GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

NHL 15

NHL 15 brings together a generation of EA SPORTS innovation into one complete hockey package. New to the broadcast booth are Mike Doc' Emrick and Eddie Olczyk as they call the game in the most jam-packed hockey experience ever.
Average Customer Rating:
2.833
2.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
1 out of 617%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 15
Review 1 for NHL 15
NHL 14 Clone
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
NHLEnthusiast
I bought this game with every intention of giving it a fair shake. However, what I found was a game almost indistinguishable from NHL 14. The game modes, game mode features (contracts in be a GM mode, interviews in Life the Life, etc), and even the menus are almost identical to NHL 14. I don't expect an NHL game to do anything revolutionary (after all, it's a sports simulation) but I do expect each iteration to significantly improve upon the previous year to justify another $60 purchase. However, in this case it appears that only the commentary has changed along with some collision physics have been improved.
I would consider myself a fan of Doc and the NBC team. I listen to them and am able to get excited about games I don't even care about simply because of the way Doc lives and dies with each shot or close call in every game. However, in this game they barely have the same enthusiasm as their live broadcasts. They sound almost depressed from my experience.
All in all, the graphics and game play may have made slight improvements but these changes are barely significantly noticeable from NHL 14. I give this game a 6/10 not because of any problems inherent in the game. It's score is mainly due to this being the next game in the NHL series while essentially being a clone of the previous year. If you are looking for a quality NHL game without the $60 price tag, I would suggest NHL 14. It's basically the same.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 15
DO NOT BUY IF YOU HAVE 14
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Bateman
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
for those of you who are buying NHL 15 for an xbox 360 (and possibly ps3, but i wouldnt know for sure, im just assuming) and already have 14, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. it is EXACTLY like NHL 14, exept for the commentator and new players and team ratings. you probably saw the trailer for xbox one and ps4 if you are very exited. the xbox 360 version is NOTHING like the xbox one version. i was extremely dissapointed when i played it. then i read online that since i opened it i cant return it, which dissapointed me even more. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. stick with NHL 14 if you already have it for 360 or ps3. there is no difference in game play. EA Sports didnt change a single thing besides the teams and announcer. even the graphics are exactly the same. it is not worth $60. i wouldnt even pay $10 to upgrade from 14 to 15.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for NHL 15
Slap In The Face By EA
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Anonymous
Location: East Lansing, MI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
NHL 15 is a complete joke. The fact that EA believed that they could reproduce nhl 14 with new rosters and commentators and sell it as the a new and novel game is just ridiculous. Every facet of the game is the same as nhl 14 besides minor cosmetics i.e. player pictures, commentators and the physics tweaks that ea claims to have put in (I for one have not noticed). Main point of this review... DON'T BUY THIS GAME
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 15
NHL 14?
Posted on:9/5/14
trollinsnowman
Location: NY
For the Next-Gen OMG THIS GAME LOOKS AMAZING. But you look up ACTUAL gameplay from the 360 and ps3... its NHL 14 With a roster up-date... Not worth 60$
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 15
Cosmetic updates great, how about game updates.
Posted on:8/1/14
SpruseJohnson2
Location: Houston, TX
While I love some of the updates that EA is saying this years game will have such as the addition of Mike Doc' Emrick and Eddie Olczyk on commentary and the pileups in front of the net but it will take a whole lot more to make this game close to what real hockey actually is. EA has to do more to make it where NHL goalies are not giving up all the weak wrist shot goals from the top of the circle that old men's league goalies like myself stop 99% of the time. The have to do more to make it where one guy cannot skate through the entire opposing team the entire length of the ice and score at will. Those that are making Madden talk about the updates they are doing for the defensive side of that game, those that are making this game need to address the defensive side of this game just as bad or no matter what they do to the graphics and audio it still will be nowhere close to what it should be.
Review 6 for NHL 15
Very similar to 14
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/14
tymmac
Location: Philly
The gameplay is very similar to NHL 14, but the physics are slightly better and the game on a whole plays a lot smoother. I got real tired of the previous announcers because they just said the same things year in, year out ("like dogs on raw meat!"). But the announcers in this are HORRIBLE. They sound downright depressed. I'm very annoyed they got rid of the online hockey where you could just jump into a lobby with anonymous players or friends and play. Not sure why they got rid of it. All in all, I enjoy the game but I agree with a lot of other people's negative reviews.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for NHL 15
DO NOT BUY UNLESS YOU HAVE NEXT GEN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
angryfan15
Location: illinois
This was the biggest waste of $60 ever. I bought it for 360 and it's the exact same as NHL 14. It would have been nice if EA gave a little heads up. I'm all for focusing mainly on next gen consoles, but at least give it a little effort towards 360/PS3. Not worth even buying the game unless you have a One/PS4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 8 for NHL 15
I wanted a new game, not NHL 14.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
mghf
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
All that this game is a roster update and some physics. What a waste of money! ```````````````````````````````````
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 9 for NHL 15
New?
Posted on:6/27/14
KingHockeypuck
Location: Orlando, FL
Same game...different year. Instead of changing the commentators and graphics...maybe work on the game play. Come on people the game is 95% identical to last year's version. Games like this and Madden should just be updates downloaded each year for $20. In no way shape or form is this game worth $60 again.
10 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 15
No EASHL
Posted on:8/13/14
Rhaps
So EA is not going to include the EA Sports Hockey League in the next-gen versions because they obviously hate their community. It's a deal breaker for many.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 15
breathtaking!
Posted on:8/16/14
TheNascarExpert
Location: knoxville TN
from the recent years of playing this game, NHL 15 looks 1000 times better then all of them combined. Although i think it will be a tad rusty with the new puck, jersey, and fans since they are new, which could be fixed with patches, it will be a fun game and wont lose my attention within a month. EXCITED!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Review 12 for NHL 15
Can't wait
Posted on:5/5/14
jp8574739411
So glad I can finally get some next-gen hockey. The new commentators, puck physics, and graphics look very promising this year. My one fear is that the game will look like NBA live 14 graphics wise. Can't wait to hear mike emrick yelling goal when i score, or having the United Center look realistic, and better crowd to cheer you on. As a huge NHL fan i really want the A.I. to be smarter and play like real players. Horrendous in 14. EA don't get lazy on us by making a game with just new graphics and a roster update. Live-the-life mode was done so lazily, and HUT was terrible. I, along with several other gamers have big expectations for this game. Go 'Hawks.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BigT657
 
Please wait while more information about BigT657 is loaded.
Additional information about BigT657 could not be loaded.
Nhl 14?
Posted 9/16/14
Paid $60 for a clone of nhl 15. If you want to play with all the new features than buy a ps4 or an xbox one. Was not worth it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for NHL 15
Looks Slick
Posted on:5/5/14
Nicklas
Location: Washington DC
by the looks of the trailer, nhl 15 looks exciting for once. and with the edition of my favorite commentating team, this game looks like a good one.
8 of 13 found this review helpful.