GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Aliens: Colonial Marines

You and your friends against the deadliest killers in the galaxy. Another glorious day in the corps.Buckle up, soldier! Welcome to Aliens: Colonial Marines. Created by Gearbox, the critically acclaimed and fan-favourite developers of Borderlands and Brothers In Arms, this first-person shooter is steeped in the eerie, claustrophobic and terrifying atmosphere that made the Aliens films successful worldwide. You and your friends will become the most badass military outfit in the galaxy - the US Colonial Marines. It's down to you to not just survive but wipe out the Xeno infestation.
Average Customer Rating:
5.553
5.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (229 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
8
8 stars
17
7 stars
9
6 stars
5
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
20
48 out of 10347%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Review 1 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/13
mace543
Location: Muncy, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has been getting terrible reviews honestly I think the game is awesome, I have been a huge "Aliens" fan since I watched the movie and I think they nailed it. Some criticized the A.I just charging you and taking hits but the warrior aliens are supposed to do that actually, if you read into the mythology that is their job, get close then just charge and overwhelm. Graphics could be better but they are not bad by any means.
Sound quality is amazing and perfect like the movie, gameplay is smooth and works great. If you are still skeptical don't get the game but if you are an "Aliens" fan get this game by any means necessary.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Can't Wait, Huge fan of the movie
Posted on:11/28/12
mace543
Location: Muncy, PA
I absolutely love the movie and I try to learn everything I can, It will be awesome to into the shoes of a Colonial Marine, got the Collector's Edition pre-ordered now just waiting.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
high hopes
Posted on:4/13/11
corporalhicks
Location: florida
i have high hopes for this game, even though aliens vs predator wasnt what i thought it was (though i still enjoy it from time to time) i think that if they work their butts off then i have confidence in them, also at this up coming E3 you can expect sega to release more trailers and maybe even some gameplay of this game, even though avp was a let down i think they can do very well with this game. so you should send feedback to sega and gearbox to boost their confedence.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Not a 60 dollar game by a country mile...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
PuertoRockPunisher
Location: Brookline, MA
Sega and gear box have dropped the ball on this one guys, being an alien franchise fan this is a hurt to me and my wallet. First off the graphics are early Xbox 360 graphics, which by now is unacceptable. Second the choppy frame drop and bland game play is even more of an insult, a game that was in making since 2008 it should have been fantastic and made me feel like part of the movie with the suspense, horror, gore and overall alien awesomeness but sadly NO. Was it a surprise to me that gear box was going to pull off a lazy move, not really. We can see that they didn't even make the dlc for borderlands 2. This is why Gearbox have just taken a back seat with Capcom, EA in my book, you don't hire third party companies to do the work you do it yourself. To bring this review to a wrap, ladies and gentlemen this game is atrocious the online aspect is alright but that's the only part gear box devoted there so called time to. Save your money and go for something else you wont regret it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 5 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
5 Year Wait Over
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
dcMcLovinIt
Location: irving, Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
campaign:
The campaign starts off strong with tons of references from the movie but i feel its lacking the suspense, that being said you basically run around killing aliens and marines. Also the graphics aren't up to date with shooters like call of duty, with texture problems and bad mouth movements. it basically feels like duke nukem forever with xenos.
Rating: 7.5 out of 10
Multiplayer: Ok my favorite part..... This game has epic multiplayer i found myself playing more than 4 hours. With 5 game modes, 4 maps, and awesome customization for your characters. You can play as the marine or the infamous xeno morphs! Controlles can get very frustrating for the xenos but once you get the hang of it youll be a killing machine as for the marine the controlles are quite simple basic FPS point and shoot. A must for left for dead and dead space fans!
Rating: 8.5 out of 10
Side note the season pass will be $30 and include 4 dlcs that include story mode and multiplayer goodies
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Really bad game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/13
AleHorn
Location: Pa
honestly i though this was going to be good but it really sucks, the sounds were great but the animation and the graphics are old school ive seen better games than this junk, the multi player is a bit worse, its choppy to even bring up the score screen and to even land a pounce, i went rite over the top of my enemy or the sides when i had a direct hit, you can even fly though the air on the open map multi player lvls its stupid. on single player when u die its not realistic as the marine and alien stare each other in the faces in the starter mission when u meet up with ur partner for the areas, you can even put it on (ulitmate badass) there hardest difficulty which is really not you can sit on butt though most of the areas cause half the time he doesnt even go down and when he gets back up its nearly instant stand up, the least they could of done was let an extensive beta mulitplayer demo to atleast see there flaws before the game was actully released, but thats my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
People don't understand
Posted on:1/30/12
Nickdw2
Location: Georgia
I know that the demo for this wasn't that great, but that was monthes ago and at the top of the screen it says, WORK IN PROGRESS. The game is not going to be sxactly like demo. That was Act 2 and probably at the very end of a mission. Only ONE, I repeat, ONE part of the game has been shown in the trailer and demo and people are already giving it grief about being "SCRIPTED" or "IT'S STUPID BECAUSE I SAID SO". You haters need to chill down. I think that it is going to be a gret game. And if you don't have gameinformer, it says that NEVER REVEALED STUFF about aliens will be in this. You will venture inside the wierd ship in the original alien and find out more info about the space jockey in Promethius. It is going to be a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
althundacat
columbia, missouri
 
