GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SimCity

SimCity is a dynamic, living, visually engaging world unlike anything you've ever seen before! Build the city of your dreams and watch as the choices you make shape your city and change the lives of the Sims within it. As a true city simulator, you will see that very decision, big or small, right or wrong, has real consequences for your Sims. Invest in heavy industry and your economy will soar - but at the expense of your Sims' health as pollution spreads. Implement green technology and improve your Sims' lives but risk higher taxes and unemployment. In SimCity, you're the Mayor, and you can do what you want! For the first time, SimCity will feature Multicity where you can go solo, invite friends or join with neighbors to build multiple cities in your region! Collaborate or complete with friends to grow the fastest population, create the most jobs, educate the most Sims and much more! Access SimCity World to connect to global markets and participate in regional challenges!
Average Customer Rating:
4.221
4.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
8
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
10
1 star
38
32 out of 8637%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SimCity
Review 1 for SimCity
A great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
THEREALSHADDY
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When the game initially launched, everyone including me were mad about the servers always being full, and how the A.I.'s have been acting pretty stupid. The cities were small, the creators made way too many dlc's and made the game look bad. However, the creators did manage to fix many of their mistakes such as increasing server capacity and creating new servers, fixing the A.I.'s as much as they could, and start pushing to make the game better. A lot of people still ask for bigger maps, and I hope Maxis will be able to actually listen to us, and make the maps bigger, so that the game is much more fun. Now I'm very interested in the new "Cities of Tomorrow" expansion pack and looking forward to playing it. If the creators are reading this, we are begging for bigger maps and a little more tweaking with the online mode. Other then that, I would recommend anyone who is reading this, to buy this game now, and start building your dream city!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition
9.7 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for SimCity
An Addicting Game That Has Bad Flaws
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/13
jebby2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is one of the best I have played in my years of proffesional gaming. Though this game can leave you playing non stop hours of creating your own city, this game has some really bad flaws. For example, you can end up having a great city, but end up being bankrupt easily. Plus, this game is online only, meaning that you cannot play this game without wi-fi or while you're on the go. What I entirely hate about this game is the fact that the servers are full, heck, I couldn't even activate Simcity because of these problems. Simcity is not the same anymore, you only start with 50,000 instead of 500,000. I can barely get a Fire Station in the beginning without getting bankrupted, you can't edit the terrain in your city, and the cities are very small. If you could deal with these flaws (which I can since the next Simcity won't be out for about a decade), this game is for you. If you can't, just keep sticking to Simcity 4. (Must have for beginners since it's much easier to build a city than Simcity 4)
 
My Product Recommendations
SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition
9.7 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for SimCity
other reviews harsh and too early
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
JLSBeth
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yes for the first few days many couldn't play the game, but since then they have added SEVERAL servers and the server problem is all but gone now. After they added servers I was able to play hours on end. I think the graphics are perfect for this type of game, there is no need to have graphics like most console games now, the graphics are great. I have three issues: the maps are too small, but it is still fun to try and gain density (you still have much to maintain and manage even with a smaller map), there is no offline play( I don't mind this, until I get to a place that doesn't have any internet then it is annoying, and third is there is still several bugs which is to be expected with every game. Most of the reviews were way too early to be actually ABOUT the game, all it was about was the server problem which like I said is all but gone now. The game is a great game and I love it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
EA!
Posted 4/28/13
Its not to early. EA has realesed a unfished game its great and anbisons but unplayible as of right now for a larg persent of the fan basce.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for SimCity
Amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/13
TycoonRoller
Location: Sewell, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I purchased this game on March 9, 2013. EA has added servers since the release date and everything is running perfectly... many hours of play and no error messages or queues. Believe me, the bad reviews for this game are solely hating on the server crashes. ANYWAY, now that we got that out of the way, I REALLY love this game. The graphics are smooth, the audio adds life, and you can spend a long time making multiple cities. For NOW, EA has disabled region filtering, which means when you want to join a game, you have to scroll down really far to find a game that isn't full. Because you play in a region filled with many people, every city has its specialties. For example, your friend's city may have a lot of commercial zoning, and you have residential, so your sims will shop at his city. If someone else has an industrial city, you and your friend's sims will work in the industrial city. If one person goes berserk and destroys their city, everyone else is affected either in a minor or major way. Curved roads are aesthetically pleasing as well. There are a ton a variables, too. For example, don't build a water tower near industrial zones because the industry will create ground pollution. If your water tower picks up that pollution, it will give unclean water to your city. Depending on where the wind is going, pollution from the industrial zones may blow into the residential zones, lowering the land value. Good luck, and I really recommend this to anyone that owns a computer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
41 of 56 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lyokomzm
Lagrange, KY
 
