GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare

Call of Duty®: Advanced Warfare, developed by Sledgehammer Games (co-developers of Call of Duty®: Modern Warfare® 3), harnesses the first three-year, all next-gen development cycle in franchise history. Call of Duty®: Advanced Warfare envisions the powerful battlegrounds of the future, where both technology and tactic have evolved to usher in a new era of combat for the franchise. Delivering a stunning performance, Academy Award® winning actor Kevin Spacey stars as Jonathan Irons - one of the most powerful men in the world - shaping this chilling vision of the future of war.
Average Customer Rating:
7.738
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
11
8 stars
9
7 stars
4
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
46 out of 6175%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Review 1 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Same ol thing with a more junk.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/14
Iaddedanick
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Campaign was normal old COD. You have the same game play except a couple of new abilities. The enemies are predictable and come from every where. There's a lot of seen it done it in this game. Your character must get knocked out and picked up every 5 minutes it seems. There's a lot of those scenes where you are just walking and watching things happen. I like to call it filler. If you like a icon flashing on your screen to push a certain button then this game is for you. The graphics looked the best I have seen on the PS4 though. I was just expecting to be blown away. The Hype machine got to me once again on a COD game.. Multiplayer is Fast paced but once again they can't figure out the match making. I played 5 games and will be trading the game in or selling it.. The double jumps and cloaking just made the game even more annoying on line. I must be getting old cause I don't want to be a whipping boy till I can get classes set up again. Done that enough in the last few COD titles..
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Good but lacking content
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/14
TresO
Location: U.S.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
With our expectations set high year after year with Cod it's very easy to pick out the little things that we as a gaming community feel they could have done to prove the game. This year Cod made a lot of risky moves with their gameplay. For me personally I like the feel of the fast paced exo suits added to the constant run and gun gameplay. Unfortunately I must admit it is very similar to the style of multiplayer Crysis has put out for years just not with all the Nano suits abilities. Other than that the story was very solid with consistent action and drama. The only complaint I have with the story is that it is very short and can be beaten within a few hours. This seems to be getting way to consistent with Cod lately as well as other games where the story lines have been pushed aside. Lastly we were promised an "Epic new co op mode" months ago but were given the same Survival mode as Modern warfare with the exception of the Exo suit. There is going to be a zombie mode completely different from Treyarch zombies but we may not see that till late Dec.to Jan.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
No, thank you.
Posted on:5/2/14
irokk86
Location: Houston, TX
Call of Duty has lost the true value of an FPS franchise. The repetitive storylines and the SAME future-based rubbish that they keep doing year after year is just pathetic. The last memorable Call of Duty game I played was Black Ops (1 & 2 ). MW3 was garbage, and Ghosts is OK not even that good. Personally, I think it comes down to the developers creating these games. So far my favorite is Treyarch. Sledge Hammer and Infinity Ward just don't do it for me as far as online functionality, weapon selection, loadout and customization options. I will pass on this year's offering, since Activision seems to be doing the same thing every year. Hopefully they will learn from this mistake and make improvements to next year's cycle which will bring Treyarch back into action. Until then, I will remain a loyal fan of Titanfall on Xbox One and Watchdogs on PS4. To everyone out there: do not let Activision steal your money, rent the game first and if you like it then buy it. Don't waste your money, seriously.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
31 of 66 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jonmac1
 
Please wait while more information about jonmac1 is loaded.
Additional information about jonmac1 could not be loaded.
