GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

NHL 15

NHL 15 brings together a generation of EA SPORTS innovation into one complete hockey package. New to the broadcast booth are Mike Doc' Emrick and Eddie Olczyk as they call the game in the most jam-packed hockey experience ever.
Average Customer Rating:
4
4
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 star
6
5 out of 1828%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 15
Review 1 for NHL 15
NHL 14 Clone
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
I bought this game with every intention of giving it a fair shake. However, what I found was a game almost indistinguishable from NHL 14. The game modes, game mode features (contracts in be a GM mode, interviews in Life the Life, etc), and even the menus are almost identical to NHL 14. I don't expect an NHL game to do anything revolutionary (after all, it's a sports simulation) but I do expect each iteration to significantly improve upon the previous year to justify another $60 purchase. However, in this case it appears that only the commentary has changed along with some collision physics have been improved.
I would consider myself a fan of Doc and the NBC team. I listen to them and am able to get excited about games I don't even care about simply because of the way Doc lives and dies with each shot or close call in every game. However, in this game they barely have the same enthusiasm as their live broadcasts. They sound almost depressed from my experience.
All in all, the graphics and game play may have made slight improvements but these changes are barely significantly noticeable from NHL 14. I give this game a 6/10 not because of any problems inherent in the game. It's score is mainly due to this being the next game in the NHL series while essentially being a clone of the previous year. If you are looking for a quality NHL game without the $60 price tag, I would suggest NHL 14. It's basically the same.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
18 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 15
Nhl 15 is one great game for the xbox 360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/14
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So lately I have been reading reviews on this game from so many people that it isn't even funny. Let me break it down for you. Everyone in general is saying that Nhl 15 is just like Nhl 14 for the xbox 360 and Ps3. I will agree and disagree with people in general and here's why. The presentation in the game is very identical to Nhl 14 and everyone has to remember that the current gen games are going to be more about the gameplay than the graphics. The reason is because the graphics are maxed out on the current gens consoles. Anyways in my opinion I like the presentation in Nhl 15 because it reminds me of how great the Nhl games are. Personally even though I like the graphics in alot of the games that I play, I care more about the game play. And yes the game play has changed, The puck now does not bounce like a tennis ball and its harder to score a goal in that game which is awesome. I like a challenge in sports game. the gm mode has been tweaked to where it runs alot smoother. Yes the same modes are in this version of Nhl 15 to where they are not in the New Gen Consoles just yet but will be coming in the upcoming patches from EA for the new gen. Personally i don't like sports games that change presentation style every single year because you get used to it in one game. Then in the next years game you have to get used to a new style of presentation and its like what the flip. Anywho what I really did like about this game is the Commentators especially Mike Doc Emerick. I think he did a great job, ya you don't hear much from the other two commentators which I'm okay with. All in all if you care about graphics then go get a new gen and stop complaining. Otherwise if you are like me and care about the game play more then go out there and get this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 15
This game gets worse the more I play
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/14
I really enjoy playing franchises or GM's when i play sports games. However as i realize on this game, the CPU is either so easy anyone can score 10 goals in 15 mins. Or it is so difficult that I can go 5 games getting outscored 20-0 throughout the series. The CPU makes un-real shots every single game and is always in perfect position to make a play, ever play. Overall the more I play, the more I see the same kind of crazy goals, or error by my team that allows the CPU to score. On a tangent, poke checking online is horrible. I play games where all I do is get chased by players using poke check and they might get one or two penalties a game, but they poke it away so many times that its worth taking the penalties. There are so major adjustments that need to be made to the next year's game. But my love for hockey is what keeps me playing these games. But for the first time in a while, I am regretting purchasing this game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 4 for NHL 15
Slap In The Face By EA
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Location: East Lansing, MI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
NHL 15 is a complete joke. The fact that EA believed that they could reproduce nhl 14 with new rosters and commentators and sell it as the a new and novel game is just ridiculous. Every facet of the game is the same as nhl 14 besides minor cosmetics i.e. player pictures, commentators and the physics tweaks that ea claims to have put in (I for one have not noticed). Main point of this review... DON'T BUY THIS GAME
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
15 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 15
Cosmetic updates great, how about game updates.
