GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Rising Revengeance

METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE takes the renowned METAL GEAR franchise into exciting new territory by focusing on delivering an all-new action experience unlike anything that has come before.. Combining world-class development teams at Kojima Productions and PlatinumGames, MGR REVENGEANCE brings two of the world's most respected teams together with a common goal of providing players with a fresh synergetic experience that combines the best elements of pure action and epic storytelling, all within the expansive MG universe. The game introduces Raiden as the central character; a child soldier transformed into a half-man, half-machine cyborg ninja, equipped with a high-frequency katana blade and a soul fueled by revenge.
Average Customer Rating:
8.2
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
7
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2584%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Review 1 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Looks great!
Posted on:1/4/12
Halloweener
Location: Hesperia, Ca
I've seen all the trailes for this and they all look fun. The ability to slash through enemies with different angles of cuts seems like a unique gameplay feature seems very fun. Since they've revamped Raiden he know seems like he would make a much better character. Not only that but now 360 owners can get in on the action. And to the people complaining this is nothing like metal gear solid, it's not supposed to be, that's why it's called metal gear rising!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
This is the first trailer of the game.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
They have ruined it
Posted on:8/17/12
Gameplayer1995
This is no longer the peoples metal gear this has turned in to a two bit hack and slash 3rd person game with a weak plot character just like they did with MGS 2 and now they have taken away what made Metal gear well Metal gear. I shall not be buying this atrocity due to the Respect i have for the real metal gears and the respect i have lost for kojima here on this gamesrelease date shall lie two deaths Kojima's And the metal gear solid series never again shall another one be made after this utter failure R.I.P MGS you shall be missed
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
4 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
WOWOW.....I can't freakin wait.
Posted on:6/7/11
xK90x
Location: Heath,OH
This game looks amazing. i Remember MGS2 for the old xbox that was an amazing game it was the original MGS2 with a lot of fun bonus content. All the haters with no online network to play on right now because it got hacked should buy a 360 i had a PS3 and sold it when the network got hacked a second time and now it happened again. Sadly though im gonna have to upgrade from my first gen Xbox to one of the new "Slims" but it'll be worth it. And for the three year old sucking his thumb while typing and saying that raiden is new.....No! he was introduced in MGS2 and was in guns of the patriots as well. and by the way MGS will NEVER....EVER come to the Wii. maybe twenty years down the road when sony's network has completely crashed due to hackers, and microsoft has a virtual reality type console, when nintendo finally releases a 360/PS3 caliber console they'll do it just for laughs. Wow sounded like a fanboy there but its true PSN wont be around....for free much longer, and nintendo will never have hardcore gamers.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
STOTTIE
Kuwait
 
Please wait while more information about STOTTIE is loaded.
Additional information about STOTTIE could not be loaded.
Technacly
Posted 7/21/11
If you want to get tecnacial about it metal gear was first on nintendo so its already been on nintendo.
Customer Avatar
AJEDIWARRI0R
california
 
Please wait while more information about AJEDIWARRI0R is loaded.
Additional information about AJEDIWARRI0R could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 7/2/11
spoken like a true gamer.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
gonna be great
Posted on:12/17/10
PwNz
i really expect this game to be good. first of all i love metal gear solid i only have an xbox360 now so im waiting for this to come out it looks great to me. it annoys me that people say this game will sucks its raiden and its not a shooter. first of all stop complaining about raiden being terrable because if you think about it SNAKE WOULD HAVE DIED IN MGS2 SONS OF LIBERTY IF RAIDEN HADENT SAVED HIM. also i do expect there to be shooting in this because it is metal gear and raiden does still use guns sometimes. so im expecting this to be great and for all raiden haters hop off his back
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
NG rip off
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Blackmombagoku
Location: Ishpeming MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is nothing but a Ninja Gaiden rip off. That said it is a good game. It has a slower pace than Ninja Gaiden and a very short story that they try to cover with HUGE cutscences and tons of talking(skip with Y button) but it is a fun game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 6 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Great game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/13
thewagg5
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When i first looked into Rising i had different intentions on it thinking it wasn't going to be too great, but i was wrong. Metal Gear Rising takes place a few years after MGS4 with Raiden from MGS2 taking the main lead. Metal Gear Rising's game play is very fun you could spend your time sneaking through some parts of the levels or go crazy and hack and slash the crud out of an enemy in free blade mode where you can cut up certain parts of an object or body and overall the controls are great except blocking an attack can be tricky at first and i thought Platinum Games could have done a bit better with it, but i had gotten use to it over time and one more problem with the game is that it could take you 5 to 6 hours to beat and if you skip the cut scenes that makes a 3 to 4 hour game. Another amazing part about Metal Gear Rising is it's music which take rock and electronic to make epic music for the boss fights and overall game. My take on this game is that it's a very enjoyable action game that deserves to be played.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
WOW really???
Posted on:3/5/11
yakuzaninja
does my eyes deceive me or does the date say next year november, i freakin hope thats a typo because if it isnt, i will be the first of probably many to be disappointed because i hate things like this cause first it starts out as delay for a month then whole lot of months then a year then sooner or later it gets canceled, in my opinion if the developers cant deliver the game on its first announced date then dont bother announcing it, cause personally its like teasing people and i hate getting teased
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Raiden is the man!
Posted on:5/31/11
Vyktamus
Location: San Antonio, TX
I am so excited about this game. I feel Raiden was never given a fair shot and this will be his time to shine! All the Xbox haters need to work out more or something. It takes over 20 minutes to install the content on a PS3. I would rather take the 15 seconds to switch out a disk than wait almost half an hour to play the game once I put the disk in. Rising looks like it is taking physics to a whole new level. I hope they keep the quirky humor that's been running rampant in all the Metal Gear titles. I'm glad they are bringing this to a system that keeps its network up and running. My 50 bucks a year keep me playing online year round! :) My PS3 sits and collects dust unless an exclusive title comes out (Uncharted, God of War, etc.). I hope they announce a sooner date, the game trailers already appear to have some serious polish. You would think the game is almost done.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Final-frickinly!
Posted on:7/20/11
dandothedaring
Location: Sumas,WA
Well its about time. I have been a huge fan of the metal gear series since the beginning, but sadly I havent gotten to play MGS4 since its on ps3 and I dont see the point in owning both consoles, especially since xbox is the better console (opinion not fact, so dont get your panties in a bunch if you dont agree). I wish that konami would port over MGS4. I dont see the point in game companies making console exclusive titles anymore, if people want to play a game they shouldnt have to buy a whole new console just for that one title. Hopefully this will be the beginning of a new trend for the MGS series, I want my METAL GEAR!
11 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Halloweener
Hesperia, Ca
 
