GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

The year is 1962. JFK is President and the Cold War has the nation gripped by fear - but a far more powerful and insidious enemy than communism is threatening America. Known only to a select few, a top-secret government unit called The Bureau begins investigating and concealing a series of mysterious attacks by an otherworldly enemy. As special agent William Carter, call the shots, pull the trigger and lead your squad in a gripping third-person tactical shooter set within a high-stakes, covert war to protect humanity. The Bureau's mission is clear - survive, adapt and overcome the enemy threat to protect the citizens from the truth.
Average Customer Rating:
8.2
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Review 1 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Ya im looking forward to this one.
Posted on:12/20/12
Urieaal00000
I bought enemy unknown recently came out as of this post like 2 months ago or something? was incredibly short and while it had base building and unit item upgrades/variants it was just missing something in my opinion.
This one Has from what i've been reading about it alot of the same not sure if you get a base or not, but you start out in 50s/60s era with technology of that era and your fighting aliens with such technology. granted its a fps so considering even by todays Best ai standards its not going to present a terrible challenge for anyone whos not slapping there own chest and trying to bite there own ear. which is to say it wont have that strategy that the old Xcoms are known for.
how ever i still personally think its worth a demo when it hits xbla, personally i plan to get it, im big on sci-fi these days so it appeals to me in alot of ways.
At least read up on it before hating on it though. its a new era and things remade wont be as good as things when you were little, rose glass's and such..
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Fresh Origins story of XCOM
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/13
Libris
Location: VT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Game is a great origins story for XCOM, and delivers it in sync with what feels like could be a plausible alternate history, the one the government covered up. please note though that the only 2 downsides to this game are 1 the control of your squadmates during quick assignments can be a little quirky at times, and there is no multiplayer which as a shooter is almost a requirement to retain players long term
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Finally tried it should have got it sooner
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/14
Gunz1911
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pro's
Decent graphics good tactical shooter easy controls.kind of like a mix
of men in black/x-file's good storyline I'm new to X-com games.1950's 60's era setting old school agent's fighting classic big head Alien's and flying saucer's.Retro firearms for us enthusiasts 1911,M14,1897 shotgun,ray guns ETC !!!! perma death of squad mate's helps add more intensity to battles and make's you play more careful/tactical
Con's
Why did I wait so long to buy this LOL.replay may be kind of lacking.
cult classic game that many may pass over but I think it deserve's a look
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
This XCOM is apparently quite unlike the old ones
Posted on:1/20/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
I have some level of confusion but I BELIEVE that this XCOM game (which I believe has been delayed until 2013) is the kinda funky-looking 1st-person-shooter deal. Everything about it looked OK and if it didn't have the XCOM name attached to it (XCOM and Fallouts 1 & 2 were the games that got me into video games to start with) I'd probably be pretty excited..... however it seemed to stray too far from the very things that made XCOM so amazing.
The reason I'm somewhat confused is that there is a second XCOM game coming out.... also under the "2K Games" banner... but is being made by a company called "Firaxis" which has been known to make some AMAZING strategy games. This version looks to be essentially the old XCOM formula while just updating everything. This game might be awesome and I'm definately going to see how it turns out and am open to buying it if it's more of an intellectual game and not run-of-the-mill FPS.... but if you want the old-school XCOM experience I believe the Firaxis version: "XCOM Enemy Unknown" or something like that would fit the bill. If you have no idea what the big deal is about XCOM go to the Firaxis version and I'm posting my thoughts on it there.
 
My Product Recommendations
Borderlands Game of the Year Edition
9.4 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
bodoku
 
Please wait while more information about bodoku is loaded.
Additional information about bodoku could not be loaded.
xcom
Posted 4/3/13
it does look like it strays from xcom but after watching the trailer i get the feeling that it could be a prequel
Customer Avatar
Lexx6
Arlington VA
 
Please wait while more information about Lexx6 is loaded.
Additional information about Lexx6 could not be loaded.
this title is destined for failure...
Posted 6/1/12
this version look incredibly lame. Although i am very excited about the turn based remake scheduled to come out before this title. that was what xcom was all about, turn based, upgrading, researching. ... they should stop production immediately and save themselves the low sales and embarrassment. This game is definitely going to be a 10$ game within WEEKS of its release. Again, VERY excited about XCOM: Enemy Unknown !! was one of my favorite computer games as a kid !
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Clearing a few things up
Posted on:3/27/13
LordMetiphisto
Location: Unknown
Ok guys I want to help clear a few things up that some people are finding confusing about this game. Yes it will be a first person shooter and yes it does have the XCOM name. Why? Because it will be in the same game universe as the XCOM games that is an Alien race comes and attacks the US/World and you steal their Tech to fight back. The enemies you fight will be the same as in XCOM:Enemy Unknown but with a few others. Its kind of like when Microsoft took the Halo universe and made an RTS out of it which is Halo Wars. But of course this is the reverse.
4 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Poodlestrike
 
Please wait while more information about Poodlestrike is loaded.
Additional information about Poodlestrike could not be loaded.
Actually a third-person shooter
Posted 5/25/13
Just sayin'
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Glitchy, clunky, and not fun
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
Nr392
I really wanted this game to be good. I loved the idea, but it just wasn't executed well. Cutscenes contain tons of glitches, from people simply not being there to mouths not moving. Gameplay plays like an average 3rd person shooter, with nothing that an XCOM game should have. Nothing interesting about the storyline either. It just seems rushed, and feels like it could have been amazing, if it had been release 6-12 months later.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Seems Good
Posted on:7/19/13
jkla
Location: California
I dont know too much about this game but it looks promising the story seems intresting and the weapons . It kind of reminds me of men in black specifically MIB3, im not sure if some people who worked on the film had a part in this too but all in all it looks very well made
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jerzeyluver
Voorhees NJ
 