Please wait while more information about Lyokomzm is loaded.
Additional information about Lyokomzm could not be loaded.
It's not online for multiplayer
Posted 3/11/13
The ACTUAL reason for making this game always online (apart from preventing piracy and making money) is because to run the complex simulation in the game, SImcity is actually run on the server and projected to your screen. It's called cloud computing, and allows people to play the game without having a beast gaming computer. I have 8GB of ram in my computer and that still wouldnt be enough to run the game without the help of a server doing half the processing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for SimCity
A Wonderful Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
Irishassassin90
Location: Williston, ND
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This review is for people who want an honest opinion of the game from someone who writes in video game journalism. You will not find me bashing Simcity over connectivity issue ... lesser minded individuals fail to realize that EA blotched the servers. Maxxis delivered a superb game that keeps you mesmerized for hours on end. The entire social aspect of multiplayer adds a wealth of new gameplay options to the game. Yes people are having a hard time logging in ... Maxxis and EA released a statement saying the servers WILL be fixed by the weekend. For such a large release ... you almost have to expect server issues. The game itself is amazing. It takes me back to the wonderful old days of Simcity. Don't miss out on a great game due to reading reviews from people who down it strictly over initial server issues on launch.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
cubbait
 
Please wait while more information about cubbait is loaded.
Additional information about cubbait could not be loaded.
really...
Posted 3/14/13
working by the weekend? no, i seriously doubt they wil be working prolery... ever... today, two ish weeks after launch, i try to log in and still .. servers are unavailable.. before you start spouting off that people are simple minded realize the truth... this game is a joke, itty bitty tiny maps, graphics are laughable by todays standards, dumbed down game play... and thats if you can even get to the game, the best you usually get is a message that the login servers are unavailable....
Customer Avatar
Darkmercenary
 
Please wait while more information about Darkmercenary is loaded.
Additional information about Darkmercenary could not be loaded.
Issue after Issue
Posted 3/13/13
They fixed the connectivity, sure, but now i cant play for more than 30 minutes before it causes a BSOD, from what I've seen on the forums, this affects at least half the people who purchased the game, i don't recommend buying it for another month or two until they finally managed to fix all the bugs
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for SimCity
Absolutely abysmal; stay away.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/13
necromage9
Location: Manchester, NH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I've been a simcity fan since simcity 2000, so I was naturally looking forward to a rehash of the game after almost a decade. I was so excited about this game that I took the leap of faith and purchased the digital edition of this game on release day without waiting for critical reviews. It has now been three days since launch and I have NOT been able to play this game. It is catastrophically broken, and even after the server issues have been ironed out, the fact still remains that this game is more like a simVILLAGE rather than city with its infinitesimally small map size and lack of many *much loved* features of the previous generations. The always online aspect of this game also means that unlike simcity 4, which I still sometimes enjoy, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE to play this game when EA finally takes the servers down (and the undeniably will, maybe in five to ten years from now) Bottom line: If you are a simcity fan or even looking to get even a percentage of your money's worth, don't purchase this game and move on. A genuinely poor showing by EA
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SimCity
Caution to SimCity 2000, 3, 4 Fans:
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/12
imperialzerg
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I write this review to caution those who are fans of Sim City 2000, 3, and/or 4. The following is a rant, sorry to those who are possibly offended.
This is a SimCity (1) revamp. "City" size in this game is maxed at 2x2km. This is insanely small compared to most cities found in SimCity4. In addition you will find
-NO subways or modifiable Highways in this game.
-NO God Mode and terraform-able terrain. Forget about doing anything interesting like you could do going back to SimCity2000.
-NO specific zoning...huh? Wow, what were they thinking by making road type decide what zones and where..
-NO AGRICULTURE!?? No farms? Seriously? Guess you will have to wait till new DLC to buy those farms you loved back from EA.
-You can't turn OFF disasters! because the game is:
-ONLINE ONLY! You can't even save your city to your PC, CLOUD only, Origin only.... EPIC FAIL.
Totally disappointed by these decisions. I will only be purchasing this because I figure I could at least get a good month out of it until I hit the brick wall of 2x2 tiny maps. I hope these problems will be taken care of as their loyal fans plead for these things to be addressed. Has Maxis become evil from the demands of EA? Time will tell.
 
