GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PROTOTYPE 2

PROTOTYPE®2 takes the unsurpassed carnage of Radical Entertainment's original best-selling open-world game of 2009 - PROTOTYPE - and delivers the most over-the-top action game of 2012. Cut your way through the viral wastelands of NYZ and build up a vast genetic arsenal as you hunt, kill and consume your way toward the ultimate goal... destroying Alex Mercer!
Average Customer Rating:
8.818
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
11
8 stars
6
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
36 out of 4482%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PROTOTYPE 2
Review 1 for PROTOTYPE 2
Excitement and Desire
Posted on:6/5/11
TheCrazyMan
I've seen the screen shots, the E3 preview, and the Gameinformer pre-review. I've played the original Prototype and really liked it, this one looks promising, they say they'll fix some of the aspects the first game fell short with, so I hope they really deliver. All the new powers should give it a different feel to the first, as well as the new character and back story and different final goal (much like Dead Space into Dead Space 2, which was incredible). So as the release date closes in I hope to learn more of the game so my excitement can grow more. Can't wait!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PROTOTYPE 2
PROTOTYPE 2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/13
alanawesome
Location: San Diego
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Some people say that 2009 succesfull open world game PROTOTYPE was a copy of 2009 Sony open world game InFAMOUS , but to be honest , if i like PROTOTYPE it was because of the beastful action , gore and the powers and how does the game let you feel invincible , PRTOTYPE 2 as a good sequel its a good game , with changes to the franchise like a new protagonist looking for revenge , a new villan (our hero from PROTOTYPE) and new powers and upgrades , this game is fun at the overall , once you learn the basic movement and powers you will find yourself destroying and killing everything , overall combat system its gory and bloody , its kinda repetitive sometimes , boss fights are good also and thers a lot to collect on this game and some minigames around the city , climbing feels awesome just like the powers and i can say its a good deal , i enjoyed this game and maybe its not reallly something new compared to the 1st one , but still a fun to play game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for PROTOTYPE 2
Very fun but nothing spectacular
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/12
TRR23
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Prototype 2 is certainly an improvement over its predecessor, telling the tale of James Heller on his quest for vengeance. Despite a cliche and overused story, Prototype 2 still provides an interesting tale, although not as interesting as the original. That is perfectly fine as Prototype 2 is not about the story. The ridiculous amount of destruction and mayhem is what Prototype 2 is about. Combat is very similar to the original but also improves upon it. Annihilating everything from soldiers to infected to helicopters is great and it feels much smoother now . New additions like the bio bomb and pack leader add fun while the original claws and other powers brought back still do the job. The graphics are another improvement from the original. While nothing on the scale of Skyrim or Uncharted, Prototype 2 certainly does have nice visuals. The main story is not too long but with a good number of extra side missions and an endless amount of things to destory , Prototype 2 is still worth playing even once you beat it. All in all, Prototype 2 is an alright game that is extremely fun to play. It might not be game of the year, but it certainly is one of the most enjoyable.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PROTOTYPE 2
Can not wait
Posted on:3/17/11
njamesokeefe96
Location: Chesapeake, VA
I can not wait till this game comes out. I played the first game it is was a blast. My favorite part was being able to take over tanks and helicopters. I hope there will be more stuff that you can do in the secound one like being able to take control of cars and trucks. Also, It will be cool if you could use two different powers at the same time like one hand be the claw power and the other hand be the blade.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MosVishus
Salt lake city, UT
 
Please wait while more information about MosVishus is loaded.
Additional information about MosVishus could not be loaded.
Posted 4/5/11
techically u could use 2 at once, u could use the sword and shield at the same time, and if u were really quick with the ability wheel u could switch fast enough that it didn't matter, i know i was, cuz i would do all kinds of mean things to helicopters
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for PROTOTYPE 2
Great game but not after beating it 2 or 3 times!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/12
sodacota
Location: NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is wicked fun because there is a lot to unlock. I beat the game 2 time and still want to play it. Short story line but radnet is rely fun as well. Brawler Packs to Bio Bombs all the new things make the game even cooler to freerome. The DLC packs expands the gameplay. The ending was good and the game has some unsuspected twists. The +new game is really cool you get all your weapons again instead of going all the way through the game to get them again. Blackbox's are a cool thing to collect because if you find enough in one area you get a mutation award. You'll love this game if you like infamous.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PROTOTYPE 2
Should be pretty good.
