GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PROTOTYPE 2

PROTOTYPE®2 takes the unsurpassed carnage of Radical Entertainment's original best-selling open-world game of 2009 - PROTOTYPE - and delivers the most over-the-top action game of 2012. Cut your way through the viral wastelands of NYZ and build up a vast genetic arsenal as you hunt, kill and consume your way toward the ultimate goal... destroying Alex Mercer!
Average Customer Rating:
8.837
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
11
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
36 out of 4384%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PROTOTYPE 2
Review 1 for PROTOTYPE 2
PROTOTYPE 2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/13
alanawesome
Location: San Diego
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Some people say that 2009 succesfull open world game PROTOTYPE was a copy of 2009 Sony open world game InFAMOUS , but to be honest , if i like PROTOTYPE it was because of the beastful action , gore and the powers and how does the game let you feel invincible , PRTOTYPE 2 as a good sequel its a good game , with changes to the franchise like a new protagonist looking for revenge , a new villan (our hero from PROTOTYPE) and new powers and upgrades , this game is fun at the overall , once you learn the basic movement and powers you will find yourself destroying and killing everything , overall combat system its gory and bloody , its kinda repetitive sometimes , boss fights are good also and thers a lot to collect on this game and some minigames around the city , climbing feels awesome just like the powers and i can say its a good deal , i enjoyed this game and maybe its not reallly something new compared to the 1st one , but still a fun to play game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for PROTOTYPE 2
Better than the 1st
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/13
Angryman2012
Location: Phily- Home of the brave
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved the first prototype and was excited to play the second. everything that was good about the 1st was amped up in the second, plus a great final battle. if you liked the first then you will love prototype 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for PROTOTYPE 2
God is GOOOOOOOOD for giving us fingers and thumb!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/13
Hellman
Location: Decatur, AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Easily 100 times better than the 1st. Smoother gameplay, awesome finishing moves, UPPERCUTTING HELICOPTERS, dual reflecting shields, bio-bombs, summoning and commanding monstrous beasts, tearing gatling guns and missile launchers, epic battle music, online challenges to kill a lot of enemies, and buckets upon buckets of BLOOOOOOOOOOD!! The story and new anti-hero is also a good touch, along with new more awesome enemies and new environment, particularly the Red Zone which is always fun for those seeking to make endless chaos.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for PROTOTYPE 2
short game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
nickname23456
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
they really should add like a multiplayer to prototype. the campaign is really short. the events are just horrible and boring to do.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PROTOTYPE 2
Great game but not after beating it 2 or 3 times!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/12
sodacota
Location: NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is wicked fun because there is a lot to unlock. I beat the game 2 time and still want to play it. Short story line but radnet is rely fun as well. Brawler Packs to Bio Bombs all the new things make the game even cooler to freerome. The DLC packs expands the gameplay. The ending was good and the game has some unsuspected twists. The +new game is really cool you get all your weapons again instead of going all the way through the game to get them again. Blackbox's are a cool thing to collect because if you find enough in one area you get a mutation award. You'll love this game if you like infamous.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PROTOTYPE 2
Not perfect, but still worth it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
Guamboy671
Location: Guam,GU
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Most of James' voice acting is cursing and threatening but what the heck he's the prototype! The story isn't really compelling or grabbing but it if you like it you like it. In other words the game has it's flaws but no game is perfect. You possess the powers of a 'GOD' as they say and nonetheless you should get this game if not at least have a look, it's definitely worth a look.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for PROTOTYPE 2
Not Good
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/12
vasquez99
Location: Dover Fl
This Game Was to short improved but not much free roam Id rather play the first one because it hadmore freedom
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PROTOTYPE 2
Great but too short story line
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
GamerGuy2101
Location: Vicksburg, MS
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
PROTOTYPE 2 is AWESOME, but i beat it in one day. the story line is way too short. Besides that I love it and recommend it for all gamers
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PROTOTYPE 2
Very Bored
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
LeonEvil12
Location: Laredo Texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This Game Is To Bored And Don't Spend Money In That Piece Of Trash Spend Your Money In Best Games Like Resident Evil Zombie Games
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PROTOTYPE 2
worth playing but not buying .