Please wait while more information about Jerzeyluver is loaded.
Additional information about Jerzeyluver could not be loaded.
Picking this Saints row and Splinter cell
Posted 8/19/13
I have to say i was really upset that they made a third person shooter out of the xcom name but you know what 2k did a great job on youtube on showing me that its not all about cover shooting. If you do not order your squad mates in the correct area he will die. Or if you just try to run and gun YOU WILL DIE. There is a real sense of thinking before every battle and thats what made me hit the pre order button. Especially after buying saints row and spinter cell. I had to pick this up it looks like it has a lot of potential in making this a must own game for 2013 and or a good reason to stick with a ps3 or xbox 360. Cant wait until the 20th if people are on edge about buying this do me a favor just go on youtube and look this game up you might be just as surprised as I was when i saw how much of a freat job they did in making this a true xcom experience. =]
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
One of the best games I have played this year.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
digitaljake1
Location: Farmington,MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Xcom Is one of the best games ever. It mixes Rpg Elements with a shooter action game. I love this game, and it truly is one of the best games i have played this year.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Strategy and FPS Mash Up Wonder!
Posted on:8/20/13
Shinbag
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Midnight release and it was worth the wait. The game has solid graphic and gameplay. Not the classic xcom but still incorporates a good amount of it into the game. They definitely made a bold move straying from their usual strategy games but a wonderful bold move. Get the game and i guarantee you'll have your fill of XCOM and a little bit of your own slaughter of the alien scum!
Review 10 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Third Person Shooter
Posted on:4/26/13
Yoon
Location: SJ
Well I was about to press that pre order button when I suddenly read "The Bureau: XCOM Declassified is a Third-Person Shooter (TPS) from the developers of BioShock 2"...Yeah right, TPS...and BioShock 2...at least they brought that one to the table not Alien:CM. People please reconsider preordering the game...
2 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
FIRST ONE!
Posted on:9/9/11
YANKEES42
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
this game looks like its gonna be pretty great. like a combination between that old show the x-files and bioshock (cuz u can research their tech) gameplay seems to be pretty ligit. graphics look good too. overall it looks like this is gonna be a good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
scrummers
 
Please wait while more information about scrummers is loaded.
Additional information about scrummers could not be loaded.
wrong release date
Posted 1/24/12
The release date is march 6th 2012 not oct 6th 20120.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
confusing
Posted on:12/18/12
wepofosho
Location: harrisburg, pa
I'm not sure what this is but i know the XCOM game that is a reboot of the old XCOM game is already out. I have it. It came out like a month ago and is called XCOM Enemy Unknown. It is a turn based strategy game and is NOT first person. Not sure if this is something different or just a mistake.
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/13
MaygerPain
Location: Beloit, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really am liking it so far. I'm almost half way through it. Very long campaign. Very thought out..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Mix of Kid Icarus and Halo
Posted on:3/13/13
Ajam
Location: Baltimore, MD
This is very odd this game is not out yet and it seams like a bad graphic Xbox game from 2005. The crazy aliens look like the ones in Kid Icarus Uprising and the guns are what looks like a bunch of trash thrown together. If I wear you I would stick to Halo it has good guns, scary villians, and amazing graphics.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
years in the making
Posted on:7/16/13
MCgolum11
Location: somewhere under the ocean
i remember when it was just going to be called xcom 2-3 years ago i'm still pretty exited but its been so long sense it was first announce
Review 16 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
To all those confused!
Posted on:4/29/13
IssacClarke6
Location: Denver
This is the FPS XCOM that has been in development for the past 4 years. There have been multiple trailers including gameplay that has been shown off. The only thing that seems to have changed is the name.
Review 17 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
reminds me of something
Posted on:12/20/11
Bleachboii15
Looks like they skipped a Cowboys Vs. Aliens's game and went to Neighbor's Vs. Aliens, but looks pretty good
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EliteDeltaTeam
Tokyo, Japan
 
Please wait while more information about EliteDeltaTeam is loaded.
Additional information about EliteDeltaTeam could not be loaded.
XCOM! The Human VS ALIENS Strategy game!
Posted 12/26/12
Now into your neighborhood. Keep your doors lock and windows covered 'cause they are coming! But dont panick nor fear, the XCOMS are HERE! :D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Faithful attempt to convert XCOM to 3PS
Posted on:5/15/13
CAP198462
Location: Earth
Really really tries to faithfully convert all the complexity of XCOM to the third person shooter genre. It's got a good chance of being game of the year.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 19 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Xcom series Reboot
Posted on:9/21/11
Mikethegrim
This game will be a reboot of the original X-com games from Microprose and Mythos gaming(1994 to 1998 games). The original game was acclaimed one of the Top 25 games of all time from IGN twice from 2007 to 2009. Lets hope this one lives up to that.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
x-com looks like it has potential....
Posted on:11/11/11
Anonymous
Location: ny
in a video game world that spawns sequel after sequel, a fresh take would be nice...i think if done right...x-com might be a break through game as far. ill definetly be keeping my eye on this one...
0 of 2 found this review helpful.