GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 15

Built to harness the power of the next generation console - NHL 15 brings hockey to life the sights, sounds and feel of real NHL action like never before. Every player is affected by real-world physics leading to multiplayer collisions and pileups through 12 Player NHL Collision Physics. NHL 15 welcomes Mike Doc' Emrick, Eddie Olczyk and analyst Ray Ferraro providing insight through revolutionary real life visuals all presented in an authentic NBC Sports Broadcast Package. This is the next generation of Hockey.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522
4.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
10 out of 2343%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 15
Review 1 for NHL 15
Been a while but im back
Posted on:8/26/14
Richw23
Location: Springfield, ma
I just played the demo on xbox one and i must say- i am finally excited about a game for next gen. This game had me smiling and remembering all the fun i had playing a game about 15 years ago called NHL RIVALS on the original xbox. This game looks great and i think it plays incredible. I havent bought a hockey game since ea sports NHL '08 on xbox 360 and was not impressed. i was not expecting too much from it this year but with limited games out there for next gen i figured i would give it a shot. Now i cant wait for september 9th to play the game and take the bruins to the cup. I plan on upgrading to the ultimate team version now having enjoyed the demo so much! I am pumped about NHL '15
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 15
a let down
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/14
MackDaddy
Location: So Cal
NHL 15 follows the disturbing trend of sports games limiting game modes. like madden and NBA 2k many game modes are stripped down or removed. for instance just like the other 2 games there is no season mode! you can play GM mode in which you can control one team only throughout a season but that is it. just last year in NHL you could play a season and control every team and play every game if you wanted to. that is what i like. I'm a wings fan so i usually play most of their games but i like to play other headline games like kings-ducks, rangers-devils etc. can't do that anymore except in exhibition. weak. luckily they just put playoff mode back in after the last patch. and of course as others have said many online modes are removed. why? just don't get why any game maker would want to take away options for their customers. otherwise the game is solid in terms of graphics and physics etc. although the sound is not great as the crowd sounds never really change even when the announcers are saying how loud it is it seems the same to me.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for NHL 15
Looks great, sounds great... same old story?
Posted on:5/15/14
Jsikula93
Location: Queens, NY
I've put in many hours playing the NHL series the last 5/6 years. I mainly play EASHL, and online versus. EASHL is a lot of fun, but it has it's core problems that can be addressed which can make the game mode absolutely dynamic. Glitch goals occur way to often in NHL 14. The same shot that goes in on every break away kind of takes away the fun of the game. I believe this would be fixed, but im sure that more glitches will be discovered. With the power of the new consoles I can't wait to see the graphics upgrade. Hopefully they can get all the licensing to get authentic arenas and goal horns. Fixing the attribute system for "My Pro" and fixing the my pro offline mode (similar to how nba 2k does it) would really improve this game. I haven't done much with HUT and GM mode, but form what I hear the computer isn't the smartest GM. I'm very optimistic for the game, and I have already begun the countdown till the game gets released! LETS GO RANGERS!!
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 15
HALF THE GAME MODES LEFT OUT ON XB1/PS4
Posted on:8/19/14
BridgettBoop
Location: NY
EA has some nerve charging a full $59 for this game when they left out all the best game modes. No EASHL or OTP really?? This game should be $39 at launch. ITS ONLY HALF A GAME!! NHL was my main reason for buying the Xbox One and PS4, now I have to play it on the 360 for another year. Thank a lot Rammer! Do yourself a favor and skip the next gen version of NHL this year. If you must buy it just wait for the game to hit the bargain bin.. Trust me this game is a dud and the price will drop quick.
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richw23
Springfield, ma
 
Please wait while more information about Richw23 is loaded.
Additional information about Richw23 could not be loaded.