My Product Recommendations
SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition
9.7 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
Cities XL 2012
6 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
52 of 100 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
InuHanyou74656
 
Please wait while more information about InuHanyou74656 is loaded.
Additional information about InuHanyou74656 could not be loaded.
Correct
Posted 2/8/13
All of his points are accurate! However, it is important to point out that the game DOES run without an internet connection. During the initial beta, Gamespy (Yes I get some of my news from Gamespy) actually tested to see what would happen if you shut your internet off while playing the game. The game continued to run. You only have to have an internet connection to START the game. Please note that EA has confirmed this and it has been tested as I stated above. There is also a way to save your city to a PC and not to the Cloud but it is convoluted. The pathetically tiny cities are a big issue but Maxis has said bigger cities are "on their wish list". That probably means that it will never happen but we, as fans, can hope. And addressing the last thing. Has Maxis become evil from the demands of EA? Anyone associated with EA is evil. So yes. They have.
Customer Avatar
MoJoHo
Austell, GA
 
Please wait while more information about MoJoHo is loaded.
Additional information about MoJoHo could not be loaded.
???
Posted 1/19/13
Where are you getting your intel?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for SimCity
Great game, unappreciated.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/13
DarkPaladin
Location: Ut
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's sad that there are bugs in such a great game, but take two things into consideration. One is that this is an EA game. EA is notorious for being a cruddy company when it comes to servers, connection, etc. The other is that at the time of this review (and the bad reviews before this) it's still fresh out of the gate. They have fixed many problems, and are working to fix more. The bugs and such can get obnoxious, and frustrating, but they are bugs, and this is still a great game.
A big issue that many have with SimCity, is how small the area is. it's 2k x 2k areas. It gets frustrating. I mean if you have ore in your city, u will probably focus on mining. To get only 130k an hour, u must have 3-4 ore mines, and 4 or more trading depots specific to ore. These 8 buildings alone take up about a quarter, aka 25% of the entire map. It's hard to fit everything in. You need a hospital, police station, all schools, sewage, water, power, etc. It's very difficult to cram that all into one small city. However you building in a region. Each region will have 4-16 cities. So you can focus one city on say power, that provides to other cities. Another city you can focus on school and technology, which you can trade to other cities. I feel if the cities were 4x as large, it'd be balanced. It's still very possible to make a largely successful single city, but a pain, and very unlikely if not aided by other cities.
My biggest pet peeve is water. You can spend 300k on a water plant, that charges 2k per hour, only to suck up all the water oout of that area, forcing you to destroy the entire water plant, and build it somewhere that does have water. It makes sense water isn't limitless. But here's my issue. many maps are connected to water. Aka rivers, lakes, etc. There should be a water plant that can be built on, or in some way fed by the natural water source. Aka a limitless source of water. The way that it is, no matter what you do, you eventually run completely out of water. Yeah you can build another city to specialize in water and sell the water to that desert city, but the specialized water city will dry up soon as well. You could build all 16 cities one at a time sucking up all the water, but eventually all cities will dry up, aka be useless, forcing you to start over. Power is renewable. Sewage is basically poured into a black hole, if you have a big enough plant. Garbage gets burned, etc. Water is the one thing that ruins any long games/aka high end cities.
The region mode is a good idea. I love playing with friends. It's a pet peeve that the in game IM does not work, forcing you to use some other game chat, but they should fix it soon. EA is excellent about making a great game with tons of bugs and flaws, then quickly fixing the major ones, and at least half of the minor ones. Be warned, this game requires a connection at all times, like MMO's. No subscription, but a "Region" is basically a server. Without the server there is no region, without the region there are no cities, without cities you can't play. So if you have no connection, or want to play on the bus, in a car, on a plane, in the mountains, etc, you won't be able to.
All in all I've spent at least 20 hours in this game. I really hope they fix the water issue, as that ruins any game. Even if you've spent well over 1000 hours building all 16 cities in one region, the inevitable drought will ruin all of that work. However the game is still fun. To those that are new to SimCity, think of Monopoly, but completely in depth. You must provide water, police, fire departments, schooling, transportation including buses, planes, trains, passenger trains, ferries, etc, manage taxs, create residential, and have high upkeep so residential improves giving you more rent, create industrial for the residents to have jobs and improve education so industry can provide more expensive tech, create commercial so that residents can buy things with their hard earned money, make tourists attractions for tourists, mine things, import and export supplies, trade with other cities, etc. All that said, that's just the tip of the ice berg. Almost anything that would effect a real life city, and would be required for a real life city to succeed, is in this game. You can make a Las Vegas casino city, A New York city full of high skyscrapers and tourist attractions including giant expo centers, mining towns, etc. They say "you can do a little bit of everything", i'm sorry but that's a lie. You might be able to do a VERY little of two or three things, but not everything. Why? cause you can't cram it all into one city. You're forced to cram it across several cities.
Another pet peeve, though not as bad as the water issue, is disaster prevention. I like the disasters, makes the game more realistic. However there should be disaster prevention. Example, you should be able to make a military base, which can destroy the Godzilla before he does a lot of city damage, as well as the invaders. Department of science could study earthquakes to better understand them, so that buildings will be more earthquake resistant, and earthquakes are less likely to happen (video games version of prediction). etc. When a disaster there is no "send in the army" or "How can I make it stop." You're forced to watch as it happens. The only part you have a say in, is dealing with the aftermath of the disaster.
One thing to note, is that your first city will struggle a lot. Or at least at first. Until you have other cities in the region, it's hard to get far. Example? You can get to say level 5 technology in your city, but it effects the entire region. So while level 5 tech requires almost half of an entires city worth of taxs, and area, the other cities won't need those buildings, but will still have level 5 tech unlocks. So I can't stress this enough. The first 5 hours you'll most likely want to throw this game out. Stick with it, and it will become fun.
Right now yes this game is at a 6/10 roughly. However this is a permanent review, and I feel like EA will fix it enough to be a solid 8/10.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
36 of 43 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
seregwethrin
TX
 
