GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Halo: The Master Chief Collection

THE SEEDS OF OUR FUTURE ARE SOWN IN HIS PAST.
Average Customer Rating:
7.297
7.3
(218 Reviews) 218
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (218 reviews)
10 stars
42
9 stars
20
8 stars
6
7 stars
4
6 stars
1
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
16
71 out of 10170%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Review 1 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
why i bought my one
Posted on:8/23/14
Location: seattle wa
All the halo campaigns with master chief. plus all the maps from all 4 Halos playable in Halo 2 anniversary multiplayer. that's a whopping 68 maps (correct me if im wrong) with remastered audio. A option to press the back button and look at the old graphics and the new in the Halo 2 campaign. With 7 announced old multiplayer maps running a revamped version. Plus dedicated servers that offer cloud computing. Then u get a access code for the halo 5 beta in December. Then Ridley Scott productions brings in halo night fall. Wait and its all on one disc. WOW!!!! Halo 2 is the game that helped create MLG. It made FPS what they are today on consoles. Halo 2 set the bar for competitive matchmaking along with the foundation of xbox live. There was the legendary Halo 3 release. (that's here too) before that was Halo 2 in its prime bolstered a regular of 500,000 players back when xbox live was only 2 years old. I grew up playing this game. Halo is the reason i left playstation. I loved my PS2 until i played 1 match of Halo combat evolved and i was hooked. I never looked back. The reason i own a xbox one is for Halo. I will pay tribute and will enjoy every savory bit of this collection for its unrivaled content at a mere 60 dollars. Cant wait.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
There is a God, and his name is Frank O'Connor
Posted on:6/9/14
Location: Spring Hill Florida
Microsoft Came, They Saw And They Conquered. Heard about this didnt believe that it was a rumor, I believed it as fact and was just waiting to hear it from the horses mouth. Xbox shutdown down Sony 12 hours before they even said anything about the Playstation. There is nothing that they could bring out this Fall, Spring 15 and Fall 15 that can compete with the Master Chief Collection and then they release of the main event Halo 5 Guardians. Good Job Microsoft you murdered the stage and still kept killing it. Going down to Gamestop tomorrow and pre ordering this
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Undeniable Proof of Sony Shutdown
 
My Product Recommendations
Halo
9.3 out of 10(71)
 
 
 
Halo 2
9.1 out of 10(104)
 
 
 
Halo 4 Limited Edition
9.6 out of 10(247)
 
 
 
 
 
13 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
illPlayAnything
memphis, tn
 
Please wait while more information about illPlayAnything is loaded.
Additional information about illPlayAnything could not be loaded.
really???
Posted 6/13/14
Microsoft owns the rights to this... You realize that it's just recycled stuff nothing new... I am not trolling but it's comments like this that makes console wars start up... I prefer to play on my ps4 but I do enjoy some of the Xbox exclusives and hence why I bought an xb1.. Please think about what you say before you post.. This comment is prob why COD is just recycled poo too.. I would prefer to have quality, but this should be a must by for any halo fan... By the way Destiny is more important than this game and if you dont think so than your not a true halo fan....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Sexy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/15
Location: Gilroy, Cali
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game so much I would play it every day of my life! I love Halo and now this made me love it even more!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Good Game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Can't wait for Halo Remaster
Posted on:6/9/14
Location: Rochester,NY
I heard great things about Halo 2 so I wait to play that game most of all in the remaster collection
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Review 5 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
As most would say in our generation...I can't even
Posted on:7/7/14
Ok. So I'm one of the younger Halo fans out there, and started getting into the series when my friend let me play Reach. My life changed after that. I played CE: Anniversary, and Halo 3-4. I loved all of them, and I can see why past fans do. But I really wanted to play some halo game after my friend let me play Reach. I didn't have an XBOX 360 at the time, so I was looking for a game I could play at least close to Halo. I got a PS3 for my birthday 1 year later, and have regretted it since. I got an XBOX the next Christmas, and played Halo 4 a lot. The game I've always eyed was Halo 2, because there was a PC version that I could play, but I never got it. Now, instead of wishing I could have played it, I get Halo 2: Anniversary, along with the rest of Master Chief's adventures. As a younger Halo fan, this game is going to give me an opportunity to rekindle all of the things I have missed, and all the things I can look forward to. This game is the reason I will be getting an XBOX One. Sony can have their destiny exclusives...I'll be with the chief.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
31 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Wait until they fix matchmaking
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/14
Location: SLC, UT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok if you are into halo then you've heard all the news about this game's matchmaking being broken. Its true. If you want to buy this game for campaign then do it, you will not be disappointed. The graphics are awesome and going through the old halos has been a lot of fun. If you want to buy this for the multiplayer (this is the category I fell into) then you should wait until they fix all the multiplayer issues. You will spend more time searching for games and then when it finally puts you into a party it drops you most of the time and the game restarts itself. If you are lucky to get into a match the team matchups are horrible and completely imbalanced. you'll have 5v2 games or the teams will be completely stacked where you have one team on slayer reaching 50 kills while the other team barely reaches 20.. Overall a lot of bugs that need to be fixed. I was so excited for this game and this is the reason I purchased an xbox one. Had I known that I bought a broken game I would have waited..
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
After all these years...
Posted on:7/21/14
Location: Va
I've played all of the Halo games (excluding Halo 4, got rid of 360 as soon as Xbox One came out) and I have loved them all. The story is so well thought out and always takes turns that you wouldn't expect. The characters are just as amazingly detailed as the worlds they inhabit. I'm a little sad ODST won't be in this (even though it's not part of Master Chiefs story) as it was my favorite. The world in ODST was so dark, and the new weapons felt amazing. Although that game won't be in the collection, I am certainly going to buy this. The chance to play Halo 2 remastered (not sure if Halo 3 is or not) and to finally experience the story of Halo 4 will be great. Anyone who enjoys first person shooters, science fiction, or anything with an astounding story should buy this. Not only for the games, but for the beta access and short film. For $60, this is a steal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Halo 2
9.1 out of 10(104)
 