Please wait while more information about Halloweener is loaded.
Additional information about Halloweener could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
I wish MGS 4 would come to the 360...
Posted 1/9/12
Unfortunately MGS4 will probably never hit the 360. It works off a blu-ray disc which xbox doesn't play and the only way we could get an xbox version is if it was released with several discs.
Customer Avatar
DJPotluck
Phoenix
 
Please wait while more information about DJPotluck is loaded.
Additional information about DJPotluck could not be loaded.
Complaining
Posted 8/29/11
I don't see the point in you whining about it, I mean sure MGS is a great series, but you can't call yourself a HUGE FAN if you feel paying 250$ for a new console that IMO, is better than the 360. And porting to a new console is a terrible Idea.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Seriously?
Posted on:11/16/11
SiliconeJacket
Location: TX
well all i have to say is that the MGS series has always been a sony game legend (beside for the one MGS on the gamecube). im not going to complain about what console is better but its quite simple to see when you do the math of the pros and cons, one does not come CLOSE to the other. for them to do a platform jump is going to be a interesting change. i would assume the PS3 version will have some extras that the 360 version will never have. just because MGS has made countless millions/billions for the sony company and im sure they will do something for the dedicated fans. but i think this is personally a test to see how the game will sell on different new gen non-sony consoles its cheaper to make 360 games cause they are not blu-ray disks (same for wii not that i ever think they'll make one on the wii) but if sells just as good on the 360 as it did for EVERY other sony console. they will probably start making everyone after rising (if there will be) multi-platform. times have changed and they have to appease the masses instead of sticking with what they know sells.
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Hatred7Towards6All
Unknown
 
Please wait while more information about Hatred7Towards6All is loaded.
Additional information about Hatred7Towards6All could not be loaded.
Posted 2/19/12
Horrible game and its for a lame/garbage of a system. congrats on the sell out who now wants MGS on a garbage system
Customer Avatar
lolatu
 
Please wait while more information about lolatu is loaded.
Additional information about lolatu could not be loaded.
..
Posted 11/30/11
you do know mgs was on nintendo before too. not a sony exclusive man. mainly on sony yes but exclusive no...
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
wow
Posted on:2/16/11
Anonymous
This is going to be amazing but let me tell you this ps3 failers it not that hard to get off your lazy butt to change disc so congrats ps3 you create lazy people
13 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KingofKillers
 
