GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

T80 RS PS4/PS3 Officially Licensed Racing Wheel

The Thrustmater T80 Racing Wheel is the first racing wheel officially licensed by Sony Computer Entertainment America (SCEA) and it is also PlayStation 3 (PS3) compatible. A racing wheel designed by Thrustmaster has two purposes - to enable users to experience sensations that are even more realistic than with a controller and to provide them with a device that will hone their racing performance. The T80 Racing Wheel fully coincides with this approach. Designed for the PS4 system and compatible with the PS3 system the T80 Racing Wheel offers Plug & Play connectivity with the next-gen console, and provides specific features such as official SHARE, OPTIONS and PS buttons, directly accessible on the racing wheel. In addition, Thrustmaster's considerable experience with the PS3 system ensures the same high level of gameplay with this system.
Average Customer Rating:
5.667
5.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
3 out of 650%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for T80 RS PS4/PS3 Officially Licensed Racing Wheel
Review 1 for T80 RS PS4/PS3 Officially Licensed Racing Wheel
Great for price. Be sure to change the settings.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/15
GT500guy
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this wheel with some money that I got for Christmas. When I first brought the wheel home, I plugged it into my PS3, (following the instructions), and started Gran Turismo 6. As soon as my car loaded onto the track, I found that the wheel had a massive deadzone. I had to turn it about 2 inches before the car would even start to turn. Also, the pedals weren't working right. When I stepped on the gas or the brake all the way, it only registered as about 75% throttle/brake in game. I was ready to take it back when I figured I should read the owner's manual, which shows that the wheel has 3 sensitivity settings. I changed the sensitivity to the most sensitive setting by holding down both shifting paddles and pressing "up" on the d - pad (twice). Now the wheel works great and there isn't really a deadzone at all. The peddles corrected themselves when I unplugged them and then plugged them back in. Now they work great too. Chances are people just didn't take the time to read the owner's manual and play around with the settings. I have played Gran Turismo 6, Test Drive Unlimited 2, Need for Speed Most Wanted, and Need for Speed Rivals with the T80, and it works great with all of them. I also like the clamp that comes with the wheel. It is very sturdy, and the wheel doesn't move around at all. So, if you don't want to spend $500 on a T500, give the T80 a try.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for T80 RS PS4/PS3 Officially Licensed Racing Wheel
Just wait for a better racing Wheel to come
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/14
KnightTime
Location: Chicago,IL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For $99 dollars this racing wheel is not worth it, it feels cheaply made. What I did not like is the pedals they feel too small, it is made more for little feet or little kids which is find but it's not for big feet or older people on top of that they could of made this way better with a stick shift gear and a clutch to get that real racing feel, but since sony has been complaining that they sold the ps4 too cheap they been making there new products cheaply made. This had good potential but maybe it was released too fast I mean the game that this is made for doesn't even coming out until October. All that aside I used this for Need for speed rivals and works good but the wheel has noting else to it. This could have been 20 to 30 dollars cheaper but because it is made for ps4 I can see why its 99 dollars I would wait for a better wheel to come out but if you really want one and can stand the tiny pedals then get this wheel cause it is still fun to use for racing games!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
14 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
BoTDU
No. Calif USA
 
Please wait while more information about BoTDU is loaded.
Additional information about BoTDU could not be loaded.
ThrustMaster T300RS
Posted 9/3/14
I read elsewhere that ThrustMaster's new T300RS wheel + pedal set is released in EU late Aug 2014 and will be available in North America early Sept. 2014. There are some YouTube reviews of it, sounds pretty good and T300RS is PS4 (and PS3 & PC) compatible. Downside is it is $350-$400 USD (IIRC), way more $ than T80 but less than PS3+PC (not PS4) compatible T500RS. I wish Logitech made a PS4 compatible wheel, guess Sony chose TH instead....
Customer Avatar
OMEGAxDAYxWALKER
JERSEY
 
