GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Rising Revengeance

METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE takes the renowned METAL GEAR franchise into exciting new territory by focusing on delivering an all-new action experience unlike anything that has come before.. Combining world-class development teams at Kojima Productions and PlatinumGames, MGR REVENGEANCE brings two of the world's most respected teams together with a common goal of providing players with a fresh synergetic experience that combines the best elements of pure action and epic storytelling, all within the expansive MG universe. The game introduces Raiden as the central character; a child soldier transformed into a half-man, half-machine cyborg ninja, equipped with a high-frequency katana blade and a soul fueled by revenge.
Average Customer Rating:
8.833
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (147 reviews)
10 stars
21
9 stars
6
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 3683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Review 1 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Metal Gear Action is a better word
Posted on:1/31/12
TheBurningPunch
metal gear as a action game is a major difference in the series and IMO,it needs a change.I would feel that kojima is experimenting to see if a hack in slash metal gear would be worth it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
METAL GEAR RISING REVENGEANCE Gameplay Montage
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Mgs for 360? why?
Posted on:3/30/11
Noba
Location: Colorado springs CO
most of the 360 players wouldn't know about the mgs series, ie, they dont know anything about Raiden, and they dont deserve to play it -.- go back to halo
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
43 of 55 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Can't Wait
Posted on:1/16/11
Mo2349
This is a must have for MGS fans and for people who like action games if this game really comes out 1/1/11 then i'm getting it instead of uncharted 3
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty
9.1 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
 
 
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
RedFalcon17
Atlanta, GA
 
Please wait while more information about RedFalcon17 is loaded.
Additional information about RedFalcon17 could not be loaded.
i agree mo2349
Posted 1/27/11
dont get me wrong uncharted 3 will b good but mgs rising will b 5 times better cant wait 4 both games , but im mad this game was supposed 2 come out summer it was goin 2 b my prefect summer game oh will infamous 2 will b. anyway mgs risng as of rite know has my vote 4 goty!!!
Customer Avatar
Jtl07
 
Please wait while more information about Jtl07 is loaded.
Additional information about Jtl07 could not be loaded.
Xbox will finally get a real game
Posted 1/27/11
360 users should feel blessed for this.
Customer Avatar
SnakeEater7
NY
 
Please wait while more information about SnakeEater7 is loaded.
Additional information about SnakeEater7 could not be loaded.
Different and epic, but...
Posted 1/27/11
this game seems to be exellent and different from the saga but real MGS gamers love tactical espionage action, i gonna buy this game but the next MGS has to be with Naked Snake or with GreyFox (MGS 1)
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 4 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
THE MOST DISTINGUISHED OF 2013
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/13
Staples201
Location: Nashville, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As the title implies, this game is the best of 2013, and personally the best game since Uncharted 2. Graphics are other-world like with extreme detail in the pupils of Raiden's eyes to the color in the torrent of waterfall. This game can be played many, many times after it is done; at least 3 times. (excluding first) and the length is to praise as well: 9-12 hours long. The gameplay is extremely fresh and beckoning to the player, slice and dicing is as new as ever. Even though stealth action is not the main focus there are a few elements, and the new format is very fun and it does not feel repetitive or prosaic, however attention is piqued, Music and voice acting are top notch with overwhelming reality, as the music has a very catchy beat. Only problem is the peculiar camera focus when triggered blade mode, and one uninteresting boss, but overall this game is a masterpiece. So buy it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Jack's Back!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/14
Computerdragon5
Location: Miami, Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Looks like Jack is back and ready to kick some more but in this hack and slash game! My cousin introduced me to this game and I immediately fell in love with it and went and bought it the next day. The game's graphics are stunning and the music is perfect, I wouldn't chose any other set of songs. The game is truly for hardcore gamers and it was worth finishing in one sitting. There were also several unexpected scenes which kept me wanting more and made me sit at the edge of my seat. I've heard there was going to be another revengence game and I'm so looking forward to it. One of my favorite games, hands down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
No other word to use but "Hype"
Posted on:9/2/12
Baconater
Location: Springfield, Indiana
First off, I'd like to say something to all these other previews. All of you complaining about there being no stealth, it doesn't say Metal Gear SOLID, it says Metal Gear RISING. So it's not meant to have stealth gameplay, it's a new type of gameplay. And it has Metal Gear in the title, because it has some of the characters from the series. Now that that's all cleared up, let me just say these trailers take my breath away. I honestly can't wait to play this game. I've already paid it off completely and I know I won't regret it. Also, if you're planning on getting this, play MGS2 sometime before you get it. Seeing that Raiden is the main character in this, you should know his background first before he was turned into a "Super-cyborg".
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty
9.1 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
 