Posted on:11/19/11
DrPixel
Location: Phoenix, AZ
I personally enjoyed the first Prototype, contrary to what many others think. It had great gameplay mixed in with the unique graphics. The story may have been weak but with sequels you just never know, they might extremely improve the series in general or bring it down. I think Prototype 2 will be pretty good, although if it doesn't do so well with the critics then I'll get it once the price drops.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PROTOTYPE 2
Mostly an improvement
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/14
dnlcod3
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I cannot decide if this game should be a 7/10 or 8/10. It has so much content reused from the original that it almost feels like an expansion. However, there is a lot of new and improved features.. Combat is greatly improved, to the point where there is the absence of any challenge in the game. Movement has been streamlined to create a more efficient moving protagonist. Stealth is still atrocious at best, but is vastly improved. Point is, there are a lot new features in this game, but many features have just been reused. The story is mediocre. It evokes little except for the very beginning of the game, but then let's the ship of drama and decent writing sail away and sink. The world is bigger and more destructible, feels much more alive, but about half of it is reused from the first game (which is just an exact replica of lower Manhattan). That would be about it, except for the fact that this game has absolutely useless online features. Radical added this pointless challenges that allow the player to compare his/her score with his/her friend. The problem is, these challenges and events are so boring! Lastly, I am glad that this game almost always runs at 30fps, even though the graphics could use a major improvement.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for PROTOTYPE 2
BEST GAME i think of 2012
Posted on:4/21/12
33031234567890
Location: kentcuky
i checked it out online and i think this game will rule. i preordered it and saw the bio butt bomb kicker this was a must have for me. the only draw back is there is no multiplayer which i think could have been huge and kept players in it for even longer. but radnet edition should keep players to for the reason u can be alex mercer if you beat it. and all the new mutations and backgrounds you can get for beating radnet. overall i think this is gonna be the best game i have ever played.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kurupt21
 
Please wait while more information about Kurupt21 is loaded.
Additional information about Kurupt21 could not be loaded.
Posted 4/26/12
It a good game but the ending is really a pointless waste of time since its so challeging even on the easiest difficulty. the endless dodging a blocking with no counter punches leaves me dying time after time
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for PROTOTYPE 2
RADICAL!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
masterbreaker1476
Location: california ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
so awesome i like the powers they made, activision just puted up their game i realy want to play it, people should buy this its for fun and all for you hardcore gamers out there u gotta try this, i hope they make prototype 3 =]
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PROTOTYPE 2
I Just Gotta Say
Posted on:8/5/11
revi
Location: FL
This game kills me inside i really liked alex mercer i dont see why i have to kill him in this new game. i hate heller. the new powers look cool but they didnt really show that much which makes prototype a classic and this an unknown. oh well its not going on my preorder list but i may buy it late 2012
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PROTOTYPE 2
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/12
Madden8
Location: Shep
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Game is absolutely amazing. Big upgrade from the first. If you liked it you'll love this one. So much to do and powers are cool. Graphics are a big upgrade. Haven't beaten it yet but hear it is kinda short. In my opinion a must have if you are into open world games like gta, infamous, etc.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PROTOTYPE 2
BEST GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/12
boythist
Location: new york,ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
all of my type of games are in prototype 2 its one of the best action games james heller power are over rated it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PROTOTYPE 2
ausum preview
Posted on:4/27/11
OldLegend13
Location: Texas, TX
The first [Prototype] was very cool when I first saw it and play it, now [Prototype] 2 seeing the preview makes me want to play it as well. seeing now abeltys, new monsters, and new charter like Alex Mirser. The mane thing I want to see is the fight of James Heller and Alex Mirser, it will be like the fight of Venom and Carnage. I can not wait!!!!
