GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metro: Last Light

It is the year 2034.Beneath the ruins of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, the remnants of mankind are besieged by deadly threats from outside - and within.Mutants stalk the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt amidst the poisoned skies above.But rather than stand united, the station-cities of the Metro are locked in a struggle for the ultimate power, a doomsday device from the military vaults of D6. A civil war is stirring that could wipe humanity from the face of the earth forever.As Artyom, burdened by guilt but driven by hope, you hold the key to our survival - the last light in our darkest hour...
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
6
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 2282%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metro: Last Light
Review 1 for Metro: Last Light
Sequel to one of the greatest unknown games ever
Posted on:7/13/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
Metro 2033 (the prequel) was an amazing post-apocalyptic sci-fi first-person-shooter with one of the best atmospheres and storylines I've ever encountered. It wasn't necessarily the best selling game ever but among those that played it.... it has a crazy cult following because simply; there aren't a whole lot of games that have such a rich story and that draw you into the game as well as Metro 2033 does.
You should really check out the in-game footage from both the old Metro 2033 and the upcoming Metro: Last Light if you enjoy First Person Shooters or just highly atmospheric games in general. I don't want to give anything away about the game, really..... I went into it knowing next-to-nothing and the whole experience blew me away. Just know that it is a modern classic among many gaming connoisseurs and it is pretty reasonably priced used (although it has taken a while to go down in price..... it seems to be selling steadily as more people stumble upon it.... it really is an under-advertized game that many people are unaware of).
The point of all of that being: if you look through the "Preview Buzz" for Metro: Last Light you see many people that are just an enthusiastic about this game as I am. I hope some people out there reading this will think "Gee, why haven't I heard of such a neat game" and at least check out some reviews or game footage and get interested in both Metro: Last Light and it's prequel. I selfishly hope the company does well so they keep cranking out more sequels.... :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
28 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metro: Last Light
Not just an FPS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Metro Last Light is truly a great game, being different from all others but it's previous one. The games pros include it's story, where you play as Artyom, a ranger, in search for the last dark one after you nuked its people. The story is wild, and always fun. There are plenty of levels, all not being too long so it can keep you engaged, which I absolutely was. I played for more than 5 hours at a time. Although the game only has a campaign, you will want to play again in harder difficulties, and the DLC is definitely worth a look. The world is also a masterpiece, showing the desperation and cool wasteland above and below ground. The only cons are some graphical glitches (I don't really care about graphics, I play the first Wolfenstein, trust me), and some stealth issues where they should've honestly seen you at times. I don't really care though, since the game is hard enough and it can almost be a pro since it makes it so enjoyable. Overall it's amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Metro: Last Light
Now in my top 3 for the Survival/Horror genre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
ReaperKiller
Location: Tucson, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off if you haven't played Metro 2033, do yourself a favor and play that first....
The Good: Metro Last Light nails intense survival gameplay and immersive storytelling like no other game 4A studios did an amazing job from start to finish with every ounce of detail and depressing atmosphere, awesome weapons, linearity with purpose, and still somehow plenty to explore. I've not been so sucked into a story in a very long time
The Bad: If you played Metro 2033 you know that the A.I. was broken, but in my opinion it made the game so much better, one wrong move and it was game over, in Metro Last Light ( and im guessing to try to bring to a more mainstream crowd), they dumbed down the A.I. for the human enemies you face, ALOT. It's kind of sad and definitely took away from a nearly perfect game.... and the only reason I gave this game a 9 instead of a 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metro: Last Light
This game is amazing, I love it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/13
thepostman45
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played 2033 And enjoyed it very much. When I found out last light was going to come out I was very excited. Having the two new producers really upped the graphics from the last game. There are too many words for me to describe the atmosphere of metro last light, And there is some good philosophy too. Everything in the game description does it justice, and I would rate this as one of the best shooters I have ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metro: Last Light
The sequel to an underrated game.
Posted on:6/2/11
Dorby5826and360
Location: Littlestown, PA
When I first played the game Metro 2033 I fell in love with the game. Yes, that game does have many flaws since it was technically a low budget game, but the game felt so unique and fun. Metro 2033 was such an underrated game that should have had more attention then it did. I will definitely be pick this game up and playing it. P.S. if you have a powerful PC, I would recommend that you buy it for that instead of the console version, although the console version will not be bad either.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Metro 2033
8.8 out of 10(8)
 
 
 
 
 
