GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

NHL 15

Built to harness the power of the next generation console - NHL 15 brings hockey to life the sights, sounds and feel of real NHL action like never before. Every player is affected by real-world physics leading to multiplayer collisions and pileups through 12 Player NHL Collision Physics. NHL 15 welcomes Mike Doc' Emrick, Eddie Olczyk and analyst Ray Ferraro providing insight through revolutionary real life visuals all presented in an authentic NBC Sports Broadcast Package. This is the next generation of Hockey.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429
3.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
4 out of 1429%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 15
Review 1 for NHL 15
Been a while but im back
Posted on:8/26/14
Richw23
Location: Springfield, ma
I just played the demo on xbox one and i must say- i am finally excited about a game for next gen. This game had me smiling and remembering all the fun i had playing a game about 15 years ago called NHL RIVALS on the original xbox. This game looks great and i think it plays incredible. I havent bought a hockey game since ea sports NHL '08 on xbox 360 and was not impressed. i was not expecting too much from it this year but with limited games out there for next gen i figured i would give it a shot. Now i cant wait for september 9th to play the game and take the bruins to the cup. I plan on upgrading to the ultimate team version now having enjoyed the demo so much! I am pumped about NHL '15
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 15
HALF THE GAME MODES LEFT OUT ON XB1/PS4
Posted on:8/19/14
BridgettBoop
Location: NY
EA has some nerve charging a full $59 for this game when they left out all the best game modes. No EASHL or OTP really?? This game should be $39 at launch. ITS ONLY HALF A GAME!! NHL was my main reason for buying the Xbox One and PS4, now I have to play it on the 360 for another year. Thank a lot Rammer! Do yourself a favor and skip the next gen version of NHL this year. If you must buy it just wait for the game to hit the bargain bin.. Trust me this game is a dud and the price will drop quick.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richw23
Springfield, ma
 
Please wait while more information about Richw23 is loaded.
Additional information about Richw23 could not be loaded.
I disagree
Posted 8/26/14
Just played the xbox one version and it was great. Maybe it wont have some gm mode or whatever but i also play the game to play the game. I am not a fan of needing to be a gm of a team and make an offer to a players agent and have off season meeting to acquire top prospects and so on. As far as im concerned i played nhl '94 back in the day and this is ten times the game that was but i dont wanna pay more for it. I played the demo and its a great game to pick up and play. I dont need to do somebody else's job after doing mine all day. I wanna have fun when i play almost immediately not punch a timecard to do a job and then play. Enjoy the game, it looks and plays great on the XBOX ONE
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for NHL 15
Looks great, sounds great... same old story?
Posted on:5/15/14
Jsikula93
Location: Queens, NY
I've put in many hours playing the NHL series the last 5/6 years. I mainly play EASHL, and online versus. EASHL is a lot of fun, but it has it's core problems that can be addressed which can make the game mode absolutely dynamic. Glitch goals occur way to often in NHL 14. The same shot that goes in on every break away kind of takes away the fun of the game. I believe this would be fixed, but im sure that more glitches will be discovered. With the power of the new consoles I can't wait to see the graphics upgrade. Hopefully they can get all the licensing to get authentic arenas and goal horns. Fixing the attribute system for "My Pro" and fixing the my pro offline mode (similar to how nba 2k does it) would really improve this game. I haven't done much with HUT and GM mode, but form what I hear the computer isn't the smartest GM. I'm very optimistic for the game, and I have already begun the countdown till the game gets released! LETS GO RANGERS!!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 15
Don't waste your money
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/14
the1andonlymojo
Location: PA
First off, i am a diehard hockey fan. I love everything hockey. But, this game is an absolute disgrace. EASHL, GM connected, live the life, online shootout, and OTP are ALL GONE. If you know much about NHL online vs, you probably know about this thing called "ice tilt". Its EA's way of making less skilled players have a better chance of winning games. In 15, ice tilt is EXTREMELY obvious. I have had several games in which i outshot the opponent by over 20 shots, but they got the win because it makes it easy for them to score, and near impossible for the better player to score. It would be easier to tell you what EA did right with this game. Commentary and graphics. that it. don't waste your money!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 15
No EASHL, no purchase.