I disagree
Posted 8/26/14
Just played the xbox one version and it was great. Maybe it wont have some gm mode or whatever but i also play the game to play the game. I am not a fan of needing to be a gm of a team and make an offer to a players agent and have off season meeting to acquire top prospects and so on. As far as im concerned i played nhl '94 back in the day and this is ten times the game that was but i dont wanna pay more for it. I played the demo and its a great game to pick up and play. I dont need to do somebody else's job after doing mine all day. I wanna have fun when i play almost immediately not punch a timecard to do a job and then play. Enjoy the game, it looks and plays great on the XBOX ONE
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for NHL 15
Don't waste your money
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/14
the1andonlymojo
Location: PA
First off, i am a diehard hockey fan. I love everything hockey. But, this game is an absolute disgrace. EASHL, GM connected, live the life, online shootout, and OTP are ALL GONE. If you know much about NHL online vs, you probably know about this thing called "ice tilt". Its EA's way of making less skilled players have a better chance of winning games. In 15, ice tilt is EXTREMELY obvious. I have had several games in which i outshot the opponent by over 20 shots, but they got the win because it makes it easy for them to score, and near impossible for the better player to score. It would be easier to tell you what EA did right with this game. Commentary and graphics. that it. don't waste your money!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 15
Feature-less but fun
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/14
wrc5623
Location: Wilmington, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The reason I am giving this game higher reviews that everyone else is because of the context in which I bought it. ATTENTION: IF YOU ARE A HARDCORE NHL GAMER AND LIVE IN EASHL YOU WILL HATE THIS AND SEE IT AS A WASTE OF EFFORT AND MONEY. I purchased it because I have several friends whom I play with--which to me is the most fun aspect of the game. I am not a hardcore gamer, and bought this for the party aspect--i also like to host little tournament style parties where basically 4-8 guys get together, drink too much and play hockey. This game is PERFECT for that and only that. The main problem I have is that the only way to effectively play defense against the computer is to patrol the middle of the ice instead of go after the puck carrier. Playing with friends you can attack the puck carrier and be more effective. Also, $60 is wayyy too much for the incomplete game, but alas, I paid for it during a drunken stupor when I was sick of losing so much in FIFA. If you have friends to play with (yeah right, losers) then this game is maybe worth $40. If not (like most of you) then skip this altogether, but my friends and I are having a lot of fun with it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for NHL 15
awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/14
bevos
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
don't listen to the other pessimists, this game is awesome. it is missing a few game modes, but people should get over it cause the overall gameplay is awesome. the physics are much better than any other nhl game out in the past. I am a hockey player, and i am a huge fan, this game is just getting more realistic. EA did an awesome job to develop amazing graphics, and gameplay. The arenas look awesome, especially MSG. Everyonelse i know enjoys the game just as much as i do, compared to these others who give 1 and 2 reviews because one game mode is missing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 15
No EASHL, no purchase.
Posted on:8/25/14
wh1terabb1t
Location: Illinois
This game is worthless without EASHL. The graphics do look better, but without EASHL, there's not enough here to keep me playing for more than a week. How last gen gets EASHL and next gen doesn't, I will never understand. Skip this one until EA figures out what the people want.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 15
No EASHL this year for next gen
Posted on:8/22/14
Brandun
Location: Cookeville, TN
So...it's official, there is no EASHL or Online Teamplay for Next-Gen consoles this year. EA Sports had an official press release on it stating that they didn't have time to implement it. They will still have the cash cow game mode of HUT where you can spend plenty of additional money buying card packs to unlock players...funny how that makes the cut. The reason why they left it out? It was on purpose.... or due to sheer laziness. EA Sports released Madden and FIFA for the Xbox One last year. NHL14 was held off of Xbox One last year so they could work on NHL 15 more dedicated and make it "higher quality than a rushed product". So how is it that Madden and FIFA kept all the game modes last year...when they rushed it and just modded the original game so it would work on Next Gen, yet NHL has an extra basically.... 8-10 months development on those other titles and can't even keep the game modes in? That was on purpose. More concrete evidence as to why EA was voted Worst Company in the US for 2 years in a row. I WILL NOT BE BUYING THIS GAME NOR ANY OTHER EA GAMES UNTIL THEY IMPLEMENT EASHL. It baffles me that they remove most likely the most popular game mode and definitely the one that all hardcore NHL players are drawn to. Then again...like i said, EA was voted worst company in the US for 2 years running.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 15
Garbage incomplete game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
FixThisGame
Huge let down for next gen! No EASHL? No modes? Huh?! Don't waste your money! I was hyped for this game just to be let down 2 weeks before release, this game is barebones...one bone really.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 15
Disappointing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
AHHHH
Location: West Hartford, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have always enjoyed the NHL game franchise, but NHL 15 has been a complete letdown. Graphically, it is a huge step forward, the arenas look very detailed, the crowds are fairly diverse, and the players are easily recognizable. The problem is that graphics seem to be the only thing the developers worked on. The physics feel the same as NHL 14, if not worse, the AI isn't any better, and the controls feel really clunky. HUT is basically the same besides a few UI changes. The other game modes are pretty much ruined now. In the Be A Pro mode, one of my favorites, I have not been able to figure out how to bring up the menu with coach feedback and the button to skip to my next shift (pressing a button will call the line currently out back in and your line will go, even if you are tired), so I just sit on the bench watching the AI play. In Be A GM, most of it is all the same as the others, except I haven't been able to find a fantasy draft button. Overall, this game has just been made prettier, but worse and more complicated in every other way. I hope EA will turn the franchise around since I hate to see it at such a low point.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for NHL 15
I love this Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/14
Blackhawksforlife
I recommend this game to people who love sports games. I love the way they set up this game around the NBC Sports broadcast. The graphics are good. Also if you get this game I recommend Be a GM mode I can not stop playing it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NHL 15
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/14
kapp
Location: pa
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is absolute waste of money it should be worth 10 dollars not 60 the graphics are good gameplay is terrible the cinametic is great but they made the game and left out so much its a bad game and i love hockey games
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 14 for NHL 15
Long Time Follower Ripped Off Again...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/14
JohnnyMac
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I have owned every single version of this game since it came out in the 90's and I must say over the years EA has ripped us off numerous times with cheap upgrades, little by little, year after year. Realistically this game is a demo with a few extra options, why are we paying $60.00? Having Doc call the game, its nice, however very overdue and not a game changer in terms of easing my buyer's remorse...
