GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Rising Revengeance

METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE takes the renowned METAL GEAR franchise into exciting new territory by focusing on delivering an all-new action experience unlike anything that has come before.. Combining world-class development teams at Kojima Productions and PlatinumGames, MGR REVENGEANCE brings two of the world's most respected teams together with a common goal of providing players with a fresh synergetic experience that combines the best elements of pure action and epic storytelling, all within the expansive MG universe. The game introduces Raiden as the central character; a child soldier transformed into a half-man, half-machine cyborg ninja, equipped with a high-frequency katana blade and a soul fueled by revenge.
Average Customer Rating:
8.167
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
6
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 2483%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Review 1 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
DanteJett
Location: Hastings,MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pre-ordered it. played it. loved it. bought two copies 360 and PS3. great soundtrack. played through it 5 times.!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Good but short.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/14
Daegon789
Location: Jefferson City, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The gameplay while I find it was a little tricky at points. The blocking/parrying system worked for the most part. Raiden himself had good character progression. The game had a good story going and it was nice having the ability of choosing how you want to play. However the game is literally only 7 missions long. If you want something to sit down and beat I recommend it. If you are looking for a story that you can delve into over the course of 10+ hours I would recommend going with MGS4.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 3 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Great game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/13
thewagg5
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When i first looked into Rising i had different intentions on it thinking it wasn't going to be too great, but i was wrong. Metal Gear Rising takes place a few years after MGS4 with Raiden from MGS2 taking the main lead. Metal Gear Rising's game play is very fun you could spend your time sneaking through some parts of the levels or go crazy and hack and slash the crud out of an enemy in free blade mode where you can cut up certain parts of an object or body and overall the controls are great except blocking an attack can be tricky at first and i thought Platinum Games could have done a bit better with it, but i had gotten use to it over time and one more problem with the game is that it could take you 5 to 6 hours to beat and if you skip the cut scenes that makes a 3 to 4 hour game. Another amazing part about Metal Gear Rising is it's music which take rock and electronic to make epic music for the boss fights and overall game. My take on this game is that it's a very enjoyable action game that deserves to be played.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/13
Draco53
Location: Wilkes Barre, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game for those who keep hating. Full with fast paced action and there's not a moment where you feel bored. After I put down the controller my hands were shaking with all the adrenaline from the boss battles. Only thing I hated was those funky camera angles. Lost a couple battles because I couldn't parry in that direction.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/13
Kiaquaii
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I personally love this game. Sure, its got its downfalls, but just about any game does. Let me just say that this game is absolutely bada**, the soundtrack is completely amazing, and the gameplay is decently smooth. Parrying/blocking attacks can be interesting to get used to, and can get obnoxious if you love getting the achievements or just want to play on the hardest difficulty (along with the camera. Personally, I didn't notice on the normal difficulties, but playing on revengeance mode the camera can be your worst enemy). Its also quite short, but I honestly can say its worth every penny. If you like bada** hack-and-slash games that still have a very good story, defiantly get this game. It's worth it. I've been playing it for a month now and I'm still obsessed with it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
amazingly fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/13
carlosfire53
Location: plymouth, MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have to say it was amazing in graphics, not so bad with music, and challenging. give it a good ten out of ten
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
By far the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/13
Vasheh
Location: Fort Smith, AR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I usually hate hack and slash games with a bleeding passion. But! I have never experienced a campaign with such glorious graphics. They have done there best for a video game especially Raiden. Playing this game will make sure you have fun with anything in this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Not metal gear solid but rising
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/13
quin18
Location: Stafford,VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
For everyone saying it needs more classic stealth and CQC and all that other stuff it has it but it's not the main focus. It's metal gear rising not solid which is why they didn't put solid in the first place because it's not meant to be a continuation of the snake series in anyway. This a game about raiden not snake and stealth wasn't meant to be a huge part in this game so they didn't name it solid in the first place. This game is ideal for people who lean more towards a ninja gaiden feel of things just with a different story and better mechanics.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Pulse Pounding Action
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/13
RDW11
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game play is smooth, but the camera does get in the way at times. Also the blocking system does need to be fixed. Both of those reasons don't get in the way so much where your experience will be ruined. The story starts right after Metal Gear 4, and is very solid. But it is a very short experience clocking in around 6-7 hours. It is a good experience though. But it is very easy to replay missions to get a better score than before. Finally the soundtrack is amazing with hardcore heavy metal that gets you so pumped. This game gets an 8/10. I would have given a 7/10 because of the short story, and a couple mechanics that need to be fixed such as the blocking and camera issues. But overall the game is too good for a 7/10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/13
Theuglytruth
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great Game! The last boss is very very difficult; normal difficulty feels like hard. However, I love this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
RENT THIS ONE!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/13
sadforceunleased
Location: va beach