Posted on:8/25/14
wh1terabb1t
Location: Illinois
This game is worthless without EASHL. The graphics do look better, but without EASHL, there's not enough here to keep me playing for more than a week. How last gen gets EASHL and next gen doesn't, I will never understand. Skip this one until EA figures out what the people want.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 15
Disappointing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
AHHHH
Location: West Hartford, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have always enjoyed the NHL game franchise, but NHL 15 has been a complete letdown. Graphically, it is a huge step forward, the arenas look very detailed, the crowds are fairly diverse, and the players are easily recognizable. The problem is that graphics seem to be the only thing the developers worked on. The physics feel the same as NHL 14, if not worse, the AI isn't any better, and the controls feel really clunky. HUT is basically the same besides a few UI changes. The other game modes are pretty much ruined now. In the Be A Pro mode, one of my favorites, I have not been able to figure out how to bring up the menu with coach feedback and the button to skip to my next shift (pressing a button will call the line currently out back in and your line will go, even if you are tired), so I just sit on the bench watching the AI play. In Be A GM, most of it is all the same as the others, except I haven't been able to find a fantasy draft button. Overall, this game has just been made prettier, but worse and more complicated in every other way. I hope EA will turn the franchise around since I hate to see it at such a low point.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for NHL 15
Garbage incomplete game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
FixThisGame
Huge let down for next gen! No EASHL? No modes? Huh?! Don't waste your money! I was hyped for this game just to be let down 2 weeks before release, this game is barebones...one bone really.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 15
No EASHL this year for next gen
Posted on:8/22/14
Brandun
Location: Cookeville, TN
So...it's official, there is no EASHL or Online Teamplay for Next-Gen consoles this year. EA Sports had an official press release on it stating that they didn't have time to implement it. They will still have the cash cow game mode of HUT where you can spend plenty of additional money buying card packs to unlock players...funny how that makes the cut. The reason why they left it out? It was on purpose.... or due to sheer laziness. EA Sports released Madden and FIFA for the Xbox One last year. NHL14 was held off of Xbox One last year so they could work on NHL 15 more dedicated and make it "higher quality than a rushed product". So how is it that Madden and FIFA kept all the game modes last year...when they rushed it and just modded the original game so it would work on Next Gen, yet NHL has an extra basically.... 8-10 months development on those other titles and can't even keep the game modes in? That was on purpose. More concrete evidence as to why EA was voted Worst Company in the US for 2 years in a row. I WILL NOT BE BUYING THIS GAME NOR ANY OTHER EA GAMES UNTIL THEY IMPLEMENT EASHL. It baffles me that they remove most likely the most popular game mode and definitely the one that all hardcore NHL players are drawn to. Then again...like i said, EA was voted worst company in the US for 2 years running.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 15
Great graphics and features... but...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
fortworth2714
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Do not buy this game and expect it to be like NHL14. Graphics better, features great. But, I wish the My Player/Be a Pro was just like NHL14 with the interviews, try outs, having to work to get the the first line, skip the game to next line change, actually being able to make the all star game, etc. . Wish it also had a season mode, the closest is GM and I don't like it personally. I honestly was expecting NHL14 with better graphics and features, which would of been okay, but without the modes that 14 offers I would have to say not to buy this game. I think this might be a trial to see how the Xbox One and PS4 would look on them but, what do I know? I am hoping that NHL16 will be much much better and have the modes back and etc.
