GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Halo: The Master Chief Collection

THE SEEDS OF OUR FUTURE ARE SOWN IN HIS PAST.
Average Customer Rating:
7.711
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (162 reviews)
10 stars
24
9 stars
8
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
6
34 out of 4576%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Review 1 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
why i bought my one
Posted on:8/23/14
LotusLogan
Location: seattle wa
All the halo campaigns with master chief. plus all the maps from all 4 Halos playable in Halo 2 anniversary multiplayer. that's a whopping 68 maps (correct me if im wrong) with remastered audio. A option to press the back button and look at the old graphics and the new in the Halo 2 campaign. With 7 announced old multiplayer maps running a revamped version. Plus dedicated servers that offer cloud computing. Then u get a access code for the halo 5 beta in December. Then Ridley Scott productions brings in halo night fall. Wait and its all on one disc. WOW!!!! Halo 2 is the game that helped create MLG. It made FPS what they are today on consoles. Halo 2 set the bar for competitive matchmaking along with the foundation of xbox live. There was the legendary Halo 3 release. (that's here too) before that was Halo 2 in its prime bolstered a regular of 500,000 players back when xbox live was only 2 years old. I grew up playing this game. Halo is the reason i left playstation. I loved my PS2 until i played 1 match of Halo combat evolved and i was hooked. I never looked back. The reason i own a xbox one is for Halo. I will pay tribute and will enjoy every savory bit of this collection for its unrivaled content at a mere 60 dollars. Cant wait.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
There is a God, and his name is Frank O'Connor
Posted on:6/9/14
TheTruth117
Location: Spring Hill Florida
Microsoft Came, They Saw And They Conquered. Heard about this didnt believe that it was a rumor, I believed it as fact and was just waiting to hear it from the horses mouth. Xbox shutdown down Sony 12 hours before they even said anything about the Playstation. There is nothing that they could bring out this Fall, Spring 15 and Fall 15 that can compete with the Master Chief Collection and then they release of the main event Halo 5 Guardians. Good Job Microsoft you murdered the stage and still kept killing it. Going down to Gamestop tomorrow and pre ordering this
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Undeniable Proof of Sony Shutdown
 
My Product Recommendations
 
13 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
illPlayAnything
memphis, tn
 
Please wait while more information about illPlayAnything is loaded.
Additional information about illPlayAnything could not be loaded.
really???
Posted 6/13/14
Microsoft owns the rights to this... You realize that it's just recycled stuff nothing new... I am not trolling but it's comments like this that makes console wars start up... I prefer to play on my ps4 but I do enjoy some of the Xbox exclusives and hence why I bought an xb1.. Please think about what you say before you post.. This comment is prob why COD is just recycled poo too.. I would prefer to have quality, but this should be a must by for any halo fan... By the way Destiny is more important than this game and if you dont think so than your not a true halo fan....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Can't wait for Halo Remaster
Posted on:6/9/14
GameMasterpg
Location: Rochester,NY
I heard great things about Halo 2 so I wait to play that game most of all in the remaster collection
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Review 4 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
As most would say in our generation...I can't even
Posted on:7/7/14
DiggyTurtle
Ok. So I'm one of the younger Halo fans out there, and started getting into the series when my friend let me play Reach. My life changed after that. I played CE: Anniversary, and Halo 3-4. I loved all of them, and I can see why past fans do. But I really wanted to play some halo game after my friend let me play Reach. I didn't have an XBOX 360 at the time, so I was looking for a game I could play at least close to Halo. I got a PS3 for my birthday 1 year later, and have regretted it since. I got an XBOX the next Christmas, and played Halo 4 a lot. The game I've always eyed was Halo 2, because there was a PC version that I could play, but I never got it. Now, instead of wishing I could have played it, I get Halo 2: Anniversary, along with the rest of Master Chief's adventures. As a younger Halo fan, this game is going to give me an opportunity to rekindle all of the things I have missed, and all the things I can look forward to. This game is the reason I will be getting an XBOX One. Sony can have their destiny exclusives...I'll be with the chief.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
23 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Major dissapointment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/14
orlando125
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Where to even begin? Bottom line is 343 had no business releasing this game as it is now. Its a complete mess. Matchmaking is horrible. Very difficult to get a match, if you can get one at all. This morning I logged on for an hour and got a total of one game in matchmaking of halo 3 .Also if you back out of the lobby,whoever you sent an invite to play with gets booted as well and you have to resend an invite, which often times does not even work. oh, and when I do manage to get a match my teammates get split up from me and added to the other team in slayer. Lag is still an issue in a decent percentage of games. Numerous non game glitches which freeze up the game. Lack of good stats. half the playlists , plus the entire halo 4 game is not playable at all. This game is an embarrassment as it is now. I'm sure they will remedy this issues over time but to release it this way and ask people to spend their hard earned dough on this is just not right. If they can actually fix this game so it is playable it would deserve a higher rating for sure.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Awesome
Posted on:10/11/14
Steve1313
Location: New York
Iam a Playstation guy. I bought an Xbox One just for this game particularly Halo 2 multiplayer. Enough said.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
45 of 48 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HaloD00d
Cedar Falls, IA
 