Posted 5/3/14
you do know this is sledgehammers first online game raven made mw3 online
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/14
dusty12345
Location: Washington, pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was a little scared of getting the new one after ghost but I'm extremely happy with this game developers have done an amazing job.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Not This Time
Posted on:6/3/14
nascarfan24
Location: NC
Regardless of who the developer has been, they have not learned from their mistakes. Ghosts was the worst Call of Duty I've ever played and I can almost bet that this will be the same as the last several CoD's. The only thing I've enjoyed about CoD is the campaign. Multiplayer has been directed towards (in my opinion) people under the age of 15. That's all you seem to play with anymore. There's no respect online anymore. Online itself has gotten too complex and there's way too much useless junk that can be removed from online. If it were me, I'd go back to the basics and go from there; cause it was simple basic things that made CoD such a great franchise. WaW and Moder Warfare were simple, fun, and competitive. Now all players care about is trolling, camping, and making the game unenjoyable for others. Until things change and go back to the way they used to be (which is doubtful) I'm hanging up the guns and retiring from CoD and I suggest that a lot of others do the same.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Not good
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/14
zachs7
Location: Metropolis, IL
This is honestly the worst Call of Duty I've ever played. This could not have came out at a worse time with both new Assassin's Creed games, Lords of the Fallen, Master Chief Collection, and Grand Theft Auto coming out this month. This is actually the first game I didn't like on the new consoles. It's like Call of Duty Ghosts meets Destiny in the ultimate of screw-ups. I highly doubt this game was even tested before coming out because the game glitches offline and most sights are off. Even the 1.01 update did nothing to help this. I would imagine a game that takes up 49gb of my PS4's 500gb hard drive would have been way better. All in all, it's a disappointment to the Call of Duty series.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
solid
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/14
skipper5574
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alright, so this game isn't really like any other call of duty, I use to be a MLG gamer, I was sponsored by monster, and such for ghost, now in my opinion ghost is better, ghost was a great game in my opinion, I don't know why people came down on it so much, for the old GEN the game stunk, but for the new GEN they were great, but in AW, its so different, its like its own game nothing like call of duty, I wish they made this game and call of duty made a real call of duty game. when I play this most of the time I end up yelling at the TV because this game is crazy I honestly shot at a guy with my clip at 48 bullets, and it went down to 25 and I got all hit markers, then the guy turns around and shoots me in the foot with three bullets and kills me, now that's why I get really ticked off at this game, but after a little while I started just to relax a little and such and now im getting around 40 kills and around 10-20 kills, so yeah, in my opinion the ps4 version is better then the xbox but I have both and the people on ps4 are so much better, they use so much more team work and its like a big family, xbox all they do is fool around besides if u find a real person.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
A Near-perfect 2010s Call of Duty Experience
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/14
ronniedonnie719
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At this point in time, Call of Duty has seen its fair share of games that take place in the future. Also, by now, most of us have grown weary of it. But then, Advanced Warfare happened. Here, we have future warfare that we can believe will exist someday. It isn't too sci-fi. It's just enough. The incorporation of the Exo adds new depth to Call of Duty's traditional multiplayer AND single player experience with abilities like a double jump and quick dodge among other Exo abilities. Scorestreaks make their return from Black Ops II as well as the "Pick" system. Single-player story is well done. Graphically, it looks amazing. Never has a Call of Duty looked this nice. No expense was spared in order to guarantee that Sledgehammer's debut as a lead developer of Call of Duty is one that will be remembered, High recommendations!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Best Game That I've Played By Far
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/14
AyeeAnt14
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best Call of Duty I have played yet. I played Black Ops 1, Ghosts, and now AW. However, I do think they should add more guns and better SMGs. I love the graphics and the multiplayer gameplay. That exo-skeleton suit and super punch is very useful and great. As well as the boost jump. This game is A-W-E-S-O-M-E and I suggest you buy it if possible.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Almost a fully polished CoD release
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/14
NephilimRising
This game is perfect for: party gamers
First, from a viewing perspective, this game is beautiful. It looks great in cutscene and in game. The sound is extremely well done, the sounds of the guns, the boost jump, and the footsteps are great. The mechanics of this game are also extremely smooth.......when not online. This games greatest flaw comes from its most important aspect. The multiplayer suffers hugely in this game. The bullet tracking and the amount of general lag makes multiplayer extremely frustrating and takes away from every other aspect of the game. The reason gameplay and lasting appeal get such low scores from me is because of the extremely poor multiplayer experience. I would suggest trying a friends copy first if possible because the multiplayer lacks even when on a connection that maxes what the PS4 can pull from a modem.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Call of lag: Rooftop warfare
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/14
LordWolfenstein
Location: texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is one of those times where a game is going away from what made it a great game. It is call of dutys halo reach. Stupid concept. Not a fan of constantly flying around, shooting lasers, and using powers.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
DONT HATE
Posted on:5/21/14
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
The call of duty franchise has gone through a lot of hate over the years. according to people black ops 2 had annoying parts and ghosts was just boring. to me Black ops 2 is my favorite cod in the series and ghosts wasn't bad. Now Sledgehammer games is in the fray and they are making the next call of duty in advanced warfare. To me this game looks sick. This looks like it takes place WAY in the future. awesome hi tech equipment including cloaking, scanner grenades and even exoskeleton suits are in the game. the exoskeleton suits can make you jump farther, you can grab heavy objects and even activate sticky gloves and climb walls. Kevin Spacey plays an incredible role of the antagonist of the campaign. So overall this game is shaping up to be a great game. But they should be careful, all this hi tech gadgetry can either revolutionize first person shooters or be one of the biggest busts in games.