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PROTOTYPE 2
:D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/12
BlackToiletWater
Location: Chicago, Ill
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is probably my favorite game ever. Its better then the 1st even though i like Alex better :P But, in Prototype 2 the controls are easy to use and everything goes more smoothly then the 1st one. Awesome thing in the game is that you can be Alex from selecting a skin in some menu thing. So that fixes the only problem i have with the game haha. But yeah, the game is awesome. You kill everything you see, blow stuff up, run/fly around and have fun. The powers that are in the game are amazing. I could play story mode over and over and still enjoy the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PROTOTYPE 2
Building on Good to be Great
Posted on:12/14/11
AnimatorCP4E
The first Prototype was a blast. Playing the game, you feel like a power house. All of the ways Alex Mercer morphs his body look cool and feel powerful. The game was good for a few playthroughs and was fun each time. Radical Entertainment say that they're focussing on making an amazing single player game. That, along with the gameplay I've seen, make me feel confident that Prototype 2 will be as fun as the first, but with many more cool looking toys and an increased replay value due to mutations of weapons.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PROTOTYPE 2
Amazing Game! But...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/12
Kiryu1337
Location: Aburndale FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is absolutely amazing, I have never had so much fun playing a video game like prototype. The game itself is great but MOST of the animations are from the 1st prototype, Heller doesnt have his own unique style. Consuming/Fight/Hijacking is pretty much the same. The game itself makes up for it.
I suggest this game to anyone who likes open world games and wants to have just an amazing time. The story is also very good.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PROTOTYPE 2
Will be great!!
Posted on:7/22/11
Matt183
Location: sacramento,CA
I have played the first prototype and it was so cool. I didnt even have to play it all the way, I just played until I got the claws and stopped because I had fun chopping people in half. I am so looking fowerd to this I just hate that it doesnt come out till next year. Its gonna feel like a long time to wait but i am so sure it will be worth it in the end. I would so reccomend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Badon
L.A
 
Please wait while more information about Badon is loaded.
Additional information about Badon could not be loaded.
Prototype
Posted 10/23/11
I beat prototype 1 the last mission was a huge monster. The 1st prototype was long I wonder how long the send prototype is going to be. I cant wait til prototype im dying to play it with helers new powers and the tendrill attack
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for PROTOTYPE 2
Prototype 2 is a marked improvement upon the first
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/12
Meech268
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Prototype 2 is a marked improvement upon the first. The game plays very well--they have added dodge moves and seem less transition between two of any abilities. The combat is by far over the top and engaging, and as a result is the main draw. The combat is very fluid, in that it can be utilized to fit your play style and it allows for you to freely adapt your strategy dynamically. The open-world is not the best but it is a veritable playground of destruction. The graphics are greatly improved from Prototype 1, and the art style is solid. The tentacles and claws and whips and blades are all quite visceral in their application. The pure sense of power you get launching yourself into the air and then rocketing to the ground with destructive fists in-toe, then crashing into dozens of enemies and either ripping the top of a tank or weaponizing it is incredible. A lot of people compare this game to Infamous and I own both 1-2 of both games, and I can honestly say they are both great franchises but If you truly want to feel ALL-POWERFUL then you cant go wrong with the visceral and engaging prototype 2. One last thing, the game has multiple difficulty settings and even on normal (with which I played) it can be strategic--in that if you loose your concentration you will get pummeled. Great sequel 9 out of 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PROTOTYPE 2
James Heller Baby!!!
Posted on:3/21/12
DjBoris
Location: silverspring, MD
well, the first prototype was oustanding, the way you could jump around killing everybody and doing whatever you want was very fun. I learned from assassin creed 2 that changing the main character in a franchise might be a good thing so i hope its the case with Prototype 2. JAMES HELLER ALL THE WAY!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PROTOTYPE 2
Prototype 2 > Prototype
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/12
VAGamer
Location: Charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played the 1st prototype and wasn't too impressed. The gameplay was fun but the story was lacking. With Prototype 2 the story is actually worth working toward the end for. It plays just like the first one just a little more polished.The graphics are about the same as the 1st one. Sound is pretty good but nothing mind blowing. Not sure how much replay value there is to the game but it does have a some side missions, tapes you need to retrieve to get a better background on the story, and people that you need to absorb to get information about Gentek. I have enjoyed my time with prototype 2. If you enjoyed the 1st prototype then you will enjoy the 2nd one.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>