the excellent games for the Wii U include fun and enjoyable local multiplayer modes. Local multiplayer is something that has, sadly, been missing from a lot of newer games. It truly is unfortunate that so many games nowadays don't include a local multiplayer mode for you and your friends to play together in the same room. Nintendo, however, still continues to include local multiplayer in many of its games, such as Super Mario 3D World, Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze, and of course, the upcoming Mario Kart 8. This is something that makes the Wii U a worthy purchase. The Wii U makes a fantastic console for not only local multiplayer, but single player and online multiplayer as well. If you already own a PlayStation 4 or Xbox One, you may think that a Wii U is not worth your time. That is simply not the case. The Wii U has many great games that provide fun experiences, just like the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One do. Now, consoles do cost a lot of money. Those who already own another console likely spent a lot of money on that console. I understand. The Wii U is a lot of money for a second console. However, for the great local multiplayer experiences you can have with your friends and family, the Wii U is totally worth it. And let's be honest. While the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One are excellent consoles, there has been a lack of great local multiplayer experiences on both. The Wii U actually has several fantastic local multiplayer games that are fun and enjoyable for everyone in the family. If you don't own a next-gen console yet, you may be deciding between the PlayStation 4, the Xbox One, or the Wii U . All three are excellent choices. But you may have heard some negative things about the Wii U. If you think the Wii U is a bad option, that is not true. The Wii U may not be as powerful as it's competitors, and it may have less third-party games than its competitors, but it is still just as worthy of a purchase as it's competitors. The Wii U is a quality console with quality and fun games. The Wii U provides just as many innovative and useful features as the PlayStation 4 or Xbox One. The Wii U is a fun console that is worth your time. If you decide that a PlayStation 4 or Xbox One is a better option for you, that is fine. But please remember that the Wii U is a great option too. No matter what people may say about it, you can not truly judge the Wii U until you try it for yourself. And if you decide to spend your hard earned cash on a Wii U, this Mario Kart 8 bundle is the one to get. Mario Kart 8 will be a fun and amazing game, just like Mario Kart games before it. Mario Kart has always been a great game to play by yourself or with friends and family. If you decide to buy this Wii U bundle, you will probably find that it is a fun console, and you will find that the game that came with it is well worth your time too. Mario Kart 8 includes enjoyable and fun single player, local multiplayer, and online multiplayer modes that you will likely spend hours playing. This Wii U bundle is well worth your time and money. So if you decide to get it, pre order it soon. On May 30, I anticipate that you, I, and many others will be having fun with Mario Kart 8 and other games on the fantastic Wii U. So, should you decide to buy a Wii U, this is the bundle to buy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
28 of 35 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
LSUmc
New Orleans, LA
 
Please wait while more information about LSUmc is loaded.
Additional information about LSUmc could not be loaded.
Excellent Review
Posted 6/5/14
That was an awesome review of the Wii-U. Hopefully, it sways some people that are on the fence as to whether to purchase the system. I've had the console since its launch, and can say that my children have gotten countless hours of entertainment from it. My biggest gripe, which I thoroughly believe hurt the manufacturer as well, is that Nintendo didn't do enough to entice people to purchase the console early on. Had they released this game closer to launch, perhaps there would be more households with the system itself. If more people had the system it would be harder for 3rd party developers to skip makinggames for the console. Not having EA sports titles really irks me. And I still don't understand why they have yet to make a Super Smash Bros. or Pokemon game, which are clear differentiators that would unquestionably help sell more consoles. Anyway, this game looks awesome (been hoping for it since paying for the system nearly 20 months ago) and look forward to purchasing it in the next couple of days. The console itself is a good value and worthy competitor to the more powerful next gen. options, nonetheless, without more consumers giving it a chance the Wii-U will ultimately fail.
Customer Avatar
dogs34
 
Please wait while more information about dogs34 is loaded.
Additional information about dogs34 could not be loaded.
Nice Post
Posted 5/16/14
Nice comment jellyfish99, it made want to go out and by one, even though I have one already, you are totally right about the wii u being just as fun as ps4 or xbox one, and I have a ps4. but wii u is the most I usually get out of playing it besides my ps3 super slim. bravo on this post.. keep it up
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
The start of the Wii U reign is nigh
Posted on:4/30/14
RpiesSPIES
After watching the Mario Kart 8 Nintendo Direct I came here instantly to see if it'd be available for preorder... It is... I'm picking this up once It arrives so I can finally get started with Wii U awesomeness. The fact that it comes with 1 of 4 games for free on top of MK8 is even better ^^ Except it forces me to pick between Pikmin 3 and Wind Waker HD (the latter of which I haven't played yet). Approximately one month to go before a fantastic game releases on the only true gaming console, which will be preceded by the release of many more virtual console titles (since Golden Sun, Advanced Wars, and many other awesome GBA games are on it already, now) as well as Smash Bros and any other games yet to be announced :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
Wii for U and me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/14
RebelReviews
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This bundle is great. Mario Kart has never looked so good and the game pad controls great. The remote and wheel look amazing. The gamepad is basically a tablet the only downside to it is that it needs to charge around every 3 hours of gameplay. This is a must own bundle for anyone considering getting a Wii U or Mario Kart 8 plus a free downloadable game for a limited time what a great offer!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
Amazing...
Posted on:5/15/14
smallgamer12
I am really happy they are making a new bundle! Especially because it is very good deal. The only thing that I hope to happen, in the future ofcourse. Is for the new super smash bro's to become a bundle! I will wait for that.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
the Mario Kart 8 32GB WiiU Console Pkg
Posted on:5/12/14
MsLuigiMario72
Location: Roanoke, VA
This item looks awesome, and also seems quite promising! Can't wait to get 1 for my birthday soon!!!
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
Great Console!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/14
Jackson5
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Wii U console is extra fun. Mario Kart 8 is a great game,best Mario Kart second only to Double Dash. I also got Wind Waker HD, which is a fun game I can't put down. This was an amazing deal. Can't wait for Bayonetta 2 and Super Smash Bros.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Mario Kart 8 Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
Wii U is getting better
Posted on:4/30/14
GameSeeker14
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
This bundle includes a free downlaod game that you redeem on Club Nintendo. Decent bundle, I'd still buy a PS4 though :(
3 of 86 found this review helpful.