Please wait while more information about althundacat is loaded.
Additional information about althundacat could not be loaded.
totally agree.
Posted 2/9/12
this game is going to be great. so the demo looked a little low grade but what do people expect when they see a demo for a game a year before the game is due to release. so people get a grip this game will be the best.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Solo calls out for marco, Co-op responds with polo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/14
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
Now here's the thing with this game, the missions are stupid, especially the plot. The graphics are just decent, for a 2008 game. The sounds and voice acting are so-so, but for some reason the gameplay I don't find terrible, but somewhat good. Now here me out, this is a mediocre game, but the fun of shooting guns at glitching aliens and the upgrades along the way make the game genuinely stupid fun, just with more stupid than it needs. Of course it's more like a 4/10 alone, and a 6/10 with a friend, since co-op is the only reason I bought this game, not to mention I bought it for $5, which isn't too bad. If you're looking at it when it's on sale and you have a friend who has it or has the money to get it, get it with him and play it, otherwise, don't waste your time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/14
Spartan226
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game doesnt receive the credit it deserves. While yes, this is not the game promised by Gearbox, it really is still an enjoyable experience. The story to me is engaging, however this does have A LOT of segments where you find yourself fighting other humans. The game probably shouldve been called Call of Aliens: Weyland Yutani, but having human enemies at times feels logical and is understandable. The AI isnt the best, but it gets the job done. The graphics are good, sound is great, and this game is definitely worth the $10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Come one Gear Box, I've been waiting too long.....
Posted on:9/4/11
N6W3C
Location: Colorado
I've been hearing about this game ever since it was being talked about coming out for the PS2. Thats including the years I've been waiting for this game to come out for the X-box 360. And I'm still psyched about the game, but seriously?? Come on Gearbox how long are you going to let all these Aliens Fans including myself to wait for this game?? I'm ready to kill some Aliens. But I'm also losing my patitence. I know good things come to those who wait, but I'm getting way to anxious. I'm serious I don't care if the game is good or bad, I would buy it on the spot just to play it.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
4.5/10 IGN. Terrible game is terrible! Stay Away!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/13
LoneWolfRambo37
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Avoid your urge to buy this simply because you are a diehard Aliens fan or someone who likes waisting $60 on games that suck. This is dead on arrival. I was looking forward to it also for the muiltplayer only. Single player is REALLY bad. The graphics are not even close to anything that is currently out. It's like taking a huge step backwards. The story is forgettable and the gameplay is the same FPS stuff you have played for years but lacks the polish other games have. It feels like a 7 year old game that looks and feels like it is not complete. The game has been in production for 7 years! Multiplayer ONLY has 2 maps to play on. LMAO. Sega and Gearbox are a joke. Let the aliens die off already and leave it in the past where it belongs. Rent this game if ONLY you are a diehard fan. Forget it and move on if you never watched Aliens or just don't care about aliens. Wait a month and this game will be $20. Even then it will be overpriced. Multiplayer will be dead also. Full of lag, bugs, glitches and problems. Same with single player. This is an honest review from a 27 year old non fanboy of aliens and I want you all to be warned so you don't waste $60 on a 4 out of 10 game. Your welcome.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
T...t...t...t..t.today JUNIOR!
Posted on:4/2/12
SF5381
I have been following this game from the beginning and have been *WAITING* in anticipation for what I believe should be a good game.
A video game based off of "Aliens" is the epitome of what a science fiction game should be like. The movie itself has already been used as an inspiration for so many blockbuster games like Halo, Gears of War and who knows what else. I'm guessing that with such a big title on table the creators are really being careful to not come out with a flop and ruin such a great opportunity.
All that being said........HURRY UP A LITTLE! Even the greatest game in the world wouldn't be good enough to offset the public's now astronomical expectation for a game that has been taking years..years..and YEARS of development!
#Growingoldwaitingforalienscolonialmarines
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Could have been better
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/14
Gav157
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I wasn't very hyped for this game like many people were, but I got it and the game isn't bad but isn't good either. It does many things like sound and atmosphere right and it does many things like gameplay and story wrong. Overall, the game is just average and okay.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 14 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Aliens is comimg!
Posted on:6/19/11
AJEDIWARRI0R
Location: california
Awsome i juts bought avp to get my predator and marines fix i no its a lil late was gona get when it came out but never did any ways i dont no why people dont like that one i think its sick anyways back to this game i herd about this in 2008 or 2009 bout time it gettin released looks sweet probably have a better story than avp did since there focusing on one species and based off the movie just hope graphics are good and wish the release date was a lil sooner like october it comes out on same day as skyrim not so good but please dont push it back i like playing as a marine should have a good horror feel to it cant wait till then hang in ther grunts
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
WARNING: Pre-Order Bonus not a bonus at all
Posted on:6/5/12
ScorchChaos7
Location: New Mobius
This is more of a WARNING than a statement or review.
It was stated at E3, day 1, that the pre order bonus characters can be unlocked in the game without pre-ordering the game. pre-ordering the game just gives you access to them on day one, when you get the game.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
ScorchChaos7
New Mobius
 