 
 
 
 
 
17 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MrFalloutFox
 
Please wait while more information about MrFalloutFox is loaded.
Additional information about MrFalloutFox could not be loaded.
Posted 8/22/14
Halo 3 will be just be updated to run 1080p 60fps
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Cool idea. Gamers too chaotic online
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/15
Well I guess its just been too long. I remember buying an xbox and getting the first halo. I was awesome at it. Then the second. Same story and so on. I bought this game when I got an Xbox one and Im awful at this thing. Some dude on the online multiplayer was getting pretty upset with me on the team, but hey. I have a real career, and trying to remember the controls and everything about each halo game is pretty darn difficult. Sorry that was my first few games back in i don't know... YEARS. Not really worried about it. It was real funny to listen to him freak out and yell. Dude. Much bigger things to worry about than this. And if not, I guess you have nothing going on in life. Actually, Im probably the one paying for your groceries. So don't be rude dude.. be thankful. But really. Chill. This is just a game. And a game that most of everyone already owned and beat. Thats the last time I played it btw. around the end of December. Just got bored. I dig the xbox one controller. The watch tv feature is pretty sweet.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
IT'S ABOUT TO GO DOWN!!!!!!
Posted on:8/26/14
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Anyone who is anyone that has ever had an xbox, and even those who never had one, knows about halo. The story, characters, and online gameplay put xbox and xbox live on the map. I have played all of the halo games, and it never gets old. Now, to those who were waiting for an excuse to get an xbox one...YOU JUST GOT ONE!! Halo 1,2,3, and 4 with 1 and 2 being in anniversary, Halo 5 beta, Halo: Nightfall, and over 100 maps from across the halo games.....ALL FOR ONLY $60? I have it already on pre order and all I have to say is....SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!!! BRING ON NOVEMBER!!!!!!
30 of 32 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GoodShepherd
 
Please wait while more information about GoodShepherd is loaded.
Additional information about GoodShepherd could not be loaded.
Posted 11/8/14
You're my hero.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
We are not worthy.....
Posted on:6/9/14
Location: Iselin, NJ
My jaw hit the floor when I saw the trailer. It's one thing to re-master a series with improved graphics and better quality, but to go the length that 343 has is unheard of. They are giving us master chief's story from beginning all the way up to the upcoming Halo 5. All I have to say is thank you 343 for giving us all the chance to revisit his story and let this be a testament to what you guys are going to accomplish for this series.
118 of 130 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Dubsteption
 
Please wait while more information about Dubsteption is loaded.
Additional information about Dubsteption could not be loaded.
Posted 10/1/14
It's full campaign and multiplayer, exactly how it was before when it was released.
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Posted 9/4/14
Probably just the campaign with better graphics.
Customer Avatar
Sweeco
Orlando,FL
 
Please wait while more information about Sweeco is loaded.
Additional information about Sweeco could not be loaded.
Halo
Posted 8/19/14
Does this mean halo 2 online is back or just campaign with better graphics??
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 11 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Fail...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/15
Location: Ripon, Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has been out more months then I care to count and guess what? The net code is STILL broken; I have sat and waited in the matchmaking lobby for 30min trying to find a game and I never found one. Is that not ridiculous? This game is NOT worth your money as far as multiplayer. For some reason, people hail Halo as a great single player experience, well, it isn't. The only thing that keeps the Halo story alive is
1. The Lore
2. The Storyline
3. Master Chief (Because he has a million fanboys).
There is absolutely nothing about the Halo campaign gameplay that is at all interesting, fun, or revolutionary. It is basically: Shoot a bunch of enemies that eat up bullets like candy, while hip firing only, and barley using cover. (Oh and did I mention that this big space warrior in suit of super armor can't even run? He walks EVERYWHERE!). There is nothing to change things up, stealth is impossible, there is nothing dynamic about the game at all. I know I sounded like a noob in this review or someone who plays nothing but COD; but I have been playing halo since Halo 2 came out. If you want a good SP fps experience, go with Wolfenstein, if you want a good MP experience, go with Destiny, or Halo REACH and one of the older Call of Duty games when backwards compatibility hits X1
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Thank you 343 Studios
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/15
Location: Eugene, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was exactly what we hardcore gamer needed. Halo is one of the best gaming series ever. We get 4 (plus halo 3 odst) games in 1080p and 60fps, for just $50. The multiplayer is a little broke, but the campaign is great and has a good nostalgia appeal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Awesome
Posted on:10/11/14
Location: New York
Iam a Playstation guy. I bought an Xbox One just for this game particularly Halo 2 multiplayer. Enough said.
 