Please wait while more information about seregwethrin is loaded.
Additional information about seregwethrin could not be loaded.
Posted 6/20/14
all UBI/EA/Codemasters games blow after release, they are just hype to release then turn into pay to play or pay for expansions and don't make nothing playable, the entire game industry has gotten rediculous... they just pump out minimal changes as sequels and pump out another 6 months later.. it's pointless, the only game i like now is madden, and it has the same prob, madden 2014, madden x, madden x.2 ..............zzzzzzzzzzzz
Customer Avatar
Zorinku
 
Please wait while more information about Zorinku is loaded.
Additional information about Zorinku could not be loaded.
Excellent Review :D & Water
Posted 3/31/13
I believe that there is a sewage treatment plant to reuse sewage water, increasing water to be used
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for SimCity
Don't buy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/13
DarkFang
Location: Vancouver, WA
The only good I can say about this game is that the graphics are great. That said I have only been able to play for one hour in the last 2 days and the rest of the six hours that I have spent with the game has been with updates and trying to find a server that works. When I can log into a server I have to play the getting started trainer with no option to skip it. Then I was able to play but not invite anyone to join me. If EA can not make an online game playable do to server issues then they should make an option to be able to play offline. Their project managers screwed up royally on this go live launch, even blizzard was able to fix their server problems by the next day with the Diablo III launch. Don't waste your money EA won't do anything to help but a 15% off discount on your next purchase. Wait 6 months and see if they have fixed it yet before looking to buy the game at least that is how long it takes for them to fix Sims3 issues.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for SimCity
Wow, Finally!!!!
Posted on:7/20/12
Madman91102
Location: North Carolina
I waited for a new Sim City since Sim City 4 back in 2003.
Sim Societies was a joke and I'm sure they realized that with them working on this. However, I see some similarities in the video to Societies and I hope they don't try to make it like that game otherwise it'll be a huge waste of money.
I'm excited for the game, I hope it comes out sooner than what gamestops projected release date is. Believe the video said February 2013, but we'll see. I hope it's Q1 or Q2 of 2013 and not Q3 or Q4.
Can't wait for this game to come out, hope it'll be awesome. Been wanting a Sim City game with updated graphics and hopefully better gameplay and more things to do aside from just building and waiting. ;p
16 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
callz
UK
 