Please wait while more information about KingofKillers is loaded.
Additional information about KingofKillers could not be loaded.
PS3 is good for the games that only are on it.
Posted 2/23/11
Have fun with your ps3 pushin blu ray is like havin a 3d tv usless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! enjoy our ps3 720p! cause all x box is 1080i and 1080p!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Looks like a change I can like.
Posted on:7/24/12
Nirrtix
Location: Houston
I like action games with guns or swords. I think many are discounting the change, but do not realize this is a game with Raiden, not snake. It is almost like a spinoff. I think that is why they left off solid and added Rising and the episode is "Revenge". I have been impressed with all of the Metal Gear games. I doubt this will let me down either.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Yesss!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
BigSnake
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alright first of all, this has to be one of the most fun Metal Gear games I've ever played in my life. To those who may question what happened to the stealth aspect of the series, its still present, just not in the same manner as in the Metal Gear SOLID series. This is Metal Gear RISING, not SOLID, the name being changed to help distinguish the difference. The graphics are some of the best I've ever seen on the Xbox 360 and the gameplay is incredibly fun, albeit slightly challenging. The music suits the fast-paced combat perfectly, perfect transitions into different verses especially during boss fights. The story is great, because its solely Raiden's spotlight this time around and of course they're going to need to develop more of a basis to create a better plot if they create a new entry into the Rising series. The fighting is more hack and slash than it is stealth, but many aspects of the stealth are still present, like being able to sneak up on an enemy and neutralize them in one hit. I've played just about every Metal Gear game and this is definitely one of my favorites.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
METAL GEAR SOLID RISING LOOKS PRETTY SICK
Posted on:10/11/10
XxSTIZZxX
Location: PATERSON, NJ
I must say ive always love the game metal gear solid but unfortunately for me this always was a type of game that i enjoyed more by watching people play rather than to have me play. as for the look of this one i most definitely think i will be purchasing this for my own self graphics looks sick as always on the XBOX360 and i love how that one enemy was sliced like a can of sliced peaches...PLAYOFFS!!!!....LOL...I swear if this game does not come out with a perfect 10 yo OMG! imma be heated hope a demo is coming out soon...
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AtomicRussian
 
Please wait while more information about AtomicRussian is loaded.
Additional information about AtomicRussian could not be loaded.
Dude no way
Posted 11/8/10
this game is supposed to come out on my birthday!! totally got to get it now it also looks epic can't wait
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Game looks amazing
Posted on:7/13/10
Prototype_4000
I've been waiting a while for a MGS game to come out on the 360 and this is the game after seeing it at E3 this game looks like it will be worth its money, and will not dissapoint
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Why All The Hate?
Posted on:2/12/12
Drakeyomama
Location: Deer Park, TX
I Know That This Game Is Not Like The Other Metal Gear Solids, Maybe Because Its Not, They Took Solid Of The Name Because Its Different From The Others, Snake Is A Stealthy Charictor, Do You Think Raiden Can Be Stealthy? Hes Half Robot Carrying A Sword. Remember How Different We Thought MGS3 Was Than 1 & 2, And It Still Turned Out To Be A Great Game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
GOING TO BE EPIC
Posted on:12/2/11
BlackMamba
Location: Texas
I think this game is going to be epic, because you finally get to play Riden. I have been wanting to play as him since I saw how they changed him in 4. I believe he will be almost as epic as Solid Snake. I can't wait to get it.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Awesome.
Posted on:7/7/11
stevezombie
I've been a fan of the Metal Gear series for awhile, and I am glad to see that the new game is coming to the Xbox. It's a shame to see that some people aren't able to play games because they can't afford a PS3 and an Xbox360, or they don't see the point in owning two consoles when they are able to get their entertainment from one. I would love to see games go to each console so everyone can get their entertainment and play the games they enjoy. It doesn't help though when people insist on others buying multiple consoles because they can't stand seeing exclusive games goes to multiple systems.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
No snake?? Raiden is an awesome character...
Posted on:4/4/11
abernick00
Location: Worcester, MA
Answering the obvious 5 year old that "previewed" this game two down from me speaking of a "new character".... Raiden is NOT new... he was in the second Metal Gear that came out on the last gen systems... everyone was all up in arms because there was a different character to play other than snake... then came the Ps3 Guns of the Patriots, and Raiden was basically a half cybornetic badass that ran chills down my spine everytime i saw him. he is a GREAT character, i just hope they delve more into the mythos and background of Raiden, and not just use the "cut" gimmick to sell copies....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
DC Universe Online Standard Edition
7.2 out of 10(38)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bigboss9696
NC
 
Please wait while more information about bigboss9696 is loaded.
Additional information about bigboss9696 could not be loaded.
snake
Posted 6/21/11
To my understanding this game takes place before gun of the patriots i think it is suppose to show how Radien came from MGS2 to MGS4 like what made him like a robot ninja but don't get me wrong its not going to be the same with out snake
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Nobody can slow Raiden down in MGR: Revengeance
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
GeneralBlob
Location: Hickory, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Fans of Metal Gear Solid who are looking for the stealthy, lengthy, story-driven gameplay that has defined Metal Gear for 25 years, you are going to be sorely dissapointed. That said, everyone else who is looknig for a fun, fast, insane action game, you've come to the right place. Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance offers the universe of Metal Gear combined with the action gameplay of games such as Devil May Cry and Bayonetta. There are very few lulls in the action, save for a few codec conversations and cutscenes. Within 10 minutes of playing, I was jumping from rocket to rocket, sword at the ready, as I was charging at a giant Metal Gear Ray. The parrying is hard to master, and will frustrate a few players, but luckily on Easy difficulty there is an option to make parrying a lot easier. There are a few stressfull moments here and there, mostly related to the Ninja Run ability. Graphics are exactly what you would expect from a Metal Gear game: Beautiful. The music can be a bit annoying sometimes, but that's not a major concern. Overall, Metal Gear Rising:Revengeance is a brilliant, face paced action game that any fan of the action genre should play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>