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
freeroamlover
Location: georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the game itself is terrific but the lasting appeal isn't .it's not challenging enough for hardcore gamers.there really enogh missions or side missions for the game to be satisfying.the monsters are so common they start to seem weak.its good to borrow but not to buy.its a gamefly game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for PROTOTYPE 2
RADICAL!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
masterbreaker1476
Location: california ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
so awesome i like the powers they made, activision just puted up their game i realy want to play it, people should buy this its for fun and all for you hardcore gamers out there u gotta try this, i hope they make prototype 3 =]
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PROTOTYPE 2
they really step their game up
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
gmoney1986
Location: florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
loved the first prototype. love this one more.better graphics. they actually make u powerful right out the gate. instead of in one were ur powerful towards the end. the give u alot more to do. my biggest issues are the devestator . wasup wit that?! so weak!! and only 2?. and my other issue is after u beat the game. u dont feel the need to go back. but other than that great game. buy it new and support franchieses like this one that try new concepts and do them well.3
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for PROTOTYPE 2
fun gameplay but.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/12
A22HOLE
Location: NA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game overall is fantastic but in replay value it sucks. i can see alot of DLC for this game because they did not put alot of stuff to keep you playing. there will be a list of longer games at the bottom.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PROTOTYPE 2
:D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/12
BlackToiletWater
Location: Chicago, Ill
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is probably my favorite game ever. Its better then the 1st even though i like Alex better :P But, in Prototype 2 the controls are easy to use and everything goes more smoothly then the 1st one. Awesome thing in the game is that you can be Alex from selecting a skin in some menu thing. So that fixes the only problem i have with the game haha. But yeah, the game is awesome. You kill everything you see, blow stuff up, run/fly around and have fun. The powers that are in the game are amazing. I could play story mode over and over and still enjoy the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PROTOTYPE 2
Very fun but nothing spectacular
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/12
TRR23
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Prototype 2 is certainly an improvement over its predecessor, telling the tale of James Heller on his quest for vengeance. Despite a cliche and overused story, Prototype 2 still provides an interesting tale, although not as interesting as the original. That is perfectly fine as Prototype 2 is not about the story. The ridiculous amount of destruction and mayhem is what Prototype 2 is about. Combat is very similar to the original but also improves upon it. Annihilating everything from soldiers to infected to helicopters is great and it feels much smoother now . New additions like the bio bomb and pack leader add fun while the original claws and other powers brought back still do the job. The graphics are another improvement from the original. While nothing on the scale of Skyrim or Uncharted, Prototype 2 certainly does have nice visuals. The main story is not too long but with a good number of extra side missions and an endless amount of things to destory , Prototype 2 is still worth playing even once you beat it. All in all, Prototype 2 is an alright game that is extremely fun to play. It might not be game of the year, but it certainly is one of the most enjoyable.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PROTOTYPE 2
SO SHORT
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/12
prototypegamer2121
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
IT WAS ONE BEST GAMES OF THE YEAR BUT I BEAT IT IN 1 DAY I GOT DLC BUT IT ONLY NEW POWERS NO NEW MISSONS SO i spend 60 $ for a game i beat in a day so my srewed spend most game money on it so
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PROTOTYPE 2
Good but......
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/12
delta66
Location: arizona
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First this game is a lot of FUN, better then the 1 prototype, i have played for 5 hrs and it is really good , graph could be better i would recommend this one like others say, if u R into open world this is for u. This title is for every one hard core or soft or average gamers, but its Mature rating so NO kiddies ok. HOPE THEY MAKE PROTOTYPE 3 Next Gen graphs and more god like powers
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PROTOTYPE 2
Great Game !! But....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/12
GameReviews181
Location: Mt.Vernon
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Prototype 2 is way better then 1 in every way. Heller is just a complete bad ... and is always just so angry and connects you to him. Graphics could be better i mean come on were in 2012!! Anyways the game is great go buy it! I just dont like the ending ! i mean come on couldeve been alot more epic..
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for PROTOTYPE 2
Prototype 2 > Prototype
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/12
VAGamer
Location: Charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played the 1st prototype and wasn't too impressed. The gameplay was fun but the story was lacking. With Prototype 2 the story is actually worth working toward the end for. It plays just like the first one just a little more polished.The graphics are about the same as the 1st one. Sound is pretty good but nothing mind blowing. Not sure how much replay value there is to the game but it does have a some side missions, tapes you need to retrieve to get a better background on the story, and people that you need to absorb to get information about Gentek. I have enjoyed my time with prototype 2. If you enjoyed the 1st prototype then you will enjoy the 2nd one.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PROTOTYPE 2
Prototype 2 is a marked improvement upon the first
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/12
Meech268
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Prototype 2 is a marked improvement upon the first. The game plays very well--they have added dodge moves and seem less transition between two of any abilities. The combat is by far over the top and engaging, and as a result is the main draw. The combat is very fluid, in that it can be utilized to fit your play style and it allows for you to freely adapt your strategy dynamically. The open-world is not the best but it is a veritable playground of destruction. The graphics are greatly improved from Prototype 1, and the art style is solid. The tentacles and claws and whips and blades are all quite visceral in their application. The pure sense of power you get launching yourself into the air and then rocketing to the ground with destructive fists in-toe, then crashing into dozens of enemies and either ripping the top of a tank or weaponizing it is incredible. A lot of people compare this game to Infamous and I own both 1-2 of both games, and I can honestly say they are both great franchises but If you truly want to feel ALL-POWERFUL then you cant go wrong with the visceral and engaging prototype 2. One last thing, the game has multiple difficulty settings and even on normal (with which I played) it can be strategic--in that if you loose your concentration you will get pummeled. Great sequel 9 out of 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>