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metro: Last Light
The Guiding Light for First-Person Shooters
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/13
FlyersFan87
Location: Holmes, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Metro: Last Light is a perfect representation of everything that the first-person shooter can and should be. It's immersive, intense, varied, well-paced, and atmospheric. Everything has been improved with Last Light over its predecessor. The graphics, gameplay mechanics, story, sound design, and controls are all better and rival genre standouts like BioShock, Half-Life, and Halo. Not your typical shooting gallery, the Metro series includes elements such as stealth, awareness, status effect management, and decision-making as well. Last Light also features leisure activities and NPC interactions that truly bring the world to life, borrowing some stylistic inclusions from the Fallout series but putting their own, Metro-influenced take on it. The setting of a post-apocalyptic future is what fans of the more recent Fallout games would salivate over, and the story is engaging and keeps you on the edge of your seat. If you didn't know, the Metro game series is loosely based on a novel by famed Russian author Dmitry Glukhovsky, and he himself wrote the plot and dialogue for the game. Of course, everything that Metro 2033 fans loved remains, and elevates what was a good start with that entry into the upper echelon among first-person shooters. I don't make reviews unless the game truly impresses me beyond my expectations so please...if you love this genre, do yourself a solid and buy Metro: Last Light. I promise you won't be disappointed, and you'll be supporting a developer that really deserves a ton of credit given their situation and the final product. Thanks for reading.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metro: Last Light
Waaay to short..
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/13
GxOxPx420
Location: Staunton, Va
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It was a great game!! I loved it, very fun/ thrilling campaign but it was about as short as this review.....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Metro: Last Light
This trailer is w i c k e d ...
Posted on:12/1/11
beam
Location: new britain, ct
Just wanted to say I am 36 and this trailer makes me feel like a kid waiting for Christmas morning. I am sooo glad that video games have held the power to keep me just as enthusiastic as they did years ago. I like many others have seen video games from the dawn of PONG, Intellivison, Odyssey, Etc....
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metro: Last Light
It could've been better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/14
MattYJ98
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I honestly thought this game was going to be good before I got it. I read some good reviews so I thought, why not? The first day I played the game, I was pretty into it. I understood what was going on in the story. The game mechanics are kinda flawed in the fact that if your in the "dark" you can be seen. The throwing knives are OP, the guns are nerfed, but the takedown animations are pretty sweet. The voice acting was AWFUL. At times more than one person is talking or a long silence when there should be talking. I have to say, the game is pretty good overall but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who has played better games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 10 for Metro: Last Light
Speechless
Posted on:9/6/11
joegamer
Location: Pittsburgh
I have been speechless ever since Metro 2033, and now to see Metro: Last Light.... UNBELIEVABLE!!!! Just when you thought it couldn't get any better than that.... it does. *PRE-ORDERED!* i just hope it releases sometime this year!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Metro: Last Light
Pure excellence.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/13
Fergg
Location: Mass.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To be completely honest, I never played metro 2033, and I had never seen anything on this game besides one trailer that was released in 2010, possibly the first trailer. Other than that this game has been quite a mystery, but I can tell you that this game is absolutely amazing and I consider this being one of those games that is 100% necessary in the industry. We as gamers are plagued by sequel after sequel, the same generic engines, and boring, repetitive experiences. It takes games like this to really ask yourself why studios with a 500 person staff can't create a truly immersive, different, experience like 4a games has done here with only a 50 person team. This game is in the same field as Bioshock infinite (which was amazing) and I am a HUGE Bioshock fan. I came into Metro Last Light with close to zero information on the game I picked it up hoping for the best and now that I'm probably halfway through, I am utterly blown away. With games like telltale's the Walking Dead, Bioshock Infinite, and Metro Last Light, maybe the game industry is proving something to itself, that games are art and not a cash cow, drained to its core and sucked dry.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Metro: Last Light
just out of the trailer
Posted on:8/3/11
PurpleNINJA44
Location: menifee,Ca
so i hav never heard of this game in my life but when I saw the epic trailer for it i just had to have it. i want it so bad that i cant wait another year but sadly we all do. i was intersted in this game so much and still didnt know anything about that I thought it was the beginning of an incridible series until I noticed that this is a sequel and now I want to play the old game. but also I am aware that trailer are most of the time more exciting than the game but I guess iIm going to find out myself.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Metro: Last Light
Fantastic FPS hybrid
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/13
jsb2853
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Last Light focuses a lot on the storyline and wants players to connect with the protagonist beyond your typical FPS. This is not to say there isn't a lot of shooting and fun toys to kill things with, but this is only a part of the game instead of the entire experience. Stealth is also a significant mechanic in the gameplay being that ones timing may mean the difference between life or death. The game at this point is a little rough with minor sound and graphics glitches here and there, but nothing a future patch and added attention to DLC won't cure. Adding multiplayer in some fashion wouldn't hurt either. Bottom line is that I specifically made the effort to write this review because the game is well worth the play despite these minor issues for those who want a FPS that's more than just run and gun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Metro: Last Light
The Description
Posted on:6/22/11
Burningredstar
Location: Somerset, KY
In 2033 a man named Artyom entered the shattered world of a post-apocalyptic Moscow and embarked upon a terrifying journey to the heart of the underground. Now... he must face his last light...
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Metro: Last Light
intresting
Posted on:6/14/11
Condor1132
when i first herd of metro 2033 and it not having co-op or online multiplayer i was bummed until i played it now that those two features are here there is no need to fear the future.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Metro 2033
8.8 out of 10(8)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Metro: Last Light
Will this game even come out?
Posted on:1/19/13
Bryanmark17
Location: Austin, TX
im a little worried, apparently because of the THQ financial troubles they said they cant even guarentee they can deliver the game to its sellers buy the release date...thats a bad sign...im worried that this game will either be greatly postponed or not even come out at all
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
twal9302
Euless, TX
 