Please wait while more information about callz is loaded.
Additional information about callz could not be loaded.
From Uk
Posted 11/10/12
Am i able to buy this?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for SimCity
To be fair...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/13
FFXIVLover
Location: Lansing, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Alright, so I played the demo...so some may find my review 'null'. But I am going to try and be fair here. People are giving the game horrible reviews mainly because they haven't been able to play the game yet due to these horrible connection issues. I will admit that this horrible service and launch does deserve to bring the game down a few points. This 'always online' stuff is horrible for the single player. BUT I think someone needs to step up and actually talk about the actual gameplay. From playing the demo and watching videos gameplay, the game has been simplified a lot in terms of UI. This is a good thing! It is easy to construct roads and zone areas. You can add landmarks and even add additions to things such as hospitals and fire stations. When you can actually play the game, it is fun and addicting. The multiplayer component is pretty neat as well in terms of sharing resources and creating a whole region with specialized cities. Each city can be specialized in many ways - you can make a gambling city, educational city, industrial city..etc.
Yes, this game is horrible right now because many can't even play the game. It is an outrage and shame on Maxis and EA for letting this happen. However, the game itself, aside from the internet issues, is fun and addicting! If these online problems weren't happening, I would have given this game a 9/10. However, I am giving it a 7/10 because it is still a good game overall...but this 'always online' stuff has to stop..I did cancel my pre-order but I will pick up this game in a few months when I know these problems are fixed and hopefully when there is a sale going on for the game somewhere. :)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
frankiboy
newark nj
 
Please wait while more information about frankiboy is loaded.
Additional information about frankiboy could not be loaded.
so mad
Posted 5/10/13
i have a hp g62 with a 8gb memory ram and 2.20hz processor i dont know why cannot play this game so slow i tried 3 diffrents computers
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for SimCity
STILL CANT PLAY!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/13
AngeloG
Location: NJ
This game is still not working!! It seems that all PC games will require you to be online at all times even to play single player mode. I liked this game from when I had an AMIGA 500, and wanted to get this because it looked great. When I preordered this I did not know that you would have to be online or else I would NOT have purchased. I had enough agony and anger with Diablo 3!! It should get a - rating because I paid $60+ and still have not played. In the future we should not purchase these games because they frustrate not only those that don't care to be online for these types of games but gamers that want multiplayer / online social interaction because they cant find server and get kicked off every 2 seconds.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
28 of 66 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chaloner
 