The game is okay, could be a whole lot better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for NHL 15
A flashy NHL14 with half the game modes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
SoundsGoodSignMeUp
Location: Ham land
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought the game to play hut. In that aspect it is fine. But other than hut i do not play the game. My buddies and i still go back to 14 for EASHL. Graphics are great and I am a devils fan so hearing Doc's voice brings back some good times. When you look at the game the things they added don't outweigh the things they took away. No EASHL is a shot to the heart, and now my buddy and i cant sit around creating teams and jerseys for hours on end. NHL15 is bare bones of NHL14 with a few more bells and whistles that no one cares about. No one cares that none of the fans are the same, just let me play EASHL. When it comes down to it I will always buy the new NHL because i love the game, but I will say i was very disappointed with the game.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for NHL 15
Completely stripped down version....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Brandun
Location: Cookeville, TN
If I could give ZERO stars, I would. This game is completely stripped down of everything that made it the best sports game out there for the last 4-5 years. I'll start by saying EASHL isn't going to be in this years Next-Gen version. If you like Be a GM mode....you can't even draft your own players, it's an auto draft. If you liked be a pro, you can't even create your own player now. When you play Be A Pro, you can't sim to your next shift so you have to sit there the entire time waiting for your coach to put you in. There is a huge list of stuff missing from this game...No online team play, YOU CANT EVEN SEE THE 3 STARS OF THE GAME. That's a DLC to come in the future EA said.....Not sure why anyone would spend money on this game. And if you think you could play it for 360. It literally(I'm not saying this like whiners who say it every year about the next version of the game) is NHL 14 with Bergeron on the cover. All the menus and playstyle is the same as NHL 14, except you get Bergeron all the time. When you change your favorite team to say...the St. Louis Blues, Bergeron. Change to blackhawks, Bergeron. You get my point. Also....you can't even do the new dekes on the 360 version. It literally is NHL 14 with a new face. DO NOT BUY.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for NHL 15
Good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
BruinsFan92
Location: Boston, MA
This overall is a good game the graphics are crisp, good commentary i really like the new pregame commentary of Eddie and Doc, They have redone gm mode as well. Now there are some flaws no eashl, and no team up mode. Now i heard that as of October they are releasing a patch that will include team up mode. I recommend this to fans of the NHL and NHL video game franchise. I give it a 8 out of 10 and ill add a .25 once team up mode is released. Ive been playing these games since nhl 95 and this is better than every other game that has come out its a good start to the next generation of nhl.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for NHL 15
Eh....
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
Koplinsky
Location: Philadelphia
Despite the game lacking the many game modes all of us have grown accustomed to, the gameplay itself is what is important, and they need to fix a few things. I found passing the puck with relative precision very difficult. Also, picking up loose pucks is even difficult! You have to literally turn your player to face the loose puck to get it and anyone who has played this game knows that turning is now more difficult that previous games in the franchise. I play hockey in real life and I don't even need to necessarily DIRECTLY FACE THE PUCK TO GET IT! The other thing is, holy penalties batman. It appears as the the computer AI doesn't care and literally runs into people. Interference call after interference call. It really just zaps the game of fun with all the whistles. Last night I'm playing the Rangers online and Lundqvist lunges at a loose puck and right into Claude Giroux, consequently knocking G-sauce on his butt. Giroux gets the penalty! I used to get frustrated when I would lose an online match but the way this game has been designed, you can't help but to laugh because it is sometimes ridiculous. Lastly, there's this weird bug where the guy with puck starts spinning around if you move him too abruptly. There is already a button to turn a player 180 degrees and a sequence to spin with the puck so why this happens is beyond me!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 14 for NHL 15
Alright but lots of downfalls!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/14
Dan65
Location: Badger, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I thought this game was going to be great! but... it was not, the gameplay was pretty good and the graphics outstanding! But if you like to play the game for all of the game modes such as GM, be a pro, etc.. your going to be disappointed the game modes are horrible but if you just want to sit down and play a couple quick games with some friends than its not so bad.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 15 for NHL 15
I love this Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/14
Blackhawksforlife
I recommend this game to people who love sports games. I love the way they set up this game around the NBC Sports broadcast. The graphics are good. Also if you get this game I recommend Be a GM mode I can not stop playing it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 15