My Product Recommendations
Halo 2
9.1 out of 10(104)
 
 
 
 
 
 
50 of 56 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HaloD00d
Cedar Falls, IA
 
Please wait while more information about HaloD00d is loaded.
Additional information about HaloD00d could not be loaded.
The time has come!!!
Posted 10/17/14
As many have mentioned here...EVERYONE knows what Halo is regardless if you've played before. The single greatest story of an video game EVER!!! Hands down. I cannot wait to relive my preteen years. Not to mention being able to relive Halo 2 multiplayer!!!! #MasterChief4LIFE
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
From a patient player
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/14
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you are looking to jump right into action and spend your entire weekend binging on matchmaking then I would not buy this game- yet. The whole body of work is amazing and the graphics are beautiful. But the management behind the gameplay and online multiplayer are definitely sub-par as of now. I know in time the servers will be fixed but for the time being, I say if you're only buying this for the online features, wait until Christmas!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Speechless
Posted on:6/27/14
Location: Saint Paul, MN
My #1 game is all going to be in 1 disk AND the new halo 5....gotta exchange the ps4 to xbox one now....
59 of 68 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dxp1
Virginia
 
Please wait while more information about dxp1 is loaded.
Additional information about dxp1 could not be loaded.
Halo 5 not included
Posted 8/17/14
Halo 5 is not included in this but multiplayer beta access.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Speechless
Posted on:9/23/14
Location: Wyandotte, MI
How many vets are going to go straight to halo 2 multiplayer i know i will anyway super pumped fan since the first halo.
 
My Product Recommendations
Halo
9.3 out of 10(71)
 
 
 
Halo 2
9.1 out of 10(104)
 
 
 
Halo 3
8 out of 10(14)
 
 
 
 
 
33 of 38 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheDecider
 
Please wait while more information about TheDecider is loaded.
Additional information about TheDecider could not be loaded.
Cant wait to play a TRUE Halo game again
Posted 10/12/14
I'm just glad to hear that 343 learned from there huge failure in halo 4 with the multiplayer loadouts. Hopefully this collection stay true to bungie's fare start multiplayer and what there promising in halo 5. I'd be very disappointed if I see a loadout in this game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
AWESOME
Posted on:6/9/14
Location: brunswick, GA
I KNEW THERE WAS A REASON I GOT AN XBOX ONE !!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS WHAT I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
41 of 49 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Major dissapointment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/14
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Where to even begin? Bottom line is 343 had no business releasing this game as it is now. Its a complete mess. Matchmaking is horrible. Very difficult to get a match, if you can get one at all. This morning I logged on for an hour and got a total of one game in matchmaking of halo 3 .Also if you back out of the lobby,whoever you sent an invite to play with gets booted as well and you have to resend an invite, which often times does not even work. oh, and when I do manage to get a match my teammates get split up from me and added to the other team in slayer. Lag is still an issue in a decent percentage of games. Numerous non game glitches which freeze up the game. Lack of good stats. half the playlists , plus the entire halo 4 game is not playable at all. This game is an embarrassment as it is now. I'm sure they will remedy this issues over time but to release it this way and ask people to spend their hard earned dough on this is just not right. If they can actually fix this game so it is playable it would deserve a higher rating for sure.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Aww yeah!!!!
Posted on:6/10/14
Location: Texas
This is the greatest thing to happen since sliced bread.... and a whole lot of other things. Well, you get the idea. Now i have to go stock up on some bread yo.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
27 of 33 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chris0901
 
Please wait while more information about Chris0901 is loaded.
Additional information about Chris0901 could not be loaded.
NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 11/4/14
For the fact that it's 5 games not 1, not 2, not even 3, its 5!!!!!!!! it's gonna go down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Gonna faint from happiness
Posted on:8/18/14
the first halo game i bought (not counting wars) was halo 4, so i am fairly new to the franchise. But the moment i completed the first level, i had a new favorite video game. now, i have halo 1 anniversary, halo ODST, halo Reach, Halo 4, halo 3, and halo wars. i heard about the master chief collection, and i was extremely excited. mainly because of halo 2, because i never had an original xbox to play it on. then there is also the tv show nightfall, and the halo 5 Beta, which are two epic things i am especially excited for. for only 60$, it includes 4 remastered games, a tv show, and a beta for halo 5. anyone in their right mind would call this an awesome deal. i am definitely going to the midnight release for this game, as it releases on veterans day and i have the day off from school. if anyone wants to what my plans are for november 11th, here they are. play halo. play halo. oh, and play halo!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>