Please wait while more information about ScorchChaos7 is loaded.
Additional information about ScorchChaos7 could not be loaded.
flamethrower
Posted 8/18/12
yes the flame thrower is the only part of the pre-order bonus that is a bonus. but you'd be better off buying the collectors edition you'd get more out of it than just the flamethrower.
Customer Avatar
101202
farmington, MN
 
Please wait while more information about 101202 is loaded.
Additional information about 101202 could not be loaded.
no title
Posted 6/13/12
what about riply's flamethrower
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 16 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Not bad Gearbox
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
Ingenious
Location: Madison WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After all the hate and bad reviews of this game I said f it and spent 40 dollars on it and let me tell you this game is actually pretty good people make the game look like it's bad when it isnt. Graphics are not the greatest but it all matters on the content of the game. Fighting Aliens is fun even with the mix of humans was pretty good. Story line is ok. Multiplayer overall is pretty fun with a slight lag issue at times. But overall I give this game a 8/10
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Very skeptical
Posted on:3/25/11
HIplaya09
I'm having doubts about this game whether it will actually be made. It has been put on hold, then it was cancelled, now it's dated to release sometime during November. Until the guys at Gearbox Software can give us a gameplay trailer of Aliens Colonial Marines I'll wait till then before I decide to reserve the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
1Shot2Kills
 
Please wait while more information about 1Shot2Kills is loaded.
Additional information about 1Shot2Kills could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 5/9/11
This game is completely different from the previous cancelled title with the same name. Waiting until a gameplay trailer comes out is always a good idea, though.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
FOUND NEW RELEASE DATE
Posted on:12/28/11
althundacat
Location: columbia, missouri
so every since i heard about this game and preordered it a few things have went through my mind. like if it will even get released they have changed the release date around so much that i dont know what to believe. Today i found a release date of March 30, 2011 on wikipedia and other places just say spring 2012. i really would like to see this game come into light since i have my copy preordered but if it dont happen we have creative assembly's game based on the first alien film to look forward to.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SamEichers
 
Please wait while more information about SamEichers is loaded.
Additional information about SamEichers could not be loaded.
silly
Posted 2/10/12
you posted it said march 30 th 2011 you posted that on december 28th 2011 so by ure logic it has been out for like a year now?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Bad
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/13
Yk081411
Location: Dalton ga
I ignored the bad review but sadly they were right this game is not worth the money, sound was great but the gameplay overall was horrible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
I LOVE XENOS
Posted on:8/24/11
gamer777777777
Location: in la la land
i love all things xeno, so gearbox take your time on the game just make it good, have lots of missions and a good multiplayer. I don't think it matters when it comes out just as long as it's not cancelled. The game already looks great so i can't imagine how great it'll be in another year! This will be one of the greatest games of the decade..... when it comes out........
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>