Please wait while more information about HaloD00d is loaded.
Additional information about HaloD00d could not be loaded.
The time has come!!!
Posted 10/17/14
As many have mentioned here...EVERYONE knows what Halo is regardless if you've played before. The single greatest story of an video game EVER!!! Hands down. I cannot wait to relive my preteen years. Not to mention being able to relive Halo 2 multiplayer!!!! #MasterChief4LIFE
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Speechless
Posted on:9/23/14
Dudley
Location: Wyandotte, MI
How many vets are going to go straight to halo 2 multiplayer i know i will anyway super pumped fan since the first halo.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
31 of 33 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheDecider
 
Please wait while more information about TheDecider is loaded.
Additional information about TheDecider could not be loaded.
Cant wait to play a TRUE Halo game again
Posted 10/12/14
I'm just glad to hear that 343 learned from there huge failure in halo 4 with the multiplayer loadouts. Hopefully this collection stay true to bungie's fare start multiplayer and what there promising in halo 5. I'd be very disappointed if I see a loadout in this game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Halo Fans Rejoice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/14
ITBaker
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Had the game pre downloaded on my Xbox One and started it up. Was hit with instant nostalgia and a great sense that what I bought was well spent. My favorite Halo Campaigns are Halo CE and Halo 3 and with Halo CE I kept constantly changing between classic graphics and remastered. It switches so smoothly and they both look amazing. Everything is how it was but, much better and upgrading including the multiplayer. Playing on the New One Controller and the noticeably different sounds is amazing. It's the little things that make a game so great and 343 out done themselves here. Multiplayer is experiencing long loading times but Microsoft tweeted out about an update occuring today and one on the weekend. So don't worry about what others are saying. It's a new game and first Halo for the Xbox One. Of course there will be server issues and they'll be fixed. Overall a amazing game and recommend to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
After all these years...
Posted on:7/21/14
BlackOpsGamer
Location: Va
I've played all of the Halo games (excluding Halo 4, got rid of 360 as soon as Xbox One came out) and I have loved them all. The story is so well thought out and always takes turns that you wouldn't expect. The characters are just as amazingly detailed as the worlds they inhabit. I'm a little sad ODST won't be in this (even though it's not part of Master Chiefs story) as it was my favorite. The world in ODST was so dark, and the new weapons felt amazing. Although that game won't be in the collection, I am certainly going to buy this. The chance to play Halo 2 remastered (not sure if Halo 3 is or not) and to finally experience the story of Halo 4 will be great. Anyone who enjoys first person shooters, science fiction, or anything with an astounding story should buy this. Not only for the games, but for the beta access and short film. For $60, this is a steal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MrFalloutFox
 