Horrible Game.. No one buy it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
Anonymous
Location: ST. Louis
This game sucks. Went to the midnight release and after just one hour of playing I found out that this is game is horrible. almost every single of my HUT games crashed and it counted as a loss. There is no EASHL which was the best game mode. This game is 1/2 of what they said it would be. No one buy this game you will regret it I promise you
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 17 for NHL 15
Good but not great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
xTheDoubleTapx
Location: Erie, Pa.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a longtime NHL game series fan, and was suuuuuper excited for this to come out on next gen. I've only had the game for 1 day for XB1 and it just feels like everything is missing. The only game modes that are available are Be a GM, Be a pro, VS online, and Hockey Ultimate team and NHL moments. Which is fine, because those modes are usually the only thing i ever play in NHL games. But i always liked the extra modes being available just because i like to do something new once in awhile. for example playoff mode / winter classic / and shootout mode. For you EASHL players look elsewhere for now because it's not available. I would say this game is more for the casual NHL gamer (like me) that just wants to breeze through a season mode...play some HUT and test your skills against others online. Other than my gripes about game modes the other thing i miss is menu music, there was some good tunes that played on NHL, now its just some generic music in game and in the menus just like in madden...i hate it, i hate it, i hate it. Gameplay is great, it feels much smoother on the xb1 and less "cartoony" than it felt in previous years. The graphics are outstanding, with arenas and player models that look great. The floaty Jersey that whisps in the wind is a little much but i'm over it, you'll look past it. The new commentary is pretty good ** warning, doc emrick likes to say "geometrically" a lot and it'll get old**. I guess they're going to be coming out with things to add to the NHL game and its lasting appeal and to improve it, so i'm excited to see what they'll add and or fix! Overall i give it a 8/10...good for casual gamers just looking to play some hockey
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for NHL 15
High Hopes crushed...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/14
BTBAM1212
Location: san jose,ca
ok so i literally just got done playing NHL since the first day it came out, so a little less than a week. I can already say this game has zero lasting appeal the way it comes. You have BE a GM, BE a Pro, and HUT . Which basically are your options if you plan on playing more than just exhibition games. EASHL was NHL lasting appeal for me personally. That was the best part, and possibly live the life when i got tired of playing online. But it always came back to that. I know a lot of people were upset about that not being included among other things. However, I gave the game a shot because i love hockey and thought maybe it could be ok without EASHL. I was definitely wrong. So the commentators are very scripted and believe me they sound scripted. The new control physics are maybe the best feature but then again they're still not all that. They can be hard to control and one slip of the thumb in the wrong direction and your toe dragging into the boards and getting totally turned around. However, my biggest problem is the ridiculousness of the gameplay against the computer since you're not really playing anybody online anymore. Remember i don't play HUT i think its rather pointless but just my opinion. Ninety percent of the time your poke checking and the computer either keeps the puck or you getting a tripping penalty. but when they poke check you you fall down with no penalty and they get the puck. The AI players seem seriously slow. If theres a loose puck they're skating around confused and basically refuse to grab the puck unless you switch players to move them. Also the passing is a joke, the computer seems to make tape to tape passes with ease from one side of the ice to other while no one on your team maybe puts a stick on it but if your trying to do a one timer the puck will bounce off a skate, is intercepted ,or the player shooting just whiffs on the shot entirely. I am very disappointed with this game, I want to like it so bad cause NHL 14 was the game i played consistently but i just can't, especially with all the new next gen games coming out around this time. This game will not hold a candle to the games coming out now. Try it out if you must but please wait for a price drop its not worth the 65 dollars. Keep gaming GAMERS!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 19 for NHL 15
Horrible game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Jackalnchuck
Location: pittsburgh, PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
picked up the game on release day and waned to trade it back in the same day. Half the game modes are missing from the xbox one version. Make no sense.. way to miss the mark ea!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 20 for NHL 15
You can't sim to the next shift.
Posted on:9/8/14
ZekeDMS
Location: Portland, OR
No really, you can't sim to the next shift in Be A Pro. 20 minutes of playing, 40 of watching. No sale.
Tons of other cut features (almost all online play, seasons mode, etc.), but that's the single most amazing one to me.
1 2 next>>