Please wait while more information about chaloner is loaded.
Additional information about chaloner could not be loaded.
Worse SimCIty Game EVER!!
Posted 3/7/13
Don't buy this! EA has ruined Sim City! When it's offline you can't play! And the freaking maps are freaking way too small!!!!! Please rename it Sim Town.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for SimCity
Unrightfully downvoted
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/13
Shibuya8715
Location: Las Vegas,NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I recently bought this game, as I heard the servers where doing bad so I waited until they were somewhat stable. Now, I didn't experience what the pre-order people experienced, however the server issues were mostly origin and not the game. The game itself has a deep level of simulation if you allow yourself to learn about all the different ways of making and running your city. So for all the people saying this game was unplayable day one, while I'm sorry for the frustration but thank you for reviewing origin and not the game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SimCity
A game with lots of potential ruined by EA
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/13
SpaceGamer
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first played it, I noticed we were given a very small space (2 km x 2km plots). I built roads, and zoned residential and industrial. At first it was fun as I can zoom into the people level and see real agents of pedestrians and cars move around. Then I zoned commercial. I filled the map very quickly (in about 3 hours). Then the game went down hill. The game says I need workers and I am losing money. In order to get workers and to get more money, I need to zone more residential, commercial, and industrial zones for tax money. BUT I CAN'T DO THAT BECAUSE OF THE DUMB SMALL CITY PLOTS YOU ARE FORCED TO BUILD IN! The game constantly tells you "you need workers" or "you need shoppers" and I build more on other cities in the region but the region trade DOESN'T WORK PROPERLY as promised. The simulation itself is pretty disappointing too. The game got pretty boring and I stopped playing.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SimCity
Enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/13
KMcC
Location: Lexington, KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game as soon as it came to PC, and haven't been REALLY disappointed with it...it doesn't exactly take very long to wear out its welcome, as the gameplay is quite cyclical, unlike that of The Sims 3 where there are enough events to keep gameplay interesting for awhile. With Sim City, you can cycle through two different regions within a hour of gameplay because everyone inevitably messes up their first region with too little energy or too many sick, uneducated folk. The sounds and music are quite nice, and very soothing. The graphics are somewhat hilarious at times with the tiniest of details being covered by EA, including the names of businesses which are downright funny most of the time. Overall, I would recommend this game for the casual gamer as a way to pass the time entertainingly...but simulation games are already repetitive, and this one is no outcast.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 16 for SimCity
Save your $60
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
Pinky3432
Technically, I would have given this game a rating equal to the number of hours I have been able to play over the course of the past 4 days...which is zero. I bought a hard copy from the store and installed it fine, as well as the necessary updates. Unfortunately, when I tried to create a city, the server kept telling me it was unable to create one. I could get as far as ALMOST playing, but then I had to pop in Sim City 4 and pretend I was actually playing the new one. If EA ever decides to create a patch to play it offline, I will gladly change my rating. Since that seams unlikely, I recommend you hold on to your money and put it toward reserving whatever next gen console you prefer. My money would have been put to better use lining my cat's litter box than buying a potentially great game that I can't play.
***I gave high scores in the areas I THINK deserve it, however it is a shot in the dark since I can't even create a city and critique them.
***To Gamestop website managers: this game justifies adding a new category for the "This game is perfect for..." dropdown menu...the "Nobody" category.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 17 for SimCity
Sim City DRM edtion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/13
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: America
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok. Guys. I have always enjoyed PC gaming & Simaltion. I was looking forward to this game. This game has nice graphics and simaltion. It is buggy but not as bad as when it first come out. I like the birds flying buy and seeing your Sims run around your city also the game play can be fun. But u can't change the land scape like in past games. The online play is hit or miss deapending on if ur playing with some one cool or some one who just don't care. and your towns are much smaller now. I Love Sim City 2000 and Sim City for the SuperNintendo but this always on DRM and other things make this game feel dishonorible and like a low to the serise its a real shame cuz the game had lots of protencal. And it's even very impressive in some ways but in it curent sate I can't recomended. # DRM Must STOP!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for SimCity
Don't Buy this right Now
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
Zamaza
Location: Plano, Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The SimCity launch has been plagued with server stability issues. Now that many of those issues are being resolved and people are getting into play, a plethora of game breaking bugs are showing up, making cities unplayable. It's also possible for your city or region files to get corrupted and continuously get a "Cannot load this city at this time. Please try again" message loop, losing hours of progress permanently.
The multiplayer, one of the 'key elements' of this game is buggy. Sending and sharing resources and vehicles with friends is delayed 5 minutes to an hour. Sometimes, money or resources sent are never received, but are still deducted from the player sending them.
SimCity has some good elements and a lot of the gameplay is fun, until it bugs out, which seems to happen to everyone. Save your money. Wait until the game drops in price and the issues are fixed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition
9.7 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 19 for SimCity
An slap in the face to Simcity fans, beware
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/13
wildwolf
Location: Oregon
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Poor graphics a kid could draw, slow gameplay, requires online connection, you dont get say in regional infrastructer like rail or highways, most community buildings require earning in a set order, no free open gaming like Simcity rush hour.
Too all simcity gamers I recomend waiting for much cheaper price its not worth the insult to gaming.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
20 of 48 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
simcity20yrplayer
California, USA
 
Please wait while more information about simcity20yrplayer is loaded.
Additional information about simcity20yrplayer could not be loaded.
missing features?
Posted 3/7/13
Many are not able to even initiate the game.
For 24 hours the servers have been unavailable.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for SimCity
Don't listen to other reports!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/13
EpicNinja1099
Location: Apple Valley, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me get one thing straight: Don't listen to the other reports! When the game was released, too many people logged on causing the servers to go down. That problem is over! Everything is running smooth. It is the 2nd best game I have ever played in my whole gaming career! It is a loyal game that always is ready for you to play. Sure, the city sizes are sorta small, but it is still such a amazing game! Graphic quality is perfect, gameplay is perfect, everything is perfect! You will never get bored of this Simcity!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Need for Speed Most Wanted Ultimate Speed Pack - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
EA!!!
Posted 4/28/13
But this is not as good as SimCity on the Super Nintendo. And it has aways on DRM! ;/ Give it atlest a 8 it not a 10.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>