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Really pumped up for this game
Posted on:10/6/11
spardinng
Location: Fresno,Ca
Ok first of all even if the release date was always pushed back i'm still pumped up for this game.. I believe Kojima Productions is doing that so that this game will be technically flawless like MGS 4 which has no(from my experience in 7 playthroughs) or so so few glitches.. Plus i think they are trying to perfect the free cutting system so that us players will have a great time but i'm more looking forward to sneaking and using CQC(if available) to knock out enemies unconscious coz i love the part of MGS games.. But i will also play the slaughter raiden where i will slice and dice all of the enemies in another playthrough.. Really pumped up for this game..
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Foxhound405
Oklahoma city
 
Please wait while more information about Foxhound405 is loaded.
Additional information about Foxhound405 could not be loaded.
Not the metal gear experience i was hoping for...
Posted 11/25/11
Im a hc mgs fan but ive seen the previews for this game and its not even close to what mgs is. In actuality i believe the people at konami are thinking that they are falling behing in these action game titles coming out and want to appeal the new audience, i totally understand that, although this game is freaking awesome i would like to play new classic stealth missions withnthe fun easter eggs that mgs is famous for. either way im going to get this anyways trying to complete my collectionn :D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
It just not right
Posted on:6/17/11
Valentine01
Location: cali
ok this game is going to be epic ik this, but why is xbox getting it. I mean what if halo when to PS3 that how it is it just not right really. I see metal gear as the heart of playstation and is apart of it, like a xbox fan would see halo as the heart of xbox
is just something that shouldnt be done
55 of 73 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
TainoBlaze
NY
 
Please wait while more information about TainoBlaze is loaded.
Additional information about TainoBlaze could not be loaded.
halo should be on ps3
Posted 9/30/11
honestly. i have both systems, ps3 is alot better. almost always ps3 gets exclusive content xbox cant. but in the end they are kinda the same. but i see where your coming from. xbox games are now coming in 3 discs where ps3 only needs one. but in the end, both systems are almost identical. if its a multi-platform game, i get it for the ps3 always. ull see ps3 will get exclusive content. its almost always the case. but i see what u mean. you take our metal gear, give us halo or gears.
Customer Avatar
Codewa
Edmond, OK
 
Please wait while more information about Codewa is loaded.
Additional information about Codewa could not be loaded.
He's right you know.
Posted 8/2/11
If you're going to dislike on xbox getting a certain game you need reasons. Like if they dumb down both the ps3 and the 360 version just for the 360's sake because it has a hard time running larger, more complex environments. Or because of how seamless the Playstation move works and how it is better applied to the game than kinects.
Customer Avatar
HealthyPlague
 
Please wait while more information about HealthyPlague is loaded.
Additional information about HealthyPlague could not be loaded.
research
Posted 6/29/11
this isnt the first time a metal gear title has been on a microsoft system and isnt going to be the last. when complaining try and be a little smarter please.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 9 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
cant wait to play the campagn a 1000 times
Posted on:5/9/12
acdcfan101
i played all the metal gear games i thought it was some of the greatest masterpieces ever made i cant wait for this one
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
This Isn't M.G.S (Totally Different Game Series)
Posted on:9/16/12
AC3Assassin
Location: Hoover, Alabama
This Is A Whole Different Game Series, I Hear Lots Of People Writing Reviews Like, This Isn't Metal Gear Solid! They Took Out The Stealth! Whats The Point? Well LISTEN TO ME, This IS NOT METAL GEAR SOLID. This Is Metal Gear Rising Introducing Raiden Who Was In A Metal Gear Solid Game But Wasn't The Main Charecter. This Is Totally Different. I'm Sorry If They Are Disappointing You With This But This Is Not Stealth It Is Hack And Slash. If You Want Stealth This Is Definetly Not The Game For You. This Has Nothing To Do With Stealth. I Kind of Like This Idea. If This Gets Tons Of Downrates Then Clearly You Didn't Read The Title.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jack2023
AZ
 