I played a good chunk of the regular season and all of the playoffs in Be a GM only to find out I cant even draft my own players!
EA take a lesson from Madden and realize there are intelligent hockey fans who want to develop their team through the draft with RANDOMLY generated prospects. I can only play so much online EA hockey league, oh wait...their isn't one?!
Furthermore, the game feels extremely scripted! When I play on pro mode the goals are pretty cool looking until you figure out how to score 12 per game. When I increased the difficulty to All-star, I met a strong challenge however the CPU almost never takes penalties and is able to poke check, lift the stick and block shots at unbelievable rate compared to me constantly being penalized (5 minutes for boarding happens every other game, the CPU purposely turns towards the boards or just faces the boards when you go to finish your check).
Put your wallet away or find something else to buy.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 15 for NHL 15
Great graphics and features... but...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
fortworth2714
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Do not buy this game and expect it to be like NHL14. Graphics better, features great. But, I wish the My Player/Be a Pro was just like NHL14 with the interviews, try outs, having to work to get the the first line, skip the game to next line change, actually being able to make the all star game, etc. . Wish it also had a season mode, the closest is GM and I don't like it personally. I honestly was expecting NHL14 with better graphics and features, which would of been okay, but without the modes that 14 offers I would have to say not to buy this game. I think this might be a trial to see how the Xbox One and PS4 would look on them but, what do I know? I am hoping that NHL16 will be much much better and have the modes back and etc.
The game is okay, could be a whole lot better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 15
Best NHL game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/14
Andy30989
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the quality of the games is great and i the graphics of the arenas are out of this world and any sports fan would love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for NHL 15
So Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/14
mattyboy431
Location: Piscataway,New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First of all the graphics are so good you feel like your in the game. Also the way the players move and react to shots and being hit is way better than 14. This is a complete upgrade from 14 it's what you want from a hockey game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for NHL 15
A flashy NHL14 with half the game modes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
SoundsGoodSignMeUp
Location: Ham land
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought the game to play hut. In that aspect it is fine. But other than hut i do not play the game. My buddies and i still go back to 14 for EASHL. Graphics are great and I am a devils fan so hearing Doc's voice brings back some good times. When you look at the game the things they added don't outweigh the things they took away. No EASHL is a shot to the heart, and now my buddy and i cant sit around creating teams and jerseys for hours on end. NHL15 is bare bones of NHL14 with a few more bells and whistles that no one cares about. No one cares that none of the fans are the same, just let me play EASHL. When it comes down to it I will always buy the new NHL because i love the game, but I will say i was very disappointed with the game.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 19 for NHL 15
Completely stripped down version....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Brandun
Location: Cookeville, TN
If I could give ZERO stars, I would. This game is completely stripped down of everything that made it the best sports game out there for the last 4-5 years. I'll start by saying EASHL isn't going to be in this years Next-Gen version. If you like Be a GM mode....you can't even draft your own players, it's an auto draft. If you liked be a pro, you can't even create your own player now. When you play Be A Pro, you can't sim to your next shift so you have to sit there the entire time waiting for your coach to put you in. There is a huge list of stuff missing from this game...No online team play, YOU CANT EVEN SEE THE 3 STARS OF THE GAME. That's a DLC to come in the future EA said.....Not sure why anyone would spend money on this game. And if you think you could play it for 360. It literally(I'm not saying this like whiners who say it every year about the next version of the game) is NHL 14 with Bergeron on the cover. All the menus and playstyle is the same as NHL 14, except you get Bergeron all the time. When you change your favorite team to say...the St. Louis Blues, Bergeron. Change to blackhawks, Bergeron. You get my point. Also....you can't even do the new dekes on the 360 version. It literally is NHL 14 with a new face. DO NOT BUY.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 20 for NHL 15
Good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
BruinsFan92
Location: Boston, MA
This overall is a good game the graphics are crisp, good commentary i really like the new pregame commentary of Eddie and Doc, They have redone gm mode as well. Now there are some flaws no eashl, and no team up mode. Now i heard that as of October they are releasing a patch that will include team up mode. I recommend this to fans of the NHL and NHL video game franchise. I give it a 8 out of 10 and ill add a .25 once team up mode is released. Ive been playing these games since nhl 95 and this is better than every other game that has come out its a good start to the next generation of nhl.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 next>>