Please wait while more information about twal9302 is loaded.
Additional information about twal9302 could not be loaded.
To answer you title, yes.
Posted 3/14/13
The current release date is set for the 14th of May. THQ pretty much doesn't exist anymore as all of it's games and their corresponding series' have been sold to companies who will to buy them. I know of 2 companies who have bought some of their series'. THQ has sold The rights to the METRO series to Square Enix and is currently being developed by them. Also, their hit series SAINTS ROW has been bought by Deep Silver, the people behind Dead Island. The CEO of the Company has stated that "I have no doubt that the next Saints Row will release in August". However they are keeping tight-lipped over everything else regarding the next Saints Row game, but many, including myself, are expecting a reveal at E3 this year. If it does not revel at E3, expect it to at RTX in the Summer.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Metro: Last Light
Metro delivers diminishing returns
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/13
CAP198462
Location: Earth
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Immersion: Audio is a big issue with this game. Will you play it with English audio or English subtitles. The choice players make here affects their enjoyment of the rest of the game, choose carefully. The plot is there and not, but never really emotionally involving. Grahpically sure it's impressive the first time, but it gets old very quickly. Difficulty: Don't even ask, it's too controversial, think of The Dead Space games (1-2) and you have a good idea. Lasting Appeal: Very little, no horde mode, no challenge mode, all you get is replaying the story again and again, and the game isn't that compelling after about an hour of gameplay.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Metro: Last Light
Metro Last Light Details
Posted on:6/14/11
xTacticalSWATx
Location: Andrews Tx
Experience thrilling combat with an exotic arsenal of hand-made weaponry against deadly foes - both human and mutant - and use stealth to launch attacks under the cover of darkness
Explore the post-apocalyptic world of the Moscow Metro, one of the most immersive, atmospheric game worlds ever created
Fight for every bullet and every last breath in a claustrophobic blend of survival horror and FPS gameplay
Next generation technology boasting stunning lighting and physics sets a new graphical benchmark on both console and PC
Wage post-apocalyptic warfare online, as Last Light delivers an intense multiplayer experience amongst the dark Russian ruins THIS GAME IS GOING TO HAVE MULTIPLAYER!!!
Review 19 for Metro: Last Light
Very little roam freedom. Restrictive gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/13
Blackthunder125
Location: Albany, New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a game that I very much looked forward to but was disappointed when I played it. Not to say its a bad game but it's not for me. Most of the game theres a guy with you who does not shut up. His constant observations and ramblings get really tiresome. There are constant cut-scenes holding you by the hand and leading you on. When traveling, theres really nowhere to go but where the game leads you. You really have to enjoy a stealthy approach to appreciate this game. The graphics are very nice. Being a Crysis 3 kinda gamer, I like to be able to roam and approach situations my way but with Metro, there is none of that.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 20 for Metro: Last Light
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/13
ptg96
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game isn't known by many but I can obviously tell it was worked on for a while considering it is outstanding! Everything about this game is amazing. The sounds, graphics, gameplay, story and especially the difficulty! I rate this game 10/10 to any hardcore gamer who might like games related to Fallout!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>