Please wait while more information about MrFalloutFox is loaded.
Additional information about MrFalloutFox could not be loaded.
Posted 8/22/14
Halo 3 will be just be updated to run 1080p 60fps
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
IT'S ABOUT TO GO DOWN!!!!!!
Posted on:8/26/14
DaFlava09
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Anyone who is anyone that has ever had an xbox, and even those who never had one, knows about halo. The story, characters, and online gameplay put xbox and xbox live on the map. I have played all of the halo games, and it never gets old. Now, to those who were waiting for an excuse to get an xbox one...YOU JUST GOT ONE!! Halo 1,2,3, and 4 with 1 and 2 being in anniversary, Halo 5 beta, Halo: Nightfall, and over 100 maps from across the halo games.....ALL FOR ONLY $60? I have it already on pre order and all I have to say is....SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!!! BRING ON NOVEMBER!!!!!!
22 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GoodShepherd
 
Please wait while more information about GoodShepherd is loaded.
Additional information about GoodShepherd could not be loaded.
Posted 11/8/14
You're my hero.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
preorder skull redemption
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/14
midian
Location: tennessee
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
can not wait to get off work to start playing this. however there was no redemption code with my gamestop order. was it supposed to be mailed with it or emailed? does anyone remember, cause they have pulled it from the product description.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bmetivier2000
 
Please wait while more information about bmetivier2000 is loaded.
Additional information about bmetivier2000 could not be loaded.
-
Posted 11/17/14
It comes in the game disc when you preorder it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
We are not worthy.....
Posted on:6/9/14
HaloFan123
Location: Iselin, NJ
My jaw hit the floor when I saw the trailer. It's one thing to re-master a series with improved graphics and better quality, but to go the length that 343 has is unheard of. They are giving us master chief's story from beginning all the way up to the upcoming Halo 5. All I have to say is thank you 343 for giving us all the chance to revisit his story and let this be a testament to what you guys are going to accomplish for this series.
112 of 122 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Dubsteption
 
Please wait while more information about Dubsteption is loaded.
Additional information about Dubsteption could not be loaded.
Posted 10/1/14
It's full campaign and multiplayer, exactly how it was before when it was released.
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 9/4/14
Probably just the campaign with better graphics.
Customer Avatar
Sweeco
Orlando,FL
 
Please wait while more information about Sweeco is loaded.
Additional information about Sweeco could not be loaded.
Halo
Posted 8/19/14
Does this mean halo 2 online is back or just campaign with better graphics??
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 13 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
A perfect game with an imperfect launch...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/14
Halo1993
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Halo is one of the best games out there. All four games for $60 was a fantastic deal. Currently, a few days after launch, there are server issues. Granted, but how many new releases don't have some sort of problem, especially with online multiplayer? That does not make it right, but I don't think this game deserves all of the negativity it is receiving due to server issues. I love Halo - I've been playing it since the beginning, it was the reason I have had Xbox Live for 10 years, and it is my favorite game of all time - so my opinion may be slightly biased. But this game is definitely worth it, whether you have played Halo before or not. And I cannot wait to relive all the memories of Halo's heyday. (Just as soon as the servers are fixed...)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Gonna faint from happiness
Posted on:8/18/14
MlvGamerguy11
the first halo game i bought (not counting wars) was halo 4, so i am fairly new to the franchise. But the moment i completed the first level, i had a new favorite video game. now, i have halo 1 anniversary, halo ODST, halo Reach, Halo 4, halo 3, and halo wars. i heard about the master chief collection, and i was extremely excited. mainly because of halo 2, because i never had an original xbox to play it on. then there is also the tv show nightfall, and the halo 5 Beta, which are two epic things i am especially excited for. for only 60$, it includes 4 remastered games, a tv show, and a beta for halo 5. anyone in their right mind would call this an awesome deal. i am definitely going to the midnight release for this game, as it releases on veterans day and i have the day off from school. if anyone wants to what my plans are for november 11th, here they are. play halo. play halo. oh, and play halo!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Speechless
Posted on:6/27/14
swordchi
Location: Saint Paul, MN
My #1 game is all going to be in 1 disk AND the new halo 5....gotta exchange the ps4 to xbox one now....
57 of 66 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dxp1
Virginia
 