Please wait while more information about OMEGAxDAYxWALKER is loaded.
Additional information about OMEGAxDAYxWALKER could not be loaded.
also
Posted 8/19/14
what the guy reviewing failed to mention is that you can buy a six speed shifter and pedals with the clutch ...they are all compatible with this wheel
Customer Avatar
dooglemcdermot
Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about dooglemcdermot is loaded.
Additional information about dooglemcdermot could not be loaded.
Don't be so negative... it's a toy!
Posted 7/15/14
I think the user reviewing this expected way more for $100 than what he got. Strange... this review is the first time I've heard news that Sony is concerned they underpriced the PS4... I doubt that that is the case. Microsoft has lowered the price of Xbox One to compete after being outsold almost 2:1. The reviewer neglects to point out it's greatest feature... It works on the PS3 and Gran Turismo 6 is a better game with this wheel in your hands then their conventional hand controller.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 3 for T80 RS PS4/PS3 Officially Licensed Racing Wheel
Great PS4 Value Wheel
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/15
InsaneDiego
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've been on the fence about purchasing a new wheel for my PS4 since my Logitech will not work on that system. I finally pulled the trigger on the T80 because I just had a very hard time justifying the cost of a T300rs. My Logitech is the DFGT and it's the bomb. Needless to say, the T80 is not as good as the DFGT. That being said however, I was really shocked and happily surprised that this wheel did exactly what I wanted. I play Driveclub and my times were being smashed left and right in just the first day using the wheel. Would an extra $300 for the T300rs bring down my times any further? Probably not by much. It would be even more enjoyable though I'm sure. But that's the point of this review. This wheel makes Driveclub really fun and I'm looking forward to the next set of racers coming out this year.
Pros:
- Affordable
- Sturdy
- Slashes times vs. the controller
- Makes driving super fun
- Firm Brake Pedal
- 240 degree rotation
Cons:
- No Force Feedback
- No Vibration
- Pedals must be secured somehow to avoid slipping
- 240 degree rotation
Let me talk about the product itself since information is a bit scarce on it.
There is no Force Feedback nor even Vibration for the wheel. While I would love to have both, it's not necessary to achieve the goal of having fun and slashing times. If you can live without these two features then I think you'll be really happy with the wheel.
For some reason all the specs say the wheel has a 12" diameter. Not even close! It's 9 1/2". Smaller than the DFGT at 11". So it's kind of small in the hands. It has a very rubbery feel and overall seems nice.
The wheel only turns 240 degrees which means if your hands are at 9 and 3, you can turn it so your hands are at 1 and 7. I actually like that more than I hate it I think. It means I don't have to turn so hard and I'm finding the sensitivity of small adjustments in steering are fine. I have unsuccessfully navigated tight turns but I don't know that having more rotation would have helped or not.
The wheel uses a bungie cord instead of Force Feedback. It's got a nice consistent tension on it and I like it a lot more than I thought I would.
Lots of complaints about the pedals on the net. The pedals are much firmer than the DFGT. You have to push reasonably hard for the gas pedal. I'd like that to be much less forceful since it's usually all the way down! The brake pedal though is even firmer and that's actually nice. I can rest my foot on it and not have it depress so it's actually a bit more comfortable to drive than the DFGT from that aspect. The pedals have no grip on the bottom so they will slide a bit or a lot depending on your style. Find a way to anchor them and you'll be good.
I'm sure I'll always be thinking about having a T300rs but what I really need is a wheel to slash times and this is fitting the job.
Oh, and one word about the sensitivity settings you may read about. Those ONLY come into play for games that don't recognize the wheel as a driving wheel. Thrustmaster calls it Race Mode vs. Game Mode. Driveclub sees the wheel as a wheel so nothing needs to be done. Most other games, NFS, Gran Turismo, etc. will not see it as a wheel and you have to simulate it like a controller. In THAT mode (Game Mode) is where you have to change the Sensitivity settings. So Project Cars, Driveclub, The Crew etc. will require no adjustments.
If you've been sitting on the fence, you know what a wheel can do for your enjoyment and times, and you are too snobby, pick up this item and I think you'll be happy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for T80 RS PS4/PS3 Officially Licensed Racing Wheel
Waste of Money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/14
DiRtyRob
Location: Seminole, TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I remember back in the days of the original Xbox or the PS2, when someone wanted a racing game, they never thought to get a racing wheel because they were complete garbage. Turns out many years later, things aren't so different. The T80 has all the usual problems that cheap racing wheels have. It has a horrible dead zone even at the highest sensitivity, and feels like a cheap piece of plastic. This is no different than the racing wheels from 10 years ago. I attempted to play DiRT 2, DiRT 3, and NASCAR 2014 with this wheel. Every single game was complete trash with this wheel. Racing games require reaction times being very very very minuscule but with this wheel, and the dead zone that it has, your quick turn to the left won't register until you've passed the dead zone of nearly an inch of turning. In NASCAR, when you're coming up to a turn, you'd better start turning earlier than your instinct tells you or you're going to end up in the wall. The wheel just simply doesn't sense the motion of turning until it is too late. Games like DiRT are nearly impossible to play with this wheel because of the dead zone. Now on to the pedals, a whole different story. Cheap, as expected. Plastic, as expected. What these designers still have not figured out yet is that racing require footwork between brake and gas pedals but they still seem to forget that there is such thing as physics. So when you push the gas pedal a little too hard, or you push the brake pedal a little too hard, the pedal assembly will slide right around and cause you to stumble for the accelerator, which combined with the dead zone of the cheap steering wheel, ends up putting you in the wall or taking a whole pack of cars into a nice pile up. I would not recommend this wheel to a 5 year kid who just wanted to play around with racing...it's that much of a piece of junk.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for T80 RS PS4/PS3 Officially Licensed Racing Wheel
Do not buy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/14
BigD2014dd
Location: Alabama
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
if this is the best Thrustmaster can do sim racing on playstation is dead. I bought this wheel for my ps4 because logitech isnt supposed to be compatible with the ps4. if logitech isnt going to work on this system im selling my ps4 and buying a gaming computer to play project cars and IRacing so i can use my GT driving force racing wheel.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for T80 RS PS4/PS3 Officially Licensed Racing Wheel
great budget wheel
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/14
nicepanda08
Location: clovis,ca
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
love the wheel but the pedals slide around, the pedal base has a rubber bottom but dose not have enough weight to stop it from moving.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.