Please wait while more information about Jack2023 is loaded.
Additional information about Jack2023 could not be loaded.
The MG story goes on without the S!
Posted 10/16/12
Im filled with joy to see other people are understanding that this isnt MGS. And they are right, MGS is how I see it "over and done with." If you look at the story of MGS4, Liquid Ocelot, Big Boss, and Zero, are dead. And even SOP system is gone. What more can they do with Solid Snake!? And I don't have my hopes up for another MGS simply becouse every thing that made the story is gone. Even Snake is done with fighing! You hear him say it at the end after the credits!! Im happy for this game coming out, simply on the fact that there keeping the story of the METAL GEAR going! And im in the mood for a good "Hack n' Slash" game other then God of War. But remamber! Even though the story of Solid is over that dosn't mean the story of Metal Gear is!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
OMG AWSOME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/14
jordanslu01
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Omg that game is so cool even though I am only a girl and 14 years old I love raiden no matter what happened. Those cutscenes were pretty intense even the one when raiden's eye and arm were cut off!!!! I don't have the game but I love how it goes than the other games. I have got to get this as so as I have the money I need.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
WOW!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/14
jordanslu01
Location: IL
This game is the number one best favorite game to play as raiden even though he was suffering a few more injuries but at least he is so AWSOME. I love this game so much!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Why Not??
Posted on:9/6/11
SF420
Location: Dresden, Maine
I wish they would remake all the MGS series from all platforms to make a bundle pack out of it for PS3 i would love to see even the NES one redone with ps3 graphics i absloutely love the series an have beat them all. i enjoy playing as snake hope theres some playable clone of him, but i think playin liquid snakes back story would be awsome too probably getting ahead of myself but we will see pumped up for MGS:R release
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
timetolvlup
Fryeburg, Maine
 
Please wait while more information about timetolvlup is loaded.
Additional information about timetolvlup could not be loaded.
they did!
Posted 9/25/11
http://www.gamestop.com/ps3/games/metal-gear-solid-hd-collection/91655
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Kojima passed this off, so shall I
Posted on:12/26/11
Chris2z
Location: Norwell, MA
Kojima, the mastermind behind the Metal Gear series, recently announced he was stopping his directing of this game, he handed it over to the people who made "Bayonetta" which doesn't seem like a good idea to me. Kojima is the brains behind the whole series and without him, well, I think the game will flop. Who are half these characters anyways? The guys in suits totally remind me of the Turks from Final Fantasy VII. And that other guy, he looks like a male version of Bayonetta. I like having new characters, but every single character is new, including the voices on the com! A few characters, sure, but this is just Raiden. How will it fit in the storyline? We'll have to wait and see. Anyways, this MAY be the worst game in the Metal Gear series due to the fact that Kojima quit, but we won't know till it is released.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
mgs rising release date
Posted on:4/12/12
sajjaad
Location: Chicago IL
Release Date any one?I have been waiting for a long time i have searched on line saved up money and willing to take off a week of work just play this game
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AC3Assassin
Hoover, Alabama
 
Please wait while more information about AC3Assassin is loaded.
Additional information about AC3Assassin could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Late 2012 Or Early 2013
Posted 8/19/12
I Believe The Release Date Is Early 2013, Maybe March? Idk.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
I can't WAIT!!!
Posted on:8/7/11
genisisx
Location: Indianapolis, IN
This game is going to be beast, hopefully as good or better than MGS4. On a side note, I really really reeeeallllly hope they don't lower the quality of this game for the 360's sake. Don't get me wrong, I love my 360, but I don't think they should be getting this game. It feels like it should be exclusive to the PS3 like Halo is exclusive to the 360, but thats IMO. In any case, I hope everybody enjoys this game when it is released, hopefully in fall 2012 :)
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Rising
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/13
BlazingSoul29
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It’s an extremely solid action game. While not as polished as others in the genre, what it lacks in functionality, it makes up for with personality and blade mode. For a Metal Gear fan, this game's overall universe will be perfect for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Not Tactical Espionage Action
Posted on:6/1/11
Penn0086
Location: Annapolis, MD
The game looks pretty neat with the cutting mechanics. Hopefully it won't slow down everything too much to stop and try and figure out what angle you're going to be cutting through something. People are commenting about the lack of guns and tranqs to not kill people. This is not a sneaking game, the objective is to.. as the trailers put it " CUT EVERYTHING! " so fans of the originals might be a little put off. Hopefully it won't just be another Devil May Cry of War clone with a Raiden paint scheme.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Everpatrick
 