Please wait while more information about dxp1 is loaded.
Additional information about dxp1 could not be loaded.
Halo 5 not included
Posted 8/17/14
Halo 5 is not included in this but multiplayer beta access.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/14
Seabass12
Location: wisconsin
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So I may be quick to review becasuse I can garuntee that everyone is going to say I have yet played the campaigns which I havnt but I made it through the halo:ce campaign and played a fare share of multiplayer. And all I can say is wow. First lets mention the 60fps make the game look so crisp I think I am actually hypnotized by the beauty. I love the custom games which I have always loved but being able to see the new graphics and redone maps for halo 2 I am really impressed! The only reason I did not give ten stars is because there is a matchmaking problem and being a hardcore halo fan and having to watch the download go so slow for the update made me want to cry!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Outstanding Package
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/14
aviator180
Location: nashville, tn
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the perfect game for those beginning to get into the Halo series and those who are already die hard fans of the series. All of the games are on par with adding variety of control functions to fit your fps gameplay needs. The graphics are updated to fit the Xbox one console in contrast to the past gen systems but, don't jump into the gameplay expecting something visually stunning. However, you can press the select button during gameplay and cutscenes to see the difference in the graphics from the original Halo games to the current Xbox one versions. The overall gameplay is pretty great and can be very challenging as the AI appears a bit more smarter than used in the original games. The only reason I gave this game 4 stars is because if you have played the original games on previous gen consoles you might find yourself getting bored from time to time while taking a trip down memory lane. Another let down was the updated soundtracks to the series. They seem kind of sub par compared to the original but that is my own bias. For example, on Halo 2 there is a song called "Follow" by Incubus that is used during the Arbiter flight gameplay. The updated bgm is so bland that you have to switch to the original game just to hear the original song. However, do not let this deter you from making this purchase. Overall, it is a great game with many great additions to the storyline within the Halo franchise.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Its Halo!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/14
DizzyTheHobo
I played all four campaigns so far and they have been pretty good. The Graphics is not what you guys expect. Most people think its all suppose to look like an Xbox One game but that's not the case. The Graphics are good though. Halo 4 and Halo 2 are the best and I am disappointed with Halo 3 because its my personal favorite. Guys this games will last you a while. Its every halo in one. How could you get bored? The downfall is The Matchmaking is broken currently. I have played 4 games online and it is day 2. But this game should still be bought because when it is fixed it will be epic. Solid 9 due to Halo 3 and Matchmaking launch.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
Earth will never be the same...
Posted on:11/4/14
starline000
Location: Wenatchee, Wa
Halo 2 Anniversary! I was extremely excited to hear that 343 was making the master chief collection, but when I heard that Halo 2 was going to be re-mastered, I fell into a coma of Halo awesomeness! My family has the XBOX, the XBOX 360 and all of the Halo games, and the XBOX ONE and Master Chief Collection will be added to those lists within the next 1-2 weeks. There is too much to be said, over 100 multiplayer maps, including 23 Halo 2 maps, dual wielding, 45 campaign levels, Nightfall, Halo 5 beta, all for just $60! This is one game that every Halo fan should have. Let the great journey begin!!
In you're rush to get this heroic game on November 11th, don't forget to honor the real heroes who have served this country.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 20 for Halo: The Master Chief Collection
From a patient player
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/14
IndianaUnivGame
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you are looking to jump right into action and spend your entire weekend binging on matchmaking then I would not buy this game- yet. The whole body of work is amazing and the graphics are beautiful. But the management behind the gameplay and online multiplayer are definitely sub-par as of now. I know in time the servers will be fixed but for the time being, I say if you're only buying this for the online features, wait until Christmas!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>