Posted on:8/1/14
Location: Houston, TX
While I love some of the updates that EA is saying this years game will have such as the addition of Mike Doc' Emrick and Eddie Olczyk on commentary and the pileups in front of the net but it will take a whole lot more to make this game close to what real hockey actually is. EA has to do more to make it where NHL goalies are not giving up all the weak wrist shot goals from the top of the circle that old men's league goalies like myself stop 99% of the time. The have to do more to make it where one guy cannot skate through the entire opposing team the entire length of the ice and score at will. Those that are making Madden talk about the updates they are doing for the defensive side of that game, those that are making this game need to address the defensive side of this game just as bad or no matter what they do to the graphics and audio it still will be nowhere close to what it should be.
Review 6 for NHL 15
Can't wait
Posted on:5/5/14
So glad I can finally get some next-gen hockey. The new commentators, puck physics, and graphics look very promising this year. My one fear is that the game will look like NBA live 14 graphics wise. Can't wait to hear mike emrick yelling goal when i score, or having the United Center look realistic, and better crowd to cheer you on. As a huge NHL fan i really want the A.I. to be smarter and play like real players. Horrendous in 14. EA don't get lazy on us by making a game with just new graphics and a roster update. Live-the-life mode was done so lazily, and HUT was terrible. I, along with several other gamers have big expectations for this game. Go 'Hawks.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BigT657
 
Please wait while more information about BigT657 is loaded.
Additional information about BigT657 could not be loaded.
Nhl 14?
Posted 9/16/14
Paid $60 for a clone of nhl 15. If you want to play with all the new features than buy a ps4 or an xbox one. Was not worth it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for NHL 15
New?
Posted on:6/27/14
Location: Orlando, FL
Same game...different year. Instead of changing the commentators and graphics...maybe work on the game play. Come on people the game is 95% identical to last year's version. Games like this and Madden should just be updates downloaded each year for $20. In no way shape or form is this game worth $60 again.
14 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 15
NHL 14?
Posted on:9/5/14
Location: NY
For the Next-Gen OMG THIS GAME LOOKS AMAZING. But you look up ACTUAL gameplay from the 360 and ps3... its NHL 14 With a roster up-date... Not worth 60$
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 15
DO NOT BUY IF YOU HAVE 14
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
for those of you who are buying NHL 15 for an xbox 360 (and possibly ps3, but i wouldnt know for sure, im just assuming) and already have 14, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. it is EXACTLY like NHL 14, exept for the commentator and new players and team ratings. you probably saw the trailer for xbox one and ps4 if you are very exited. the xbox 360 version is NOTHING like the xbox one version. i was extremely dissapointed when i played it. then i read online that since i opened it i cant return it, which dissapointed me even more. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. stick with NHL 14 if you already have it for 360 or ps3. there is no difference in game play. EA Sports didnt change a single thing besides the teams and announcer. even the graphics are exactly the same. it is not worth $60. i wouldnt even pay $10 to upgrade from 14 to 15.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 15
This Game Shows How Much EA Sports Doesn't Care
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/15
Location: New Jersey
Playing the EA Sports NHL series for years, I had much excitement for the game to be released on new generation consoles. Researching games before purchasing them is a must as they are expensive for the average college student. Seeing the bad reviews with optimism of patches to add in content brought my faith up and I finally went out and bought the game. This game was a huge disappointment, lacking everything I expected and used to play for. Being able to create your own team with so many options and then play against others with your friends no longer exists. This was so vital to many NHLers and they just did away with it. You can't even be the goalie! They could've easily just had an on/off switch. Creating a skater also gets rated very poorly for customization. You can no longer make your character look unique by editing their faces as you were able to in the past. I couldn't even put the space in my last name. This game represents EA Sports and their lack of commitment to make a decent game for their devoted customers. It is a disgrace to anyone who has been purchasing the game year after year. I've posted several comments to their online site, never receiving a response from them. Many patches have come and have barely added anything. It seems as if all EA cares about anymore is selling the next game and moving on. They presented to us amazing physics in the teaser and that is all we got.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 11 for NHL 15
No EASHL
Posted on:8/13/14
So EA is not going to include the EA Sports Hockey League in the next-gen versions because they obviously hate their community. It's a deal breaker for many.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NHL 15
Looks Slick
Posted on:5/5/14
Location: Washington DC
by the looks of the trailer, nhl 15 looks exciting for once. and with the edition of my favorite commentating team, this game looks like a good one.
8 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NHL 15
Not worth Getting
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/14
Location: Ohio
I've been playing the NHL series since NHL 10, and I have watched this game series progress in gameplay and interest, a lot. But, it doesn't seem that way on NHL15.