8 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
call of duty disappointment
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/14
therealgamer12
Location: new jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok so since black ops call of duty has been sucking lately ghost was so boring I couldn't even finish it after that i was hoping they would make a longer and better one but NO they make a "modern warfare 2 copy" with better gadgets I think all u gamer's should stick with something good like assassins creed or destiny {therealgamer12}
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 14 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Refreshing game play till you reach 20+ hours
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/14
NoLongerImpressed
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think the only benefit this game has is that we are all struggling to be patient for new release games for our next gen consoles. The graphics for the PS4 version look really great, the game play however can only keep you entertained for so long. Some of the campaign objectives can disorient you and it might take multiple attempts to figure something out that is shouldn't so difficult to achieve. The writing for campaign is on average with what we have seen post-modern warefare campaign. Having a chance to watch a digital version of Kevin Spacey take the spotlight is a definite treat, I recommend everyone play the campaign at least once. After the campaign however you are now faced with multiplayer and the joy lasts only a few fleeting hours before you ask yourself "why am I doing this?" The load out system is an improvement to what we have seen from the past two titles, There are many customization options for your style of gameplay. You even get to change the look of your character but some of the items you can wear have a timer on them and only last so long. I have no idea why they would do this for a cosmetic item, its more of an annoyance than anything and not worth the time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 15 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Call of Duty Advanced Warfare is amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/14
EddardStark777
Location: Knoxville, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is my first Call of Duty game ever, but I can guarantee that this one is the best! I love the visuals, action, story, and everything about this game! It's a must buy! I recommend Call of Duty Advanced Warfare to veterans, and newcomers of this game to buy it, and enjoy it! I love it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
great game but.. no offline multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/14
saintlex07
the gameplay is really good, graphics excellent, story mode perfect with a lot of work, what i dont like is that theres no offline multiplayer other than survival, i enjoyed a lot in my ps3 cod games playing with my friends killing each other, hope next games fix that.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 17 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Seems Decent
Posted on:5/2/14
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
Lets be honest all first person shooters that have been out the pass few years feel exactly the same like every other one that is out, although this is the series that started the FPS craze and usually is the best a lot of people hated the last COD Ghost I really enjoyed the story mode but felt very disappointed when playing online noting really new and all the good stuff was in the season pass without it made the game feel like it was a half of a game making you forced to buy the season pass to get the full experience and not "extra", there is no doubt that they will have another $50.00 season pass but I hope it feels like DLC not something that they held back to make a few extra bucks on. Also I really would like to see some kind of zombie mode or aline mode like in the previous COD games as that is usually the best part of the games but a different studio is developing this so lets see what they will bring!
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ProfessorB
 
Please wait while more information about ProfessorB is loaded.
Additional information about ProfessorB could not be loaded.
Good Points
Posted 5/3/14
Well what I do is get the Hardened Edition because you actually save in the long on the season pass and on the DLC. And it usually comes with a little more as well. And we might be getting another Spec Ops mode this time. The reason I say this is because the 2 games slegehammer worked on (MW2 & MW3) that was the extra mode. Treyarch does Zombies and now it looks like Infinity Ward has started doing theirs with aliens. Thats just my guess if it follows suit. Maybe since its Advanced it will be against high-tech machines and robots. One more thing, the games should progress even more now since each studio has 3 yrs to work on it instead of 2, not to mention now designing for Next-Gen systems first.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
New name, Same Product.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/14
MrGT7
It's the same old CoD (Before Ghosts and Black Ops 2). A good run and gun shooter that at times can look and feel pretty good. But that is all the game has going for it. The game is was overhyped with the news that Sledgehammer was heading the development. The game isn't terrible. It is actually pretty solid for an arcade shooter and can be really fun with friends. BUT it isn't the game changing experience everyone was promised. What the title needed was game changing ideas for the franchise, like FoV settings or updated sounds that actually help the player feel that they are actually there. Until something fresh comes to the table for the Call of Duty franchise I fear that it will be stuck in the constant annual loop of average games.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 19 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Worth it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/14
DarkKnight77
Location: Dallas, tx
This game reminds me of Black Ops 2. I love the maps! This is more video game-ish vs Ghost; not arcade. Online players should enjoy this. I gave it a 9. It's the same game as others. If you like the franchise than you should love this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 20 for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
A game worth buying it's amazing PLEASE BUY PEOPLE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/14
LittleJohnny2585
Location: Columbus, Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a very good game. I would buy a million times. I cant even play my previous Call of Duty games because, the exo suit and everything is do future like. I would buy this game if I were you and I am speaking from a os4 stand point.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>