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I could not wait for this to come out and it is a sweet game , it was fun . really smooth but it was to damm short you will be it in under 5hr of game time . less if you skip the confusing cut scenes. It is totaly not worth 60 bucks. feels like another unfinshed game it needed alot more to the game. But this is a perfect weekend rental.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 12 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Failed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/13
KNipp
Location: MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
All I have to say is that I played the demo many, many time. I got hooked on it and was excited to get it when it released. For some reason, when I got home with it I lost all interest in it and returned it a couple days after playing it. I would not recommend at all.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Major Metal Gear fan, didn't care for this
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/13
Cannibal300
Location: Ozark, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played Metal Gear Solid since it came out on the older playstation systems, and I was truly looking forward to this since it was coming to the xbox. To my surprise, this really wasn't all that good. The combat system was hard to grasp at first, and in my opinion, the futuristic hightech atmosphere, was a bit too much. It is nothing like the classic Metal Gear games, where you can choose between a gun and other weapons, nor do the sneaking areas really have as much meaning. To me, overall, this game was pointless to buy and really over rated. I know a lot of people will disagree with me, but they just took too much of the older game style and feel away to please me.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 14 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/13
HardcoreGamingLegend
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Never played and other metal gear game, this game is amazing i wouldn't hesitate to by the next one if it comes out for xbox
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
An Overall Great Experience
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/13
Sothefox
Location: Long Beach,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Overall game play is challenging just make sure to switch to hard mode from the start.Or use the konami code at the start menu.The graphics are great as with most metal gears.The gameplay feels very smooth and rewards players BP depending on how well you do in combat.With multiple weapons and diffrent ways to take down your foes ranging from sword drawn and charging ahead to stealth takedowns and discretion it never seems to feel stale or repetitive like so many other titles.The soundtrack sets the mood for boss battles extremely well and is downright amazing.For not being a traditional metal gear and trying something new this game came out quite well overall I would give it an 9/10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Short Game - Less than 8 Hours (Story mode)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/13
JohnBe
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Finished the game in less than 8 Hours. Awesome game that's for sure, but I wish they would develop the story much longer. Definitely not worth the price at the moment. All this hype was cut short.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Platinum Games made a Metal Gear game. It's good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/13
boredom974
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Apparently one day, Hideo Kojima decided he wanted Metal Gear game NOT based on stealth, but rather based upon lightning fast action. He asked Platinum Games, the developer of Bayonetta and Vanquish, if they would like to make it. They agreed. Don't expect a classic Metal Gear experience from this game guys, it doesn't say "tactical espionage action" on the cover, it says "lighting bolt action". The gameplay is fast, smooth and satisfying, as expected from Platinum. Cutting people to pieces, strangely, does not get repetitive at all. There are some stealth elements, but it's not the focus. The graphics are alright, but I'm not impressed. It seems higher quality textures and the polygon count took a serious hit to make way for chopping enemies to pieces. The soundtrack is fantastic, each boss has a very unique theme with lyrics about them. It's doesn't take very long to beat the game, especially if you don't bother listening to the codec. There are plenty of things to do once you beat it, such as VR missions, unlocking more abilities and higher difficulties, but it's still too short. Without cutscenes and codec conversations the game is about 6 hours, but with them it's more than double that. Seems that this is a true Metal Gear game after all.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 18 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
I LOVE THIS GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
Mashmoney
Location: hamtramck,MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I LOVE THIS GAME, IV GREW UP PLAYING THIS WITH MY BROTHERS. ITS A BEAUTIFUL GAME WITH A BEAUTIFUL STORY LINE. BUY THE HD COLLECTION & PLAY ALL OF THE GAMES TO UNDERSTAND THE STORY ITS JUST BEAUTIFUL I CANT EXPLAIN IT ANY OTHER WAY BUT BEAUTIFUL!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
All in all, Not bad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
SwiftySwift
Location: san diego
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its really not that bad. WORTH A BUY. even if you are 50/50 on a purchase. Biggest problem i specifically have is the voice actor for raiden. DOESNT fit the game character. Secondly this game is short. seven missions. im praying for a new game plus. first off, AWESOME soundtrack. this is the first game to not use an orchestra (just a band) and made sweet sweet action game japanese heavy metal. best metal gear to date. not a huge metal gear fan, but this makes the cut. it gives you the option to sneak,... but with a huge sword... why would you want to? PICK IT UP NOW
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Yesss!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
BigSnake
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alright first of all, this has to be one of the most fun Metal Gear games I've ever played in my life. To those who may question what happened to the stealth aspect of the series, its still present, just not in the same manner as in the Metal Gear SOLID series. This is Metal Gear RISING, not SOLID, the name being changed to help distinguish the difference. The graphics are some of the best I've ever seen on the Xbox 360 and the gameplay is incredibly fun, albeit slightly challenging. The music suits the fast-paced combat perfectly, perfect transitions into different verses especially during boss fights. The story is great, because its solely Raiden's spotlight this time around and of course they're going to need to develop more of a basis to create a better plot if they create a new entry into the Rising series. The fighting is more hack and slash than it is stealth, but many aspects of the stealth are still present, like being able to sneak up on an enemy and neutralize them in one hit. I've played just about every Metal Gear game and this is definitely one of my favorites.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>