Please wait while more information about Everpatrick is loaded.
Additional information about Everpatrick could not be loaded.
Just listen to me folks
Posted 9/16/11
Ok look i have played every metal gear made with the exception of the first original Metal gear and metal gear 2 on the old nintendo I and solid snake were both born at the same time and have grown up together so i know a bit about the franchise :) Points #1.Not to be mean but yes i think that they should only make it for the Ps3 for the simple fact that Microsoft does not want to share their titles with anybody else, yet they want everybody to let them have their titles but at the same time if they dont make it for 360 then Konami and Kojima will lose considerable cash flow thats just fact so in the end they have to make it for all consoles to make a really good buck sad but its true. #2. Yes they need to make this one involve a little more stealthyness than in MGS4 becouse in that game most of it was run and gun if they are doing the type of stealth that i think that they are doing its going to be really cool and you guys will love it too. Imagine sneaking around for a while and coming up on 5 guys around a corner and taking them all out within a matter of seconds while they are trying to shoot at you! Pretty cool huh? Yeah i think thats the way the game is going to be. Not sneek around and take down one guy at a time quietly, but take down several then get out before anybody notices like a NINJA. #3 This game will likely have either no firearms or very few becouse the whole point of the game is to be like a NINJA. #4 Ever since we all saw the first cyborg ninja aka. Grey fox in Metal Gear Solid for ps one i know that i am not alone when i say that i have always wanted to play as the cyborg ninja :) and this game will definately deliver, its the game ive been waiting on for years and something that i have found is no matter what in the end Mr. Kojima always delivers an awesome game even if we find things to troll about :)
Customer Avatar
Valium
 
Please wait while more information about Valium is loaded.
Additional information about Valium could not be loaded.
MGS1 was not the first one..spoilers careful
Posted 7/8/11
for those of you who werent alive or aware. mgs1 isnt the first game. it mentions it in 4 the thing about major zero. why big boss killed him see between,3, when you played as big boss,and 1 as solid snake. their was another game as in the first mgs EVER it was for nintendo 64 if you could even find that game anymore then congrats thats why solid snake is in super smash bros. he was originaly nintendo :) its about big boss and zero fighting i believe :o
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 19 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Will be Amazing!
Posted on:4/20/11
ronniedonnie719
Location: MD
I saw a preview for this at E3 2010! November 1st 2012?! That's a serious gap between the first trailer I saw and when the game is actually coming out! Hopefully, it will be worth the long wait.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty
9.1 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sylenxing
Elsewhere
 
Please wait while more information about Sylenxing is loaded.
Additional information about Sylenxing could not be loaded.
Hopefully it pans out better then Raiden in MGS2
Posted 2/9/13
All though this isn't a direct title to the actual series. It will be a story for fans of Raiden to get to know him a little bit more and his story. Since Raiden isn't a concrete character. Of course Kojimas origin intent of having Raiden take over for Snake in Metal Gear Solid: Sons of liberty but it didn't go over well as not a lot of people liked raiden in part 2. Myself included. No one can ever replace Snake. He is just that good of a character. And for that person who said that's why we don't know much about snake? Probably haven't played the MG and MG2. As a fan of the series, this will be a different kind of experience for me because I am looking forward to the gameplay.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance
Thoughts
Posted on:5/20/11
AeroMaster
1-Why the heck does Xbox get this?! No hating or anything but they already have Halo let them play that. 2-This is a clarafication this takes place before MGS4 so therefore Snake is very much alive but he doesn't know where Raiden is so he wouldn't be in this game period (Suckish much) 3-Why no guns/tranquillizers? It is extremely hard not to kill a person with a giant sword. Doesn't this sound slightly Final Fantasy to everyone? 4-Why so long a wait? It doesn't come out untill 2012. 5-Great game I just wish there were more details in the coming months.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Everpatrick
 
Please wait while more information about Everpatrick is loaded.
Additional information about Everpatrick could not be loaded.
Posted 9/16/11
Its not going to have alot of guns cause its a cyborg ninja game man! and as far as being final fatasy like in real life an expert swordsman can strike you in several differant spots to render you helpless and not kill you so its going to be pretty realistic as far as disabling opponents goes.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>