I put the game in, and the loading looked the same. Same start screen, it loaded... and it looked EXACTLY the same. But I wanted to see if the gameplay was promised, with Doc, Eddy, and realistic arenas and many different fan types. Started playing, and I loved the commentary. Everything else was the same though. I thought it might be different on the special edition or Xbox One. But reading the reviews, Nope.
So, in the end, I hope there is a big update or something. Because if it will stay like this, I don't know if I will get the next game. :L
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 14 for NHL 15
Great time, great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/15
Location: Denver
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I find this game to be just great. The playing is strong compared to other sports games for Xbox, maybe the smoothest, best and most accurate to real time. Lots of others give it negative comments but those are people who seem to want a super-fast nonrealistic game or have expectations that no computer game can deliver for another 20 years. And the price has come down $20 for a new game so enjoy. It's a fantastic game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NHL 15
Awful
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/14
Location: Washington DC
EA literally released the same exact game as NHL 14. I had played NHL 15 on the XBOX ONE, and loved it, so I figured I would get it for my XBOX 360. Big mistake. Not a single feature of this game is different aside from the new commentators. EA didn't even bother to make a new intro. Everything is the same. Bottom line, DONT BUY THIS GAME. IT IS THE SAME THING AS NHL 14.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 15
Terrible on 360
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/15
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This years NHL on the 360 needed way more dedication than it got. I really don't recommend this unless you only have 360!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 17 for NHL 15
Overall fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/15
Location: Lebanon, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I will agree that visually the game looks like NHL 14. However, people need to realize that hardware limitations keeps it from advancing in that department. I own a 360 only to play NHL. I played 09 for the PC until 13 and couldn't stand the outdated graphics anymore on the PC despite being heavily modded. I also couldn't stand John Hughes doing commentary anymore.
I do feel this game has a much better feel to it compared to 14. The puck seems to have a more realistic bounce and feel to it. For example, when shooting the puck wide and off the glass it has that unpredictable bounce effect to it mimicking real life. Goalies do seem much more alive as well thanks to player collisions, especially when crashing the net and bumping the goalie. Teammates can even bump their own goalie accidentally, knocking them over and leaving the net wide open for a brief second.
The puck physics are great as well. Better dump ins, deflections give it a much better realistic feel. I shot a puck off the glass and it took a weird bounce right in front of the net across the goal mouth.
Commentary is a welcome change. Being a Flyers fan, I have always loved hearing Doc call games since he was with the Flyers years ago. While some things quickly become repetitive, I believe it was a much needed change. The excitement in his voice isn't quite captured like that of his live games but does the job well.
So, while on the surface, yes, NHL 15 does look like a 14 clone. However, the real gem in my opinion is hidden underneath the surface. Look past the cloned menus and graphics and I believe you might find a game worthy of a try. While I do wish EA would bring back their sports games on PC, playing NHL 15 on the 360 is giving me my NHL fix for now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for NHL 15
Very similar to 14
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/14
Location: Philly
The gameplay is very similar to NHL 14, but the physics are slightly better and the game on a whole plays a lot smoother. I got real tired of the previous announcers because they just said the same things year in, year out ("like dogs on raw meat!"). But the announcers in this are HORRIBLE. They sound downright depressed. I'm very annoyed they got rid of the online hockey where you could just jump into a lobby with anonymous players or friends and play. Not sure why they got rid of it. All in all, I enjoy the game but I agree with a lot of other people's negative reviews.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 19 for NHL 15
Don't do it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/14
Location: Boston
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is absolutely awful. I really wish I could get my $60 back. The game is based around an "ice tilt" system where if you're good, your players are going to play bad. It's insanely irritating and I find myself close to screaming whenever I play it. It is absolutely horrendous. Don't do it to yourself, EA is a despicable company and they don't deserve a dime. They had 2 years to make this game and (not so) surprisingly it's the worst EA NHL game I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 20 for NHL 15
yf3457
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/14
Location: Niskayuna,NY
Question, Why are Mike and Eddie still sounding like computer controlled tones? During a regular game, we here mike get excited as he anticipates a goal and when a goal is scored he gets very excited about it. Also when a guy misses a great opportunity to score or a goalie makes a great save on a would be goal, Mike often goes "Ah", and "What a save" in a very loud and very excited tone. Why is the excitement of these kinds of plays being toned down? PLEASE ADD much more excitement and